We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maypole Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maypole Inn
Hill Top Road | Acton Bridge, Northwich, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 74 restaurants in Northwich
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I booked a table for Saturday night.there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere,and the food was very nice hot and served well with friendly staff a great place to visit

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    9
    9
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Traditional English country pub, Americans will love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

All the hallmarks of a traditional British pub, flowers round the door, countryside all around, tractors on the lanes, horses in the fields, horse brasses and whiskey jugs decorating the beamed ceiling, leaded windows etc. A wide range of meals can be found on the menu and a good choice of interesting fish courses available to select from the blackboard. Vegetables not overlooked, meals not overpriced and nice coffee. Children's and pensioner special menu available and friendly service comes as standard. It's pub grub, but it's good pub grub, well above the average run of the mill.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I visited this establishment mid-week on a lunch time,it was the board out side displaying the menus that attracted our attention.When we entered,we were pleased to see a number of other customers,always a good sign.We chose a place to sit,and looked at the menus and found there was plenty of choice,and all the ingredient's were sourced locally,and freshly prepared.Lynn and I ordered the 3 course menus which also included tea or coffe.Every course exceeded our expectation s.Rachael our waitress was a real gem,as we're the owners who were there chatting to customers and ensuring every thing went smoothley.Just to say thank you for a great lunch,sorry nearly for got to mention who we think was the chef.who brought our meals piping hot straight from the kitchen .Lynn and I will be back very very soon,what a great find Peter



  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Maypole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently enjoyed Lunch at this Country Inn and was more than surprised as to how good it actually was. We had the 3 Courses which was home-made soup, a roast dinner and a choice of about 10 different desserts. The staff were more than pleasant and made us feel very welcome. We also met the owners and they too were chatty and friendly. We sat outside to have our coffees and though they were getting ready to close at the end of the lunchtime servings we were not made to feel we were being rushed to go. All in all a very pleasant Lunch in nice surroundings and great value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lovely place to dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a Family Lunch at the Maypole and it was really good. A good selection on the menu, with even more on the Specials Board. Good Service, great atmosphere and good Value for Money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maypole Inn also viewed

 
Northwich, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Maypole Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maypole Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.