We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windmill at Tabley

Windmill at Tabley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Windmill at Tabley to your Saves list
Windmill at Tabley
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Chester Road, Tabley WA160HW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Tabley B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We chose the Windmill at Tabley due to the great location off the M6 on our way up to the Lake District. The room was lovely - absolutely vast and very modern and obviously fairly recently re-decorated. From our point of view it was very handy having the pub downstairs for a decent evening meal when we arrived quite late one evening.
However, it wasn't my best nights sleep as it was very noisy - in part this is a fair enough sacrifice due to the proximity to the main road, but there is a lot of road noise. Also, we were a bit disappointed at breakfast - we were kept waiting a long time (not totally the staff's fault as there was only one member on on the day of a conference at the pub) and it was a bit cold/not great quality.
Overall - really lovely room in a very handy location but a bit noisy and the service/food wasn't great.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    23
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
37
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here in May as we went to Tatton Parks Foodies Festival. It's right off the junction of M6 and only a ten minute taxi ride to the park which is no more than £10!

The Room was huge, modern and very clean. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was lovely and of a good price for all home cooked food :)

Breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked and not off a buffet. Full English was available or just cereals and toast with juice, tea or coffee.

Great service by waitresses in the evening. All staff very helpful & friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 is was huge obviously don't know if they are all this size!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked this NYE 2012 a family room for two couples, trying to keep costs down. I expected a room in the rafters with no space to swing a cat. It was one of the biggest hotel rooms we have stayed in absolutely gorgeous!
We were going to Tatton Park for new years eve but was a little jealous wasn't staying for their party night

Room Tip: We had family room £90 for four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Windmill as we were visiting family in Knutsford and it was one of the few hotels that could accomodate 2 adults and 3 children booking within a couple weeks of our visit.
They had our room ready with travel cot setup. Unfortunately they were no sheet but we found a number of pillow cases that we could use so it was OK. Our daughters stayed on double sofa bed and we in king size bed. Breakfast was nice and even though the small kids made a mess they happily served our food and cleaned up after us, excellent breakfast service.

The check-in was through the door and to the right at the bar, which we didn't realize at first, they ideally could have had a sign to say to check-in at the bar.
It's well placed for Knutsford and south of Manchester. It was a good price for family room at £85.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very warm and friendly welcome, I had room 1 which was very spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The overall size was almost comparable with a small suite. The whole essence of the Hotel is to make your stay as comfortable as possible within a very reasonable budget.
Very close to junction 19 of the M6 but the associated traffic noise didn't disturb my night's sleep.

Room Tip: I only stayed in room 1, big spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Thought this was one of the best hotels we've stayed at in this price range. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are spacious and stylish, and the beds were very comfy. There was a little bit of traffic noise but then it's close to the M6, but it wasn't enough to keep us awake. The breakfast in the morning was great, choice of cereals and juices followed by a full english with toast, tea or coffee.

We were attending a wedding at the nearby Cottons hotel, and getting between the two was no problem, and this one is nearly half the price so a bargain even with the £10 taxi fare.

Room Tip: We'd booked 4 out of the seven rooms and although some were bigger than others they were all goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night en-route to another location.

Lovely place, with excellent quality rooms, friendly helpful staff and superb food.

Our room was large, the bed was king size (five foot) and incredibly comfortable. Full en-suite shower room with an excellent shower - one of the best! Soap, shampoo and bodywash provided were excellent quality. Kettle provided for tea/coffee making as well as biscuits - couldn't ask for more. TV wasn't the best and had limited channel choices, so if there was room for improvement it should be focused on that.

We ate our evening meal here and the food was absolutely fantastic. Good quality, nicely prepared and presented home cooked food. Excellent portion size and extremely tasty - so glad we had our meal here - cannot recommend the food here highly enough.

It is located very close to the M6 - which we couldn't hear traffic from at all - it is just incredibly conveniently located just off the motorway. However, it is quite close to another incredibly busy road. That said, the road traffic noise didn't disturb us excessively and our room fronted onto this road, but you can hear the traffic.

If we need somewhere to stay in this location I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone considering staying here and/or having a meal here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windmill at Tabley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill at Tabley

Address: Chester Road, Tabley WA160HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tabley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tabley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windmill at Tabley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality food, drink, accommodation and service in the traditional way. We offer comfortable, cared for rooms, friendly faces and value for money that you only find in a well-run, privately owned establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Windmill at Tabley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill At Tabley Hotel Tabley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windmill at Tabley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.