We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a letdown if you're expecting luxury with a capital L!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peckforton Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Peckforton Castle to your Saves list
Peckforton Castle
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Lancashire
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A bit of a letdown if you're expecting luxury with a capital L!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

An overnight dinner bed & breakfast break. As we approached the castle at 17.30 in the very dimly lit drive, it was was difficult to visulalise the signposts pointing us in the appropriate direction. Which way were we to go? The castle itself was floodlit at the front and looked most impressive and splendid! Check in dealt with by a rather unwelcoming and frosty receptionist. I think a wee course in civility and public relations/communications may be beneficial there! Oops! We stayed in the Buccleugh suite which I expected to be somewhat larger than it was. Comfy bed and a view over an adjacent roof towards the front of the castle. Small but perfectly formed bathroom with rolltop bath and separate shower were adequate but not particularly luxurious.
Downstairs bar area/ brasserie lacking in ambience, therefore we ventured to the restaurant for a three course dinner which was lovely. Some of the teenage staff could do with some silver service tuition from their peers, however our waitress talked so fast it was impossible to understand exactly what she was saying!
During the night the lights in the bathroom went off completely, necessitating the electrician's arrival early the next morning & removal of overhead halogen lights and warned not to use the shower.
The breakfast was first class, hot, hearty and wholesome. Overall for a 'luxury' hotel we were a little disappointed. Even the birds of prey tethered immediately outside the inner castle walls looked disgruntled!

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the inner/front of the castle on the upper floors - gets the sunlight in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. I was glad to read that you found the room to be comfortable and well appointed and the food to be delicious. Bukeley is one of our Executive rooms, therefore larger than a classic double, but we do also have 4 poster rooms and suites available for anyone wanting a larger bedroom. My apologies that the problem with the beathroom lights turned out to be a bit more complex than just changing a bulb, but we must adhere to health and safety regulations at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    255
    132
    68
    67
See reviews for
168
715
7
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham , United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very impressed with interior and exterior of this amazing castle.
The stay was for a suprise for my boyfriends birthday and he was delighted.
Our room was beautifull, clean and comfortable.
The corridors were kept immaculate by a lovely gent as we're all public areas. My only quip was the food. Not really up to scratch and the waitress was a bit slow, only 4 in restaurant, so no excuse really.
House wine good and cheese board but crackers were horrid. Rustic cardboard and plenty of them.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you and your boyfriend enjoyed your visit. I will pass your comments regarding the crackers to the chef, to review our biscuit selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our Wedding - Saturday 19th January 2013

I am still overwhelmed by the staff at this hotel, Every single staff member took pride in their jobs, made an exerted effort to ensure our every need was dealt with. I cannot stress how much this meant to us on what could have been the most stressful day of our lives.

We booked the castle in 2010 after the tour with Mr Naylor the owner. However it was the porter David who secured the booking. He showed us round again, and it was his love and enthusiasm for the castle that made us know then and there that this would be our venue - thank you David!

Leading up to the wedding we had the support of the planners Poppy, Vanessa & Jo-Anne who were so helpful all the time, and made us feel so important and not like we were just one of the hundreds of weddings that take place each year - thank you!

We stayed at the castle the night before with several of the wedding party, and from that moment we were treated fantastically by all the staff - not just because we were the bridal party, many didn't know and they still went above and beyond at all times.

The Reception girls were lovely, helpful and patient, even when I managed to lock myself out of the room.
The Wedding Manager Anna was amazing - even sorting out items that I had forgotten at the last minute.
The Porters were so helpful throughout our entire stay, in particular Ian who was always on hand to help with something.
Tranquility the beauty salon/SPA was fantastic for our bridal makeup - The girls were such fun, I could go every day. Millie did a great job on the bridal makeup.
The night before, many of us ate in the Brasserie - It was great, really comfortable, great food ( they even made things that weren't on the evening menu for us )and amazing service

The 24 hour room service was fabulous as we stayed up most of the night before having hourly hot drinks delivered - sorry for being a pain!

On the wedding day itself - The castle are so well trained in weddings that they are ready for every eventuality whether it be forgotten flowers, seeing kits etc and there is always someone on hand to assist.

The whole operation was so slick that all of our guests were amazed at how well the day flowed.

The bedrooms were great, with our room the night before perfect for us getting ready. We initially fought over who would have the camp bed until we realised just how comfy it was - and then all wanted it....

The rooms were beautiful ( I saw about 10 during our weekend there) - all unique.

Our wedding night was in the Peckforton bridal suite - amazing!

The drinks were reasonably priced, the food was great though out the entire stay and all of our guests loved the hotel. I was told that the breakfast was also really good.

I would highly recommend anyone staying here - and even more so having a wedding here.

We will both be eternally grateful for the day that Peckforton delivered for us, but more so impressed by the team of staff that work together to deliver the highest levels of service I have seen in a long time.

To present a team where all staff members whether it be housekeeping, managers, waitresses, porters, receptionists, barmen etc all show absolute pride in their roles and all take the time to welcome each guest and spare a moment to see how they are doing is not something that you see very often - Peckforton should be very proud of their hardworking staff.

Thank you very much for making our wedding so special

John & Caroline x

Room Tip: tell the hotel if you struggle to walk stairs so you can be accommodated accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear John & Caroline,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. I'm so glad that your special day was made even more enjoyable and memorable by our team. They really do take pride in their work and in providing first class service to all our guests and receiving such feedback is so motivational for them. We wish you many congratulations again and hope to be able to welcome you back for many anniversaries to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frodsham cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and i got back today from our overnight stay at Peckforton Castle! We were invited to the venue for a wedding. First impressions were amazing. The drive up to the castle in lovely, with snow on the ground the Castle and grounds were lovely. On entering the reception the short but lovely stay was faultless. Receptions were warm and friendly. The hallway to the stair was spotless, as was everything else. We were on the third floor in the Cotebrook Suite which was amazing. Gorgeous bathroom and lounge area. The view of the courtyard was stunning especially with the snow scene. The bed was so comfy and pillows i want them as home. Robes and slippers on the bed too. Lovely toiletries in the bathroom too. Kettle in room was great in the morning for tea or as i preferred fresh coffee. Breakfast was totally faultless. Everything you could imagine, even if you were a fussy eater (which i am not) you find something you liked. Popped into the Spa to have a look around the young Lady was more than helpful as i looked around. We checked out around 11am (oops!) but nobody seemed to mind. We had a fab view of the Birds of Prey from our window in the morning, was great watching them with the trainers and children. Beautiful location, castle, room. Cant say enough good things about the place really loved it that much and will be back again. Thankyou once again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the team were warm and friendly. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We atayed at the castle on Friday evening (11th Jan 2013) and arrived at 17:30, on check in the receptionist asked her assistant was our room ready (surely this should have been checked beforehand),

After we had unpacked and relaxed for a while we decided to go down for something to eat and refreshments,we went to the loungs bar as the restaurant was closed at that time.We were told that it was too late for food and that the chef had gone home,after some discussion we were allowed to order drinks and two meals one of which was Fish and Chips.

The food was served after a while but to my horror after cutting in to my well battered fish found that it still had the plastic packing on,obviously I complained to the Management who asked did I want another ?, of course I declined and decided to retire to bed.

The next morning we were woken by a very irrate receptionist declairing that checkout was 10.30am,I have stayed in numerous hotels all over the world but never had a 10.30 checkout,we quickly gathered our clothes,but while doing so the Chambermaid (without knocking) just walked into our room,fortunatly we were both fully clothed.

On our depature I asked to see the Manager who had the courtesey to see me,I voiced my disappointment of the service we had received during our stay,but he did not seem concerned and just palmed it off as if it was normal.

This hotel on the outside is fantastic,even the rooms are great but the staff and service is a lot to be disired.

This hotel does not have a spa, or liesure centre as you would expect from such a highly rated hotel.

Unfortunatly I will never stay at this hotel again, and if you are thinking of haveing your wedding there I would certainly think twice

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed with friends between Christmas and new year. The hotel was very comfortable and the staff very friendly. The food was excellent as were the bedrooms. Beautiful building great venue for a wedding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Just like to say we stayed here for my birthday last year and found it to be amazing. Our original room was lovely however the heating was faulty at the time and being worked on when I raised this matter the staff were very helpful. We stayed In the bicker staff suite was very impressed and the wine cellar is a great addition the surroundings are lovely and we really enjoyed out trip. Ps would recommend the small price increase to upgrade well worth it

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peckforton Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.