We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White House Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prestbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White House Manor
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   New Road, Prestbury SK10 4HP , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Prestbury B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Boutique Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked this hotel to get away for a relaxing luxury stay and we were not disappointed. The room was well kitted out, cosy and relaxing. We decided to sit and enjoy a bottle of chilled wine on the terrace and this was brought to us beautifully chilled with crystal cut classes and service with a smile! We walked into the village and enjoyed a meal at a local restaurant which was great and then we walked back and sat and relaxed in the conservatory which we got all to ourselves. The next morning breakfast was delivered to our room and this was very special, it was beautifully presented and had all the extra touches, linen, mix of croissants and toast, muffins, jams and a wonderful full English. Well worth a visit and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
40
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed recently, for only one night sadly on this occasion, and were delighted as usual. There is always a warm welcome, especially if Lauren is at the reception desk.This small family run hotel is a delight, and the price per room per night has not changed in the last three years. Do not expect mini bar, concierge etc and the other trappings, this is a grown-up B&B, but the price and quality is amazing. There is a small honesty bar in the conservatory, and water and tea/coffee are provided in the room. There is a small snack menu too.
We have worked our way through all the double rooms, and all are individually designed and each with its own character. For a warm summer night, Chantilly on the ground floor has its own private outside deck with lights, and you could have breakfast there too. Note that not all rooms have air conditioning, but fans are provided.

Breakfast has to be ordered the night before, either for delivery to your room, or can be taken in the conservatory or on the terrace. The options are the full Cheshire, which speaks for itself, Continental or the healthy option with a large plate of various beautifully presented fruit and honey Greek yogurt, with granary toast and preserves. Orange juice and tea/coffee too.
The hotel has no restaurant, but the village of Prestbury is in the Cheshire "Golden Triangle" so restaurants abound in the village, less than ten minutes walk away, and the Admiral Rodney pub has real ale and excellent meals. Some restaurant prices are a little steep, but this is WAGS territory.

The attention to detail in the rooms is wonderful. We had a CD player, iPod dock and radio, TV with Freeview channels, and some rooms have a steam shower, although at 30C outside we chose to avoid that. Why pay more for a substandard chain hotel room with no personal touch when you can relax here?

Room Tip: Rooms in the top floor area such as Minerva are rather warm but do have air conditioning. Check the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked the hotel for a night for our anniversary. it was a perfect place,the atmosphere was warm and friendly. The staff were very and friendly.The breakfast well catered for vegetarian.i would recommend this hotel..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is absolutely lovely hotel in Prestbury. It is the ideal location for a classic English B&B experience, and one I would highly recommend. The village of Prestbury itself is lovely with quaint shops and restaurants, and the Manor is is a very very short walk into the village. The Manor is incredibly well restored and the amenities are lovely. Each of the rooms has it's own theme, of which we stayed in the Coach House, with its own private entrance. The room was well decorated and very much matched the theme. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very up to date with a lovely shower and all new fixtures. The grounds of are very well kept, and on a sunny day would be a lovely area to sit, relax and enjoy a drink. Breakfast can either be served in your room on the conservatory, we opted for the conservatory and it had a truly English decor and charming atmosphere. Breakfast must be ordered and booked the evening before. We were presented with 3 options, which all looked lovely, and turned out to be delicious. The staff was very friendly and happy to accommodate requests. A lovely stay at a lovely B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I liked the White Horse manor. It is not a hotel: don't expect bellmen, a bar, a restaurant or a gym. It's a classic English B&B... but it is much, much better than the typical B*B. It is an excellent value. The staff are attentive and kind. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are quiet and clean, with nice appointments and good fabrics. The breakfast is healthy and delicious. I slept like a rock, peacefully. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor. It was quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I found the hotel, more bed and breakfast like than hotel. I did not enjoy the experience as it felt like staying in someone's home. The room was very fussily decorated, which seemed more to the owners ornate taste than to a more general traveller's taste. The bed was not very comfortable, with an old mattress and very thin and flimsy duvet. The room was also very cold, despite turning the heating up to fill blast.

The room had very dark and dated furniture with a four poster bed, with fake curtains. No light switches next to the bed so had to get out of bed to turn the lights off.

The bathroom was clean but quite dated to.

I did not appreciate being offered a cooked breakfast at an additional charge, when I paid over £120.00 for one nights stay. And also the fact that the breakfast is only served after 7:00 am.

The wireless also did not work and I was told to try the wireless in the conservatory, which was rather annoying considering I wanted to relax and unwinde in my room. And, it did not work in the conservatory so ended up missing out on checking emails and catching up on important work prior to my meetings the next day in the area. I requested a discounted rate which was declined.

There is also no mobile phone reception at ALL in the area which can be a big issue!

This is an over priced Bed and Breakfast, rather dated and lacking the required facilities for a corporate traveller. Better for people holidaying in the area, over 60, who have money to waste on over priced accommodation. I will not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Arrived at this lovely old house late afternoon. Very warm welcome at reception and very helpful on where to dine at night. The room (Minerva) was beautifully fitted and the bathroom awesome. We chose this room because it had a Turkish steam room. Using it was a very enjoyable experience. We chose to have breakfast delivered to our room, and what a breakfast it was. I have never seen so much beautiful food. Well worth a visit, would stay again if ever there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White House Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Manor

Address: New Road, Prestbury SK10 4HP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Prestbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Prestbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White House Manor 4*
Also Known As:
White House Manor Hotel Prestbury
White House Manor Prestbury, Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White House Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added White House Manor to your Saves list