We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chinese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San San

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
San San
1 Station View, Sandbach CW11 3JD, England
01270766565
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 51 Restaurants in Sandbach
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
1 review
“Great chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Our usual Chinese appeared shut and as creatures of habit reluctantly decided to try sansan as they had put a menu through the door. We chose our usual so we could compare standards. We were delighted by the quality of the meal. We ordered a home delivery. It arrived within 20 minutes, was hot and was better value and tastier than our regular. We will be using San San from now on.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North West England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The fastest delivery in the West (of Elworth)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If I could eat in at the San San I would, but as it's a take away and delivery service only I have to dine in my own surroundings.

Even at peak times, I've never waited more than 25 minutes for San San to deliver, and often it's under 15 mins. And that includes a 3 minute drive....The cooking starts as soon as you hang up the phone. I'd recommend their hot and sour soup, just delicious, Szecuhan beef and kung po beef also. For something absolutely not Chinese, try the spicy chips with salt and chilli.

Positives : Fast, hot, great menu variety including Thai dishes.
Negatives : parking is terrible if you are collecting. Get it delivered, and TIP the driver as he's FAST!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Went here tonight after a fabulous day out on the beach at Hoylake - so we were both ravenous and hadn't eaten as thought we were going to be enjoying a real feast.

To be fair when we ordered at about 6.00pm, the service was good and the food was ready in good time. They were also really busy (which is normally a good sign), with lots of customers coming in along with telephone orders.

We chose spring rolls and crispy won ton for starters and duck in plum sauce and fillet steak with with Cantonese Sauce for mains and a banana fritter for dessert.

The spring rolls were tasteless and the won ton was one very small prawn hidden behind far too much deep fried (greasy) filo pastry. The fillet steak was over cooked and leathery and the duck was okay but a little under-done. The egg fried rice had virtually no egg in it and the noodles were greasy with a strange after-taste. The banana fritters were covered in a thick soggy batter and the bananas were soft and mushy.

As you can see from our previous reviews we try to look for the positives, but in this instance, the food was possibly the worst we have come across. It wasn't as hot as it could have been and it was also pricey for waht we had.

Our German Shepherd however, thought it was delicious - need we say more!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Over the last few years I have ordered for delivery countless times. San San are helpful, concistant and and above all else friendly, whether it be from the young, hepfull lady on the phone (that's how she sounds, always reassuring) to the especially chirpy guy who delivers (the boss I've been told). Everything is fantastic..... Absolutely LOVE this place

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Takeaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

An absolute gem of a Chinese takeaway. From the lovely lady who takes our orders to the super fast delivery, fresh food and great choice I cannot fault the San San or recommend it highly enough, definitely the best in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San San also viewed

 
Sandbach, Cheshire
 

Been to San San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San San, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.