We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nunsmere Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tarporley Road nr Northwich, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Oakmere
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was one of few restaurants in the area accepting a lunch booking with a hi-life diners card in december. The location is stunning, being a very elegant hotel built on a peninsula. Inside the building is very grand, and also peaceful and inviting.
We were extremely well looked after in both the bar and also the restaurant by Matt, who provided a first class service. The dining room was beautifully appointed, and the 3 course lunch both innovative and delicious.
Highly recommended.
Phil, Manchester.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    81
    27
    7
    5
See reviews for
49
178
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a corporate workshop. The place is gorgeous and the food and service exceptional. Nothing lacking, made our group feel like lords and ladies of the manor. The food is exception and we were also very well looked after in the bar by the very knowledgeable, friendly and talented "Matt". We really enjoyed our cocktail making lessons, a nice end to a business day and nice start to a social evening. Cant fault this hotel or its staff. Special thank you to the gentleman to the bowler hat who arranged to take our luggage to our rooms. What a special place!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but from previous stays would recommend Lily or Pine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We attended a wedding here from 23rd Nov to 24th Nov 2013. From arrival, we experienced a wonderful friendly welcome from all the staff, especially Mervyn who helped us with our bags. Our room (the Camelia) was gorgeous, absolutely huge and had the most comfortable bed with feather pillows and duvet. The whole place had an air of a distinguished, bygone age, but with all the amenities of a modern hotel. The wedding meal was delicious, and beautifully presented. In the evening we even had bags of the most wonderful fish and chips. Drinks at the bar were pricey, but we had plenty drinks available at the wedding, so didn't buy all that much. Breakfast was also delicious and plentiful.
A lovely letter from the management welcomed us to the hotel, and offered to let us take their black Labradors for a walk round the grounds...wellies included! We only wished we had the time to do that. Next time!!
All in all Nunsmere Hall was an experience we will remember fondly for a long time!

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I cant recommend this hotel enough. We were there for a two night last minute get away. Incredible value at £80 per night (secret escapes) including breakfast for two. The room was vast yet cosy and there was a real air of country house about the decor. The bed was amazing! We only ate breakfast there as the restaurant was busy both nights but it was excellent. The nearby village of Tarporley has a few nice places to eat as well as other restaurants within a short drive.
The staff were efficient yet friendly and were on hand for anything we needed.

If i had to nitpick then i might say that , because of the nature of the old house, you tend to hear every creak and squeak around you made by other guests. We did have a rather annoying guest above us who seemed to be building a Yacht at 2 in the morning... but it was soon forgotten.

As i said, cant recommend it enough. Go treat yourself!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This place was so hit and miss during our two night stay it was a real shame. Our room was nice, typical country house modern stylish but not chintzy. And the grounds are lovely. However first mishap was we were shown to our room which hadn't been cleaned. It was quite bizarre and I'm still not sure what went on but the meet and greet guy with the top hat checked the room first to see if it had been cleaned, told us it had and showed us to the room. When we were in the room it looked tidy, made bed etc, towels neat etc until I saw the bin was full, tea and coffee tray used and dirty and looked at the sheets which weren't fresh so we went straight out and just said the room has def not been done properly... when we got back they apologised and said the room hadn't been done at all, it was a mistake to let us in... But I'm still not sure if they'd just done a really bad rush job of the clean as why would the people checking out before us make their own bed and fold the towels neatly etc... Hmmmm. The communal areas are looking a bit tired to be honest, not great cleaning of the place stands out with skirting boards and cornicing all dusty and stained carpets here and there just needs money spending on it and the cleaners sorting out really. First breakfast was a disaster, there was a wedding party breakfasting, morning after the night before, so obviously busy, but it's a wedding venue so you think they'd be geared up for it. My egg had shell in it, service was slow and incompetent tho staff were trying their best, just seemed not enough on and poor management of the staff, all the non-wedding guests were in a separate room and all kind of looking at each other like how bad is this, a few walked out, the next morning was really quiet and breakfast was great however. Shame really as we would have eaten dinner in the restaurant the night of our first breakfast but we changed our plans because of this. Waited a while in the bar area for someone to serve us while the female manager (I think) on duty chatted away for about 15minutes to guests, didn't serve us or go and get someone to serve us. Just not professionally run. We went to the Grosvenor hotel in chester for lunch and the difference in service was so apparent, there it isold fashioned slick discrete professional service. I feel nunsmere want to be that type of hotel, like Hollbeck Ghyll in the lakes does so well, but they just aren't there at all. Please note also if you're staying when a wedding is on the rooms are old obviously so sound proofing not great so you will hear pretty much everything going on until the party dies down, we were told about this before we booked so not complaining, just a NB...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Once again went to this stunning hotel for a last minute lunch. Craig,the chef is an absolute master who knows exactly how to cook food. A lot of chefs don,t know about flavours,but Craig does!
Service was friendly and attentive. I like Nunsmere Hall because whilst it ticks all the Country House boxes,it is not stuffy in the least and I would highly recommend the lunchtime menu if you want a true fine dining experience at main course pub prices !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We came here for lunch on Monday and had a very lovely meal . The food was presented very well and the service was impeccable we shall definitely do a return visit . The grounds were amazing but sadly we didn't see fritz the resident Labrador , but I'm sure upon our next visit we will xxxx

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nunsmere Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nunsmere Hall Hotel

Address: Tarporley Road nr Northwich, Oakmere CW8 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Oakmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Oakmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nunsmere Hall Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nunsmere Hall is a beautiful Country Hotel set in the heart of Delamere Forest. It is the perfect Wedding ,Conference and Events Venue. With 36 wonderful bedrooms and it's own 60 acre lake and wild forest walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Nunsmere Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nunsmere Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.