We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfasts !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Save Saved
You added The Swan Tarporley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Tarporley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tarporley
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfasts !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We live locally in Nantwich and always visit for breakfast on bank holidays as a bit of a tradition.! The cooked breakfast is superb and presented with butter dishes and linen napkins adding a rather traditional feel.The cooked breakast has excellent ingredients and is beautifully cooked.I usually go for the smaller option which is more that enough and includes a cup of tea.Attentive service.Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    71
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
91
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I've always liked the Swan - it serves good food at reasonable prices and the beer is well kept. However, when I went there yesterday with my 94 year old mother (who is is very disabled and finds it very difficult to get around), I was truly shocked at the Hotel management for how cruel and inconsiderate they were to us. I had my 9 year old son with my mother and I when we arrived and sat down at at table near the entrance. After my mother sat down we were told in no uncertain terms that it was against the rules for us to be sat with my son at a table anywhere in sight of the bar. The only options were a room with no windows or the other side of the hotel (Pickering room). We were forced to move even though there were only a couple and a group of 4 people there! My mother was very upset - a very unpleasant visit. BEWARE!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights on an equestrian escapes break in the one of the accessible stable block rooms. Very comfortable and clean! With everything you could need.
Staff were very approachable and helpful-nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for one night 31.08.2013 due to a wedding in the area. Great place easy to find ample parking, helpfull/accomadating staff. I recommend room 14 which is lovely and airy and quiet. Breakfast was amazing lovely fresh good quality produce.

The only reason for not getting 5 stars is the duvet, its very thick for summer and its a bit short.

Other then that we had a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Clean comfortable and friendly. Only stayed one night but would return as the area has plenty of interesting places visit and Tarporley is a lovely little centre to stay with some independent shops and nice cafes and eating houses

Room Tip: We stayed in an annex at back of main hotel which was very as long as you find the chime of the chur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The hotel and staff were pleasant and welcoming and having a hunting heritage / theme, the room key fob is a stirrup.

My room was in the courtyard rather than the main building. It was comfortable and well equipped though if you want to use the free wireless they provide (which I did) ask for a room in the main building as the signal doesn't reach out there.

Breakfast was a pretty standard buffet (nice but nothing special) and very good cooked-to-order hot breakfasts.

Room Tip: Choose the main building if you want to use the free wireless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Second visit on a golf trip with the lads. Rooms excellent, staff great and the food top notch. Beware the giant scotch egg. Breakfast was excellent served by a polite young male member of staff. Stayed in room 17 (coachhouse) which was clean and comfortable. Bathroom is fresh with decent toiletries. The public area,s in the hotel are clean and welcoming with plenty of seating for groups. The location is ideal on the high street with a couple of nice pubs to choose from should you so desire.
Thanks again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Tarporley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.