We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chippy in Northwich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Seafarer

The Seafarer
7 market arcade, Northwich, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 77 Restaurants in Northwich
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: fish and chip restaurant which has been in northwich since the 1970s
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best chippy in Northwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Yummy chips and always busy, so you know the stock is turned around quickly. Eating in is a lovely treat for the children occasionally too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good chippy but very expensive and painfully slow if you eat in.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Probably the best fish and chips around but if you eat in the service is very very slow. We have waited over 20 minutes before someone even took our order in a place with only about 12 diner type tables when there were only 2 other people in. Same service on last 2 visits. On the last visit they also forgot my side order which then took a further 10 mins to arrive. By which point my food was cold! Great fish and chips but very expensive and don't eat if you want to eat within the hour. Take away and if you're prepared to pay top prices then its good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best fish and chip restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great tasty food. Good friendly quick service. Easy parking, access. Comfortable seating. Interesting decor.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great chips, great staff but the fish needs more time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a difficult review to write as I love visiting the Seafarer and sitting down to a plate of decent food. Its a take-away and also a sit down traditional fish and chip shop. Its been on the corner of the precinct for years and I've been going in for many of them.

The place has always been beautifully clean and well decorated. Its spotless and the food smells great. The staff are friendly, efficient and they look like they are enjoying serving you and doing the job well. All in all you could do a lot worse than sit down to meal here. The chips are perfectly cooked and I've never had less than a perfect, genrous plate of them. The same goes for all the other food except recently for the fish. What makes it a difficult review to write is this very point. Recently the fish has not been up to standard and I would have loved to give this place a five star rating but I can't for this very reason.

The last three times I have visited, the fish has been slightly undercooked. Rather than golden and crispy all the way along, it has been crispy at either end for an inch, but paler yellow and only partially crisp for the rest of it. Its not been piping hot in the middle either and as its fresh out of the fryer it should be really. The combination of crunch from the batter and the soft tastiness of the white fish is what helps make chippy fish the best. it should be so crunchy its rigid and self supporting when lifted up from the plate. Recently its sagged in the middle and the batter is thin.

If this is a way of making a healthier fish I'm not interested. I'm going to ask them to slightly over cook it next time. I will not stop going in though as the chips are addictive and dipped in to curry sauce they take some beating. Give this place a try, its well worth it in the end.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great service, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

My family and I ate at this establishment last week and I'm pleased to say that we will be visiting again soon. Staff were very polite and attentive 10/10.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seafarer also viewed

Northwich, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to The Seafarer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seafarer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.