We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out for all the family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stockley Farm Birds of Prey Centre

Stockley Farm Birds of Prey Centre
Arley, Northwich CW9 6LZ , England
+44 7706 587024
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Northwich
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birds of Prey ( Owls, Hawks and Falcons )experiences in a lovely Cheshire setting.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great day out for all the family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Brilliant farm, great facilities and very friendly staff. Starts off with a tractor ride from the car park to the actual farm. When we arrived we were greeted and told what was going on during the day. My daughter loved running around looking at all the animals and especially grooming the ponies. Lots of activities for children of all ages including a indoor barn with lots of picnic benches. Lovely park area outside with play equipment and again lots of picnic benches most with umbrellas for sunny days. Highly recommended and we will be returning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    8
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“beautiful birds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

went on a bird of prey experience this morning-we had a great time! Louise, the bird handler was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and passionate about her birds. We all had a chance to hold the birds and experience the flying and handling of them. We learnt such a lot about each bird, their weights, likes and dislikes, where they were from, how old they were, everything, we really enjoyed it

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a VIP Experience worth every penny ~ a must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked our VIP Experience and went along last Sunday. We were more than impressed with the day. The handlers were very knowledgeable and made sure we were all hands on with each bird flying them from person to person! (Gauntlets were provided!!) Unlike some birds of prey centres, this allowed all birds a clean and well cared for life, with regular flying and feeds. it made for happy birds!! If you love birds of prey then book the VIP Experience, you won't regret it, but will remember it for a long time to come!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a great day out, especially with young children. It's a lot more than just Birds of Prey, there are farm animals, playgrounds and a lovely cafe. You even get a special ride to and from the car park.

Sadly my kids are a bit old for this now, but it used to be a real favourite.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stockley Farm - great day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visited stockley farm on Monday 22 July. The farm was open from 1-5, we arrived just after 1 and managed to get the first tractor to the farm. Our little girl absolutely loved the tractor, it was a good 5 mins to get there and as the weather was good all the cows and sheep were out in the fields near by for her to look at.
We were so surprised on arriving at the main farm having been to many 'children's farms' Stockley farm blew all the others out of the water. There was a huge outdoor play area with swings and climbing frames, and an outdoor sand pit and climbing walls for older kids. The grass was well maintained in this area so you could take a blanket and sit out and there was plenty of tables in this area with umbrellas for you to sit at. In the centre of the farm there was another lovely green area with tables for picnics. The whole place was spotlessly clean. In the main barn there were baby goats, calfs and piglets as well as smaller family pet animals (rabbits, guinea pigs, hedgehogs) a great bit highland cow LuLu and pigmy goats.
On our arrival in the barn a member of staff was sitting with a baby goat and encouraged our little girl to stroke it, which was lovely.
I will say the staff throughout our visit were really friendly and helpful and took time to speak to the children and explain about the animals.
After the barn an announcement told us that some of the small pets were out for petting on the grass (a couple of rabbits and an albino hedgehog - very cute!) the animals weren't just held by staff they were let on the floor to wander around the children, again this was a lovely touch.
We stayed for the baby goat feeding which was a real giggle, the goats are bonkers! As soon as they're let out if the pens in the main barn they come skipping and skidding to the feeding area, the staff made sure that everyone got to feed the goats at least once.
The horses and donkeys were out at one point too so that you could brush them.
I believe at the weekends they have sheep racing!
We visited on a glorious day but I'd even go when it was raining as the barns would be dry, and there is a huge indoor play area with indoor sand pit, hay bale climb and bouncy castle. We didn't really go in but it was very clean and the children that were in there seemed to be having a great time!
You can also watch the cows being milked as this is a working dairy farm.
There is a little shop, a cafe serving a choice of food (with healthy options for children) and an ice cream parlour.
Although it might seem expensive on first look, this really is a special little place - pack a picnic and enjoy! We will certainly be back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockley Farm Birds of Prey Centre also viewed

Warrington, Cheshire
 

Been to Stockley Farm Birds of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockley Farm Birds of Prey Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.