We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Boar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wild Boar Hotel to your Saves list
Wild Boar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitchurch Rd | Nr Beeston, Tarporley CW6 9NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Cheshire UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked a deal for afternoon tea through Travelzoo. The approach to this hotel is very impressive with the black & white mock Tudor building standing in an elevated position above the large car park.
Although the restaurant has its own entrance, we didn't spot this initially & used the hotel entrance. A very friendly receptionist pointed us in the right direction & once in the bar/restaurant area, we were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us to comfortable chairs & a table ready for afternoon tea. We were offered a choice of tea or coffee which arrived promptly with a cake stand packed with delicious sandwiches, scones with jam & cream & cakes & homemade biscuits.
The service was excellent & the waitress offered additional tea & coffee which again arrived promptly. There was one other couple having afternoon tea at the same time & another couple having drinks.
The surroundings were full of character & made a pleasant change for a tasty treat. The quality of food & service were excellent & we would definitely return or recommend to others, even without a special offer.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    231
    120
    53
    29
See reviews for
83
420
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked a 2 night B&B stay with kgb so already good value. Gretchen on reception was very helpful in assigning us a quiet room - Room 25, on the 1st floor, was large, quiet with good views over the fields The first night we had youngsters from the golf academy running about the corridors But they calmed down after a sharp word or two We always support the hotel by eating in their restaurant & we were very satisfied on both occasions My wife especially liked the BBQ ribs The service was a bit slow on the first night but generally Martin & the team were attentive & courteous & buffet breakfast was one of the best we had had We used the hotel as a base for exploring Chester & the surrounding countryside & were very impressed We also visited an NT property & Tatton Park on the way home If I have one small complaint it is that there is not enough hanging or drawers space to take even a modest suitcase So take plenty of your own hangers

Room Tip: Any room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were here on Saturday 19th October for our friends wedding.
We were well looked after and couldn't complain about anything. We didn't stay the night but only as the hotel had already fully booked up before we'd decided to stay. But on a previous stay for another friends wedding we had a lovely room, good en suite facilities and a lovely full English breakfast the following morning, I wouldn't doubt the quality would have changed since then.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

AMAZING. This hotel has got wedding service down to a fine art. The run up to our wedding was made stress free by manageress Suzanne and the wedding co-ordinator Sallie and receptionist Cath. Every time we popped in - even unexpectedly throughout the year, they immediately knew who we were - that made us feel really special. Our actual wedding day was run by Gary - what a star, he really looked after us and made sure everything ran smoothly. The setting couldn't have been more beautiful. The marquee was beautifully dressed by Embellished Events and Mirage Flowers (winsford) did the table flowers - I would highly recommend both suppliers. The wedding breakfast and the evening buffet was delicious and served professionally - absolutely nothing to fault. Portion size was spot on. All the staff behind the bar were cheerful and efficient and the bar prices were extremely reasonable. This was very important to us as overpriced bars can be a big factor in how much guest enjoy themselves. Our little girl (almost 2) was shattered by 9pm and once she was ready for bed the staff rocked her to sleep in the pram and kept her behind reception for us so she could sleep and we could continue to enjoy our party-kind gestures like this just made our day even more special. As did staff using there own cars to run people back to nearby hotels when taxis failed to show up at the end of the night - staff going above and beyond what they paid or expected to do. We stayed in suite 1886-and although not as modern as the other rooms the extra space was very welcome! We will be booking this room in the future when we return to celebrate our anniversary. The following day - Sunday - was my birthday and we had booked a table at nearby Panama Hattys (also highly recommended) only to find taxis were again very elusive! Elise on reception was not at all fazed and had the problem sorted within the space of ten minutes. our whole weekend has been fabulous and the staff at this hotel will be remembered as being a very integral and special part of our wedding day. Without them it would not have been a far cry from the success it turned out to be. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts, Joanne and Paul Corteen.
(Forgot to mention the lovely Laura at Angela Bartlett - spent a lot of time with her in the run up to our wedding having beauty treatments and being pampered- Laura, if only I'd have had a spare bridesmaid dress for you! You were a lovely calming influence on the morning of my wedding. Thank you for doing my wedding makeup x)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is very striking, the black and white exterior is supplemented by the relating history which we found very interesting especially the tales of the two brothers who we were able to see carved in the pillars of the penthouse suite. We stayed on a Saturday night and although the hotel was full with a wedding on we found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, booking us taxis and advising on local amenities. Our rooms were comfortable and clean and the atmosphere in the bar and adjacent brasserie was relaxing.
The hotel location makes chester, North wales and Liverpool very accessible although local taxis into tarporley were fairly difficult to obtain. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to see more of Cheshire and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIrmingham 1982
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary we booked with wowcher and payed extra to upgrade to a suite. The lady at reception was warm and welcoming. We stayed in room 9 room which was very clean but room did feel a little tired the bathroom was huge and i was expecting a spa type bath as you find in most suites nowadays, there was instead a armchair and a coffee table. Hot water was a plentiful. Bed was comfortable but bedding and pillows were tired and needed replacing The bar was stunning and we enjoyed a afternoon drink there. We decided to go for dinner at panamhatties near by which was beautiful. After reading mixed reviews over breakfast we were pleasantly surprised plenty to choose from including a full cooked breakfast and lots of fresh fruit. Staff were attentive and polite. We enjoyed our night away but glad we didunt pay full price for suite as we would of expected more luxury have a feeling that because we had a deal we got given one of the more tireder rooms. Overall lovely hotel fab staff and we enjoyed are break and we would definately like to return :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

A friend and I had spotted the hotel on a Travelzoo offer and for £45 each we had dinner, bed and breakfast. It dated back to the late 19th century and was stunning from the outside, especially once floodlit. The receptionist was very welcoming as we arrived and the check-in was a very pleasant experience. The room (number 21) was more than satisfactory and had all the usual additions you would expect and the bathroom had a decent selection of Yves Rocher products. The shower wasn't the best but was adequate. My one criticism would be the pillows which to my mind were woefully thin. The food was lovely in the restaurant and the staff were very attentive. Our Travelzoo deal was for us to eat off the fixed price menu or £22 towards the a la carte menu. I am pleased to say I could have eaten anything on that fixed price menu and we didn't even bother studying the alternative. I would be happy to return - it's a good location both for Chester and some of the lovely villages and scenery in south Cheshire. We also visited Erddig Hall (National Trust) near Wrexham which was only around 40 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wild Boar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Boar Hotel

Address: Whitchurch Rd | Nr Beeston, Tarporley CW6 9NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wild Boar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Wild Boar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wild Boar
Wild Boar Tarporley
Wild Boar Hotel Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Boar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.