We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willington Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Willington Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Willington Hall Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Willington, Tarporley CW6 0NB , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Just got back from afternoon tea with three other ladies, a birthday treat. It was lovely can recommend.Plenty of beautiful cakes and sandwiches,in fact we bought some away with us. The setting is wonderful and peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    37
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
40
92
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eastry
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The room was huge and lovely, although lacking tea/coffee facilities. The grounds are also very nice. Food is very good, though not exceptional and reasonably priced for what it is. However the service in the restaurant was a not at level it should be at for this grade of establishment. That said, it is more for couples or small groups and is not business people. I was left for extended periods, the waitress was curt possibly because I asked where a missing component of my meal was. The receptionist was very good and friendly though. Probably very pleasant for couples having a lovely weekend break, or special meal out. Not quite for business travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seascale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

What can I say,absolutely excellent.The staff,the food and the location-excellent.I even had a little bonus;whilst stretching my legs after the delicious evening meal 2 badger cubs kept running across the drive way-what a delight it was.Again the food and the location excellent but it was the staff that gave it that extra something,they were brilliant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights as an Easter break. It was recommended by a family member who lives close by. We were not disappointed the staff were lovely and warm. Our dog was fussed and we were made to feel very welcome. The room was huge and the building speaks for itself it's fabulous. The breakfast was endless and very tasty the staff accommodated us like royalty. We will definite go back next time with friends! The beauty salon next door is worth a mention too. The young girl was lovely and I was made to feel very special. For the motor heads out there it is very close to Outon Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A good old-fashioned treat for Sunday luncheon with friends is so enjoyable... but the venue has to be excellent, and this one is just that. Beautifully located, well-trained staff and well-cooked food.
Perfect? Almost... just two tiny details: The head waiiter didn't listen to the drinks order so the barman brought an incorrect type of sherry (soon rectified without problems). Also the food was gorgeous but the menu was slightly too simple for my taste - you do the same food at home when you are not trying to do anything special.
Don't knock it... it is still worth 5 stars.

Room Tip: Didn't stay in a room, but in the restaurant, get a window table looking out towards the Bickert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Myself and my wife have just spent 3 nights B+B at the Willington,This old country hotel is definetly one of the best we have ever stayed in, The double bedroom was huge, the bed was bigger than kingsize and extremely comfortable, there was a large flatscreen T.V. and lovely 2 seater sofa,We were in room 3 on 1st floor which overlooked the lovely gardens .lake and open fields.The food was of very good quality and locally sourced,breafasts were tremendous,Cereals,homemade preserves,fruit and full cooked ,in fact anything your heart desired,the hotel offered a 3 course evening meal on Wednesday evenings for £30 for 2 persons (not each),we really recommend that guests take this as it was very good value,bar prices very very reasonable for a hotel of this stature e.g.£3-30 for a pint of real ale.
Last but not least the Friendly staff from reception to bar were this hotels crowning glory,smiles on all their faces and very attentive to everyones needs,would highly recommend a stay at this hotel on arrival we were even helped with bags and shown to our room (not always the norm nowadays).

Room Tip: Believe that any room will please visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I spend a couple of days here as part of an equestrian escapes holiday. The hotel is set in a lovely location and is right next door to the riding school which is great. The decor of the hotel is a little dated but it is still very clean and the rooms are fine.

The bar food is of a good quality and there is no trouble being a lone traveller as they make you feel extremely welcome. All of the staff are both helpful and very friendly. The beauty spa next door is excellant for a good massage after a days riding. The riding school itself is great and the standard is very high.

I would most definately recommend a couple of days at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willington Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willington Hall Hotel

Address: Willington, Tarporley CW6 0NB , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tarporley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Willington Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Willington Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willington Hall Tarporley
Willington Hall Hotel Tarporley, Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willington Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.