We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food! Perfect Takeaway or Sunday Buffet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Fox

The Red Fox
Four Lane Ends, Tarporley CW6 9LZ, England
01829 733 152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 31 Restaurants in Tarporley
Cuisines: English, Indian, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food! Perfect Takeaway or Sunday Buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We regularly go the Red Fox with friends or get a takeaway from there. The food is always great and the service very good! You sometimes have to wait a while if you don't book, but that is what you expect from a good Indian. I have never had any trouble with the manager, he seems lovely! Great Curry and always a good selection of food on the Sunday buffet, at a good price!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food average but manager very rude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked a table for 12 on Saturday night and after all been seated the manager came to take the menu. When asking him about a certain dish we were told to 'read the small print!'. We had to wait 55 mins for the food to arrive which was okay but not very hot. The manager came to the table several times and did not know where to draw the line with his sarcastic comments. We have been before but it will be along time before we go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audlem, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not as good as when it first opened”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Shortly after the Red Fox changed to an Indian Restaraunt and re-opened we visited with some friends and it was quite nice, both the food and the service. However, we recently returned along with an Indian friend of ours as we thought it was good the first time round but, alas this time it was not so good. We noticed that customers had deminished considerably, and when we received the food it was not as good as when we had first tried the Restaurant just after it had opened. Unfortunately it will be a while before we return and try it again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

A fantastic restaurant. The food was a really high quality as was the service. Good portion sizes without being too much. well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton in Arden, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Buffet type Indian Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The food was excellent with a lot of choice. The price of the meal very reasonable. The restaurant was popular and very busy, but this did not affect the excellent friendly service.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Fox also viewed

 
Tarporley, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to The Red Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Fox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.