We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting customer service!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chimney House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chimney House Hotel to your Saves list
Chimney House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Congleton Road, Sandbach CW11 4ST, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandbach
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting customer service!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

On 3rd November 2012 we attended my sister in laws wedding reception. As a treat to my wife and I we decided to book a room at the hotel even though we only live 10 mins away as part of the wedding package a number of rooms were allocated at a discounted rate. I have to say that the room was very nice the only fault being that the radiator didn't work so the room was very cold. Due to the time of the night we made no fuss and went to sleep. When booking into the hotel as any other hotel a. Credit/Debit card was need to obtain a per authorisation of £100 was requested on my card. On departure my card was processed without seeing a bill. When looking after the bill once payment had been taken drinks had been booked to our room which we had not had!!!! This was refunded after informing the receptionist. Common practice for this hotel is to take any charges from the per authorised amount and releasing any unused funds back onto your card. This did not happen as we'll as taking £100 they also took the money for the room. It took a week and a lot of phone calls to get the money back. After complaining to the manager a free nights stay was offered. After explaining why would I want to stay another night when living down the road they offered me a bottle of wine on the house to go with an evening meal!! So now they want me to pay foe a meal!!! Help from both the Manager and their head office is very poor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeKendall001, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir,

I refer to our conversations via email and over the phone. As discussed the monies were returned back into your account after the pre authorisation was completed on your departure from the hotel. This is standard practice in any hotel. I believe my offer was very fair however you chose not to take this up.


Kind Regards
Luke Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    83
    61
    48
    47
See reviews for
52
105
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were given a voucher for afternoon tea as a gift. As the Brook House Hotel was on the list of venues and was not too far away from where we live, we decided to book for afternoon tea.
What a disappointment. There were bare tables (no table-cloths). We had requested extra sandwiches and less cakes but the sandwiches were all on white bread, very dry with little or no spread. The ham was not enough to cover the inside of the bread. Fortunately, the sandwiches were fewer than expected and because they were so poor we wouldn't have wanted any more anyway.
The salad garnish was very limp. As for the cakes, the scones were so dry that we needed to use the whole of one small pot of preserve to make them edible. There were two slices of what we thought was strawberry cheesecake which looked as if it had stood in a warm kitchen for a couple of days. The strawberries had run into the cheesecake, making it look pink. My husband managed to eat one slice but I had to leave mine as the look of it put me off. There was a small square of some sort of cake but it was so dry and heavy which made it completely inedible. The pot of fresh cream was crusty around the edges as if that too had been left standing for too long.
The pot of tea was served in a rather grubby stainless steel pot which looked as if it would have benefitted from a good wash and polish.
Last year we went for afternoon tea at Crewe Hall near Crewe and that was absolutely wonderful. Maybe someone from the Brook Chimney House Hotel should go there for afternoon tea and see how it should be done. Needless to say, we would never, never go back to the Brook Chimney House Hotel again. It was a big disappointment to our family who had paid for the voucher as a treat for my wife and myself. Brian H.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

MUCH IMPROVED
very pleasently suprised with my return trip. As stsated before I would have written sooner but tripadvisor would not let me until 3 months had passed.

Arrived at hotel after a long trip down the M6 just in time for the last hour or 2 of sunlight nice enough to sit outside. really pleasant sitting out side me and the wife with a beer. Considering how close you are to the motorway it felt like we were in a nice village location. Ordered food and this is where we were delighted the EUGENE burger has been crowned by me and the wife as burger of the year! we are foodies and its a big call but it was brilliant (I ordered fish and chips and felt like an idiot) Fish and chips average deffo order the burger.

Kate (I think her name was) on reception was the same girl who was on reception last time and was brilliant upgraded our room to a suite on the ground floor it was a very good room with free WIFI which is excellent. Will be stopping here again.

Dot and breakfast are excelent, from other reviews I can see that Dot is a bit of a legend and I can see why. I think new General maanger and his team should be proud of the improvement, as always I can only go off my experiences and honestly the only thing I could complain about (this is if you forced me to find fault) was that on the other tables outside peoples glasses and teas were not cleared away for ages after they left. Not a big problem I am sure you will agree. If you looking for the ritz then this isnt it. If you looking for a great place to lay your head whilst travelling down motorway that you have to only drive yards once of the motorway to get too, then this is the place

Room Tip: One of the ground suites (right after reception)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeKendall001, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your kind feedback and I am very glad that I restored your faith in the hotel.

I look forward to meeting you once again in the not too distant future


Kind Regards
Luke Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Plus Points:
Staff very friendly, hard working, did their utmost to right our concerns.

Minus Points:
Food portions inadequate, even for ladies, bar prices much dearer than venues of a higher calibre than this hotel. Amazed to find a hotel with two large functions on, had run out of red wine quite early in the evening. Why not offer Real Ale in addition to tasteless smooth flow provided (due to this 4 out of 5 chaps on our table drank only tap water thus lost revenue and room bookings as they drove). The poor staff were overstretched and we stacked up our own dirty plates as they were serving the other party.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeKendall001, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent experience here at the Brook Chimney House Hotel.

I am delighted to read that you thought the staff were very hard working and friendly. As I have written on another review the red wine was re-stocked with 45 mins due to an unexpected high demand of this item. The bar prices are well in line with other hotels in the area and are constantly reviewed by head office to ensure we are giving value for money. The real Ale is being discussed at the moment and the plan is to provide a product called "Doom Bar".

I hope that you can return to the hotel in the very near future where I will personally ensure your stay will be a memorable one


Kind Regards
Luke Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked for one night as we were attending a Christmas party there. Room was good apart from the window frame that was in need of replacing. Food was okay apart from the beef that was tough ang stringy. As we are not made of money it would be nice for drinks to be priced a bit cheaper and for real ale to be available. Paying over £ 3.60 for nasty cream flow beer is unacceptable when i can get quality cask conditioned ale for less than £3 in a pub. Breakfast was just okay, nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeKendall001, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on your experience here at the Brook Chimney House hotel.

As i have indicated in another response my plan is to get a "real ale" however i would not describe Caffrey's as "nasty", it is a quality product supplied throughout the world.

Our bar prices are in line with all other hotels in the local area.

Your comments about the beef have been addressed with the head chef and have been used in preparation for the usual busy weekend ahead.

Kind Regards


Luke Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had problems with this hotel right from where they got my booking wrong! Girl on the phone was patronising, answering every thing I said (including my name!) with 'no problem' - and then booked me in the wrong date!
The dinner was the worst - one vegetarian option. Penne pasta in tomato sauce with parmesan cheese. This was for £19.50, and parmesan is not vegetarian! I asked if I could have something else and had mushroom risotto. An hour after I went to the dinning room my risotto with partially cooked rice arrived. The service was so slow, I waited 15 minutes at the bar to get the bill.
As mentioned in previous reviews the place is also grubby, and the carpets are threadbare.
This is certainly not a 4 star hotel, and I would recommend you avoid it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Booked well in advance through Laterooms and received confirmation emails. Arrived at the hotel to be told that no booking had been made and that no rooms were ready for us so we would need to wait and hour while they prepared the rooms and made our bookings tried to charge us full rack rate for the booking not the reduced rate we had from Laterooms they eventually honoured the price but said we would have to pay the full cost which i think was £15 for the breakfast and not the discounted price of £9 that was on our Laterooms confirmation.

I complained that we were being penalised due to their inability to communicate with Laterooms and was told they would investigate.

The rooms as stated by other reviewers are dated and tired and the door to my room would only open be being kicked and to close the door it had to be slammed so hard I can't believe it didn't disturb guests in other rooms.

The restaurant menu was really over priced there is a good just up the road in Brereton called the Bears Head which has a good selection of beers and ales and decent sensibly priced food I'd suggest people eat here.

Our £15 Breakfast fee entitled us to pick over a lukewarm buffet of deep fried sausages, dry bacon and over cooked beans and boiled mushrooms, the fruit salad had a strange blue fur around the edges there was one waitress who was friendly enough but clearly stretched dealing with a room full of diners on her own.

When I got home I contacted Laterooms who said they would investigate and came back to me very quickly to say the hotel had told them they DID have my booking all along and would investigate what happened and come back to them. To date I have had no explanation or apology from the Hotel.

Overall this is a perhaps once decent hotel that is on the decline young inexperienced staff couldn't care less about guests. I won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chimney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimney House Hotel

Address: Congleton Road, Sandbach CW11 4ST, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Sandbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimney House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within 8 acres of tranquil grounds just 500 metres from Junction 17 of the M6, this Tudor-style Country House offers a stylish restaurant with free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.Ideally positioned between the historic market towns of Sandbach and Congleton, this charming half-timbered Hotel has undergone a full refurbishment, combining original period character with the best of modern comfort. Peace and relaxation exist in abundance, whether it is the scenic beauty of the surrounding gardens and woodland or the friendly yet professional service, guests are assured of a truly memorable stay.The Hotel offers bedroom types to suit all travellers, including Standard, Family and Executive options. Each of the 50 en-suite rooms has been individually designed and decorated with stylish, contemporary furnishings. They all come equipped with free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, radio, hairdryer, Room Service and tea & coffee making facilities. Many rooms also feature spectacular scenic views of the grounds and surrounding Cheshire countryside.The warm and welcoming Patio Restaurant offers a modern brassiere-style dining experience. Open for lunch and dinner, including a traditional Sunday lunch, the extensive menu is complemented by a superb selection of wines from around the world. With its polished wooden floors and high leather stools, the bar is the perfect place to spend an afternoon. It offers a variety of speciality coffees and drinks as well as a lounge menu serving a selection of light meals, sandwiches and snacks.With its convenient and peaceful location, the Hotel is the perfect conference venue. It offers five flexible meeting rooms each designed to provide a traditional, yet thoroughly modern working environment.The Hotel is situated less than a minute’s drive from Junction 17 of the M6 and offers free on-site parking for all guests. Stoke-on-Trent is about 20 minutes away and it is about a 40 minute drive to Manchester, both of which offer excellent transport links to all major destinations across the country. There are also regular bus services to Sandbach, Congleton and Crewe that are all within walking distance from the Hotel. For those flying in, Manchester Airport is a 25 minute drive away.The Hotel is with close proximity to an abundance of fantastic attractions and tourist spots, making it the perfect base from which to explore the area. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Peak District National Park is a scenic haven of unspoilt beauty, perfect for a range of activities including walking, hiking, cycling, rock climbing, horse riding, fishing and much more besides. For family fun there is Alton Towers, Britain’s premier theme park and Chester Zoo, home to over 7,000 animals including some of the most endangered species on the planet. History lovers will surely appreciate the sights at Tatton Park, The Crewe Heritage Centre and Nantwich Museum, and sports fans will be well-served by the nearby Malkins Bank Golf Course. For more urban pursuits, the cities of Crewe and Chester are both easily accessible whilst shopaholics will be spoilt for choice at both the Trafford Centre and the Potteries shopping complexes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chimney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hotel Sandbach
The Chimney Hotel
Chimney House Hotel Sandbach, Cheshire, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimney House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.