We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite and elegant but expensive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peckforton Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Peckforton Castle to your Saves list
Peckforton Castle
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Exquisite and elegant but expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I booked a overnight stay 6 months in advance for a friends wedding, stating I required gluten free, I also phone to confirm this. The morning after the wedding, awaiting toast only to get sorry we have no bread left!! £160 per night and cannot supply 2 pieces of bead!! Travel lodges manage it !!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we had run out of gluten free bread when you visited. This is an item that should and usually is, always in stock and I will be speaking with our kitchen team to ensure we do not have a repeat of this. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    226
    113
    58
    63
See reviews for
148
610
7
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

stayed her for a corporate event, service was good standards very high and the hotel simply stunning.
Stayed in the Banbury room which was very nice the furnshings and decor suiting the building perfectly .. the bathroom was great to relax in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the corporate event here at the castle and we hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our stay was great. We stayed in a standard room, which had a massive, comfortable bed. We were warm and had a good night's sleep. There was a large range of good food for breakfast, which was a buffet. Also, there was a complimentary valet service, which was a nice touch and the grounds are stunning.

The only small drawbacks were there wasn't a large range of food on offer at the Brasserie (where we went for dinner), they had run out of what I wanted and service was quite slow.

Room Tip: Be careful if you are allergic to feathers, as the bedding is down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. I was glad to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

This place is on my doorstep so didn't stay but tried to book in the 1851 for a Friday or Saturday night but was fully booked so ended up going for Sunday lunch.
It was £21.95 for 3 courses and was excellent and plenty on food on your plate. (was expecting small portions!)
Will return and look forward to the next time!
Asked for a tour of the castle and this was no trouble at all. Gorgeous setting.

Well done and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your great reveiw of Sunday Lunch in the 1851 restaurant. See you for lunch again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford cheshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at the Peckforton Castle for 1 night to celebrate our anniversary. We booked an exec room, dinner bed and breakfast.
The room was very good if lacking in towels (not enough for 2 people really) and a bathmat.The food was amazing at dinner and the staff in the evening were very attentive 5 stars go to them. The bed was large and very comfortable, the surroundings are just beautiful.

Shame about the breakfast situation, its a buffet....cold scrambled eggs etc in line with a city centre hotel cant understand why a hotel of this quality and number of rooms does not cook to order. The other thing that really annoyed me though was whilst we were looking to order tea and toast as this was not on the buffet the 3 staff members were too busy chatting around the desk to pay any attention to the guests...very poor! I eventually got their attention and tea and toast only to find they had ommited to give us any cups! Shame to end this way but if the little problems as breakfast is served gets sorted then I would say this hotel was PERFECT!

Room Tip: We stayed in Kelsall- beautiful room with amazing bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing Peckforton Castle to celebrate your anniversary. I'm glad you enjoyed the room and dinner in the 1851 restaurant. I was disappointed to read your comments regarding breakfast. We operate a buffet style service as we feel this gives guests a far superior choice. I will be using your comments to highlight to the breakfast team the importance of consistency in service. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to be able to wlecome you back to Peckforton Castle soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Loved the whole experience. I'm sure there are areas that could be improved, but the magic of the place swooshes it all away! Hubby enjoyed the falconry experience; very knowledgable staff. The murder mystery nights are fun too!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed your visit, especially the falconry. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Wonderful surroundings, very professional staff and marvellous spa treatments. Rooms amazing, and of a very good size. Will return as soon as possible. Thoroughly recommend for that special occaision.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael A, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your vist and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peckforton Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.