We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the wait” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peckforton Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Peckforton Castle to your Saves list
Peckforton Castle
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Having booked a weekend treat for my friends special birthday it was well worth the wait , as on booking in June we were told end of July was 1st availability.
Having just returned we were spoiled by very friendly attentive staff both in the hotel and the beauty salon.
The rooms were excellent with no detail left to chance and the food was well worth the star ratings it has been awarded.
Looking forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
So sorry to hear about your wait... thanks for being so understanding... unfortunately can't be helped sometimes! Thank you for taking the time to write to us and tell all about what sounds like a great break for you and your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    229
    113
    58
    63
See reviews for
148
612
7
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

A truly wonderful place to stay-the place is quite breathtaking and we couldn't fault a thing. We were there for a family wedding and stayed for two nights. The staff were v helpful, the food was superb and the whole atmosphere of the hotel was great. The falcon display was very enjoyable too and we would definately stay there again

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. Weddings are very important to us and are, of course, a massive part of our business so it is nice to hear when we have done them well :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The castle and location is breathtaking. We were greeted by receptionists Pam and Heather who were extremely professional and friendly.
The room we were shown to was beautiful, luxurious and immaculately clean (i want the bathroom at home).
We had an amazing dining experience and cant wait to return. The meal was outstanding and the staff (Anna) were lovely and very attentive. An extremely well run restaurant organised very efficiently down to every last detail.
The spa too was a wonderful experience and enjoyed a facial and indian head massage. Staff again were professional and friendly.
Overall a truly lovely setting with excellent facilities and service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
We are honoured and proud to be the best hotel experience you have had! I have passed your feedback on to Heather, Pam and Anna - thank you for taking the time to write to us and inform us of the great service they provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed with my partner shortly after valentines day for one night, was worried at first it would be hard to find, but turned out to be relatively simple. The castle itself is beautiful, seems to have lots to do, some fantastic birds of prey outside also! Valet parking was great, staff seemed friendly and courteous also.

We had a nice romantic meal in the restaurant, a fantastic 5 course treat which included lobster, foie gras, oysters and caviar among other things, all at a pretty reasonable price considering. The food was beautifully prepared and very tasty, no complaints whatsoever.

The rooms was comfy and spacious, and was authentic enough you remembered you were in a castle without lacking the modern touches. The only downside to our evening was my partner becoming ill later (not food related!) which meant we had to leave early. The night porter was most helpful in this situation also.

Great stay, we plan to go again, hopefully with more success on our part!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
The Castle is a bit of a hidden gem but glad you found it easy to find. It certainly is secluded without being isolated. Thanks for noticing the amount of stuff to do onsite... we definitely have a lot to offer our leisure guests including our Tranquility Spa, Falconry experiences, Landrover experiences, 1851 Restaurant, 2010 Brasserie and Muddy Good Fun activities. Would love to hear what you thought of these?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This hotel is absolutely incredible!

You drive up a long road within the grounds and your jaw drops when you arrive.

We walked into the castle with Peacocks roaming free and birds of prey for you to look at.

The staff were all extremely friendly and the rooms / hotel is amazing.

The brassiere's food was brilliant and good value, as we chose to eat there rather than the more expensive, but equally good 1801 restaurant.

All-in-all this break was amazing, largely due to the staff and general feeling around the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
It's so nice to hear such lovely compliments about our staff. We will be sure to make sure they all know! Please do come back and let us know what you think of the food in the award winning 1851 Restaurant :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed a the hotel in late June as part of a business meeting with clients. The accommodation was of a very high standard and the staff were polite and very helpful.
The room I stayed in was large with a king size four poster and massive bathroom with roll top bath and large separate shower.
The restuarant was also excellent.
The castle itself is very impressive and the grounds are definately worth a look around, even if it's just to look at the birds of prey perched in the castle courtyard.
While staying we also took advantage of the Land Rover 4x4 experince for half a day and this was a fantastic experience made all the better by the professionalism and knowledge of the patient instructors. (Highly recommended).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
We are so happy to hear your business meeting went well! Thank you for taking the time to let us know. The Landrover experiences are certainly popular with our corporate clients but we also recommend a Falconry experience... perhaps something to think about on your next visit?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We got married here on the 17th June (the wedding the day before the fire) from the moment i stepped into the castle to look around as a possible venue i fell in love with it, Ian the head porter was amazing and really helped us to imagine what we could expect from the day. I couldn't of imagined a more perfect venue for our day and we booked it straight away.
In the run up to the wedding Jo and Lucy we're excellent, they answered any questions i had promptly and put my mind at ease. We arrived at the castle the night before the wedding, the staff we're brilliant i didn't have to do anything but relax, they had everything under control. Poppy was wonderful. On the day of the wedding i can honestly say from start to finish the whole day was perfect. The venue, service, food and atmosphere were perfect. I can't say enough about the staff they really are a credit to the Naylors.

We'd like to say a huge thank you, we had the best day and our family and friends had a wonderful time. We had so many compliments about how how lovely the castle is, the only negative's we had was the price of the drinks.

We were very sorry to hear of the fire and we wish the Naylors and the staff of Peckforton all the best with the repairs and getting the castle fully restored in all its glory!!! We will definitely be there to stay on our one year anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for your review. I have passed all your kind words about your wedding on to Ian, Poppy, Jo and Lucy who are so appreciative of your comments. Thank you for allowing us to be part of the best day of your lives and don't leave it till next year to visit us again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peckforton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Peckforton Castle Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peckforton Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.