We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag and questionable value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Tarporley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Swan Tarporley to your Saves list
The Swan Tarporley
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mixed bag and questionable value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel twice in the past two months.
On the plus side, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean. The breakfast is great. They are located in a small village and the whole experience is a little like stepping back in time, which can be enjoyable.
On the negative side, they really shouldn't advertise free wireless. It only works in one room. They claim it works in the lobby but I couldn't pick up any wireless or 3G signal on my Kindle in the lobby so never bothered trying the laptop.
Also, during my first visit I was located on the back side of the hotel. It was quiet and I got a great night's sleep. On the second visit, my husband was with me. We paid to upgrade to a "suite". It was on the front of the hotel with the main road just below. The traffic noise was significant and certainly did impact our ability to sleep. The security lights were also an issue as the curtains couldn't cover the arches at the top. The staff kindly unscrewed the bulb in the light outside our room so I could darken the room.
The suite was disappointing. It was really just a larger bedroom with a couple of chairs. I would have classed it more as a deluxe room than a suite.
On my first visit I ate dinner in the hotel. You had to place an order at the bar - like you would in a pub, but the menu was not a typical pub menu. They seem to pride themselves on offering a menu that is slightly different. They want a break with all traditional meals. I couldn't find a single dish that seemed appealing in all of it's aspects. I settled on a lamb dish, but I found the quality only average and the value was poor. I think they are trying to straddle two styles and it doesn't quite work. They are operating like a pub but with a fancy restaurant menu.
Before booking the second time the manager told me that while they prided themselves in having a different menu, if I wanted something more plain or traditional that they would do it. My second trip didn't lend itself to having an evening meal this time, but even if I could have edited the menu I still would have faced the value issue so probably would choose to eat out rather than in the hotel.
This hotel is probably more suited to tourists than business travellers, particularly if you need to actually work in the evening. Even an upgraded room doesn't have good workspace or internet connectivity. Whether business or pleasure I certainly wouldn't say it is worth the rates quoted on their website.

Room Tip: Ask for rear side room and negotiate on price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    82
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
106
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

A really lovely room - quite unusual as part of the old Coach House which made it a bit 'different'. The bed was extremely comfortable (usually my husband's gripe) and the linen and towels were 5 star.
Not really fancy but if you want comfort, atmosphere and cleanliness - this is perfect. Breakfast was also great (freshly cooked) and the service was also 5 star.
Will definitely return when next visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Staff, accommodation, and food were all excellent. I have already recommended to others and we will deffinately be going back. (great base for walks and visits to local attractions)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We have travelled to several countries in the past and stayed in 5 star hotels but, I can honestly say that none compare with the last few days !

From start to finish the standards of service, food and comfort were excellent !

Thank you to all of the staff for making our stay so very special.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Whilst having my wedding in Tarporley, many family & friends stayed at the The Swan for the occassion. We were all made to feel very comfortable and the staff couldn't do enough for us in terms of service. We all enjoyed several meals/snacks during the stay which were of a high standard. The location of the hotel is perfect, being right in the centre of the village and within easy reach of the motorway network - Chester, Liverpool, Manchester etc. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again. Thank you all so much for a lovely, memorable stay!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

The Swan Hotel is a lovely place with competitive rates and the food is excellent.
The staff are professional and very helpful - nothing is too much bother. Good choice of wine and real ales. All you would want for a weekend break in a nice part of the world.
We will be staying again and we are already recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

My friend at short notice booked this hotel for me, i was sitting next to him as he called. HE asked for
1. A quiet room
2. Wifi
3. A large bed

I got, a large bed
Wifi not in room
The hotel illuminations shining into my room until 3 am
Road noise waking me up
A TV that looked like it ran on Valves

Although the staff are really nice and the food and drinks are excellent it is a pub/restaurant/hotel and i think the hotelier needs to reconsider his/her offering. Given i was awake most of the night because of the bright orange light shining into my room and the road noise and the noise from the people above me who perhaps were simply visiting the toilet i would need something to do like read my email etc. Alas no wifi and only 5 TV channels.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwanTarporley, Manager at The Swan Tarporley, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Thank-you very much for the feedback. I am glad the staff, food and atmosphere excelled.

The lighting issue we will investigate and i can only apologize. Will look at the curtain coverage also. The TV's are currently being updated to LCD's as per a schedule due for completion by 11/12.

The wifi is available in the room you were in network 11g. This is separate to The Swan Wifi provided downstairs.

Please let us know if you are planning on returning by emailing info@theswantarporley.co.uk and we'll try to ensure all expectations are met.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swan Tarporley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Tarporley

Address: 50 High Street, Tarporley CW6 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Tarporley 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Swan Tarporley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Tarporley Hotel Tarporley
Swan Hotel Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Tarporley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.