We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill Pool Restaurant

The Mill Pool Restaurant
Oulton Mill Lane | Little Budworth, Tarporley, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 31 restaurants in Tarporley
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Telephone: +441829 760444. E-Mail: info@themillpool.com
away with the fairies
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited Friday night with a 25% off voucher & had the rib eye steak, it was cooked to perfection! Friendly helpful staff & we'll definitely be back.
If I was to give one criticism it would be the décor needs updating but it didn't detract from our evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    25
    12
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wincham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

As a party of 7 adults and three children we went for mothers day. The food was from a set menu and was tasty and varied. The staff and welcoming and friendly.
The décor is a little tired but the focus from the owner does seem to be the standard of service and the quality of the food provided so I feel a perfectly acceptable trade off.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHester, UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Consistently good standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have been to the Mill Pool Restaurant a number of times over a number of years and it is the one place we find consistently good, we have never had a bad meal and it's great value for money too. This restaurant is set in a lovely spot with a great view. Whilst the management has changed the quality and variety of the food has not. Dining is on two levels with the ground floor level currently undergoing a major refurbishment which will no doubt add to the dining experience. There is always a good choice on each course and there is a good range of wines that are reasonably priced. The service is good and the whole environment welcoming and friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“September offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Went on the Mill Pool Restaurant website and they were offering 20% off voucher for September so went for Sunday lunch. £15 for 2 courses (-20%). Excellent value lovely food. Shouldn't have gone for the third course really as already full, but why not!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than a 4* hotel meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

They kindly fitted us in short notice, then changed our table for a view of the lake on our request. They went out of their way to think of a suitable hotel for our next visit. The meal was far better than than the meals served in our 4* hotel we were presently staying at. Brilliant!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill Pool Restaurant also viewed

 
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to The Mill Pool Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill Pool Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.