We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miola

Miola
Abbeyfields | Lodge Road, Sandbach CW11 3HD, England
+44 1270 763364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 52 Restaurants in Sandbach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Ice Cream, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Interiors ▪ Gardens ▪ Gifts ▪ Coffee Lounge ▪ Children’s Cinema & Play Area ▪ Online ShopMiola opened on the 28th may 2012 featuring a fully licenced coffee lounge serving hot and cold food throughout the day.We have a kid’s cinema and playroom and our extensive range of home furnishings.
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had never heard of this restaurant before seeing it on a groupon offer.
Visited for lunch a few days ago. Only niggle, tried to call to book, however the answering machine was switched on and although we left a message we did not receive a call back. We decided to go anyway, on arrival we were ok as they were not that busy. The service was very friendly and laid back, we both ordered coffees, cappuccino and a latte (part of the deal), which came with a tiny cake. The choice was very good, I opted for home made quiche served hot with home made coleslaw and salad, my partner had pate served with lovely lightly toasted brown bread (you could have white), salad, butter and cranberry chutney. We also had a cake each, I ordered coffee sponge and my partner had the Victoria sponge with lots of whipped cream and strawberries. Some of the other items on offer were chilli and rice, lasagna, BLT, soup of the day, jacket potatoes, salads & wraps. Other cakes were lemon drizzle, plum upside down, carrot cake (not available on our visit), chocolate cake, scones and cream and I really can't remember the others. Really nice change and we would visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiolaSandbach, Owner at Miola, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your food. Sorry your call wasn't returned. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    12
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffs. UK.
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surroundings !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just called in for tea while visiting Sandbach. Sat outside on a warm summer day - pleasant surroundings and friendly service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiolaSandbach, Owner at Miola, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. Next time you call in please let us know what we need to do to get five stars from you, or drop us a line. All feedback welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best door stop cake!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Had a lovely visit on a sunny Saturday afternoon with a couple of friends.

We had lunch, 1 open sandwich with brie and bacon, and 1 with onion chutney and goats cheese, and a BLT. All sandwiches were cooked really well and tasted delicious. The apple spritzers were lovely too but my only niggle would be that the spritzers could have been a bit colder as it was a hot sunny day.

The best part was the cake! There was no Victoria sponge left, and we had our hearts set on a piece. A lovely lady informed us that they had made the sponge for another cake but hadn't yet made it up. We asked if we could have a look around the shop whilst we waited for her to put the Victoria sponge together. They were really kind and accommodating and we could hear the lady mixing the fresh cream in the kitchen!

When they came out the piece of cake was HUGE!! It was like a door stop wedge and tasted absolutely lovely! One of the best cakes I've ever had.

The service was great, the food was lovely, the cake was to die for, and it was all at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiolaSandbach, Owner at Miola, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I’m glad to hear the cake was worth waiting for. We have lots of new cakes on the menu soon, do try those too. We look forward to your feedback on those, including any niggles. We like niggle comments it helps us to be the best of the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“SANDBACHS BEST KEPT SECRET.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I had a fantastic lunch today at Miola, it was a groupon deal, we had chill & rice, and Victoria sponge & coffee for a mere £12, the staff were lovely, very chilled out atmosphere with gentle relaxing music, a fantastic place to eat, so clean and trendy. Thank you so much, we will definately call again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiolaSandbach, Owner at Miola, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Glad you enjoyed our cooking, we try and make as much as we can ourselves using the freshest ingredients. We open 7 days a week so hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Visited on Saturday with my husband who had discovered it during the week. Its an amazing restaurant with loads of seating both inside and outside. Little fancy ggifts and larger items for the house. The cakes and coffee were excellent but the service was even better and the finishing touch of flowers on the plate - superb. Going back with my friend as I know she will love this place and I'll certainly be going back with my husband and this time for more than coffee and cake! The decor outside with painted branches, little hanging lights was beautiful and in the evening must be quite something, quite a hidden delightful place to relax and enjoy good food.

Thank you
Linda

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiolaSandbach, Owner at Miola, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you liked it. Our stock changes weekly and we only buy in small quantities so there is something different each time you call. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miola also viewed

 
Sandbach, Cheshire
Sandbach, Cheshire
 

Been to Miola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.