We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Swan Tarporley to your Saves list
The Swan Tarporley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Warrington.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a lovely country inn, with a very warm welcome. We stayed in one of the converted outbuildings, which was really nice, the bathroom was gorgeous in particular, and the beds so comfy.
Food delicious. Try the belly pork, its delish. The breakfast was perfect!

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    82
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
106
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

On arrival the welcome at the Swan was excellent. The staff gave a tremendous service and are a credit to the management. Breakfast in the morning was very good and the speed it was brought out helped a lot. The rooms are comfortable and we will definately use the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at The Swan for 1 night as we were attending a wedding at nearby Peckforton Castle. The inn itself is lovely with lots of character. The food was high quality- we enjoyed sunday lunch and full english breakfast. There is a good range of beers,wine and champagne for special occasions. The service was excellent. We stayed in a room in the stable block near the carpark. The room was small but very clean and adequately furnished. The shower was good and there were nice big fluffy towels. Our main critisism was that it was very noisy early in the morning and there was an irritatingly bright fire exit light by the bedroom door. I would have expected a bit more for the price and the 4* rating but the ambiance of the inn and the excellent service by the staff more than made up for it.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main bulding may be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked the 4 poster room midweek for 2 nights. I agree with some previous customers that complimentary buscuits and water should be included but aren't. Paying for the room on arrival before even seeing it isn't a good start either. Room was basically clean with comfortable bed, shower was weak and radiator noisy. We ate here both nights, chicken and leek pie excellent, steak dissapointing- very fatty quite tough and pretty tasteless, not good for the £18 and took a long time to arrive . Chicken and chorizo excellent, large chips properly cooked, wine list OK for a gastro pub. Breakfast on Thurs morning (which is served between 7am and 11am) we sat down at 10.15 and waited nearly 20 mins before I had to approach a member of staff behind the bar to ask what we were supposed to do to order, when it did arrive the full english was very good despite the 1 small rasher of bacon, 2 sausages and 2 eggs etc with mushrooms beans and toast. Kippers were fesh and very good, tea and coffee very good. For a mid week in April the place was very busy pretty much all of the time, the size of the rooms and number of rooms is good as there was always somewhere to sit, overall a good experience I would give 4 stars,just.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked a room here at the last minute and got a great rate. We were amongst a group of 24 who were dining there for a celebration. The bedroom (5) was at the front of the building, overlooking the main road through the village. The bed was comfortable with nice crisp sheets. The bathroom was nice although the shower was a little on the chilly side and not very powerful. There were tea and coffee making facilities, although a biscuit would have been a nice touch (or am I being greedy!?). The room was very warm at night, but opening the window made it noisy. If you want a more peaceful night then request a room at the back.
The evening meal itself was a little hit and miss. As a large party we had pre-ordered our food. The seafood plater starter was lovely but only two slices of bread for two people was not enough (the staff happily brought more). However my main course (along with three others who had ordered the same thing) were a good 15 minutes later being served than everyone elses. Indeed my husband had to pop his head around the kitchen door to enquire as to where they were! I ordered the seafood linguine which had a very disappointing 4 prawns in it and no other 'seafood'. The food isn't cheap, so I was really disappointed with that. We were also not offered deserts, which was a shame. I spoke to one of the staff about my poor main course and was offered a glass of wine as an apology - I would much rather they had taken it off the bill!
Breakfast was lovely. All cooked fresh with local ingredients. The coffee was excellent (often it can be tasteless, but this was not).
Overall, this is a lovely place to stay, the main attractions being the building itself (with a wealth of history), the ambience, and the staff who are superb (nothing was too much trouble). Just a shame the food was a let down, but I think I was unlucky, everyone else seemed to enjoy theirs. We will return, thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked 2 rooms here over mothers day weekend,although we got 2 rooms in the stable block near the car park it was no problem,rooms were very comfotable and pleasant......all the staff are very friendly and the food is superb.[the beer is quite good too].....checking out next morning after an amazing breakfast we mentioned to the manager that we could not work the shower[it was probably us pressing the wrong buttons] he offererd us a £50 refund[result]....so yes we will be going again. lovely hotel,lovely staff.well done.

Room Tip: you wont be dissapointed.try for a room in the hotel as the stable block is next to the carpark and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poitiers
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We arrived here mid afternoon, tired and rather stressed on a Friday after a funeral on The Wirral (our 2nd funeral, 1st being in Kent 24 hours before). We chose Tarporley as my husband has relatives in the town and this particular hotel is central and reviewed well.

We were greeted by a busy waiter, who wasn't fazed when he presented a bill (in advance) for 2 nights and I explained I'd cancelled the 2nd night. It was no problem and he changed the bill very quickly. As a result of the cancellation, the hotel had upgraded us to the Stable block which if I recall from other reviews is the newer part of the hotel. Our greeter took us to our room, was friendly and bantered along with us about women being in charge of money and organisation in marriage.
Our room was lovely, a good size, a comfortable bed and even though it over looked the car park, it didn't feel 2nd rate. Beautifully appointed bathroom, clean and bright. Looked forward to a shower later (and disappointed by the low water pressure).
We had arranged to meet my husbands family in the bar to eat, and enjoyed a good meal with them, being served by attentive staff. It was very busy (Friday night) and the staff who'd been working mid afternoon when we arrived were still there working hard at closing time.
We slept well, church bells very close and nice to hear and not disturbing.
We enjoyed a good breakfast the following morning, one of the staff from the previous night was there, still looking bright and available (I guess she had slept!)
Overall, we enjoyed our short stay, managed to de-stress before our journey back and would not hesitate to stay here next time we visit.
It felt that the staff had some investment in the hotel and that they were well managed. Being well and kindly managed means that they are happier with the clients.
Well done The Star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Tarporley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.