We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
2 High Street, Sandbach CW11 1AL, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 52 Restaurants in Sandbach
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Hamburgers, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for families. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

There always seems to be huge crowds of families eating there whenever we go so don't expect a quiet meal.

Very hit and miss but all Wetherspoons appear to be this way.

Would recommend for a cheap and cheerful meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    28
    8
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Busy Pub But Wear Ear Plugs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Not eaten but called in two or three times for a drink. Quite nicely refurbished and plenty of seating and as with any JDW the food and drink is ridiculously cheap. The only drawback for me is that some customers are bordering between tipsy and drunk. In the space of an hour on Saturday night we heard some quite loud foul language and a whole tray of drinks jettisoned to the floor.

Not that I'm a prude but they need to keep a check on the swearing with older people and children in abundance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Exceptionally cheap food that is actually ok!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Had a n evening meal with friends recently. The George is packed out at weekends due to the very reasonably priced drinks and the food was no different. Often with a "free" bottle of beer the main courses are exceptionally cheap. The food was brought out quickly, was hot and well presented and actually it was ok. It won't win any prizes but for the price, the quality and quantity was pretty good. Can't fault it really it is what it is a cheap and cheerful boozer with extremely good value straightforward grub!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best spoons I've been”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I've been a few weatherspoons in the northwest but this has to be the nicest one ..
It's really nice inside and not the food was really good too esp the breakfast will defo be going again

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A really good idea to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Remembering what the old King George was like I was a little hesitant to give the new George a try but I need not have worried The beer was great and the standard of service was first class and the food though not cordon blue was very palatable and at an excellent price. The only down side is, you cannot reserve a table.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.