We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Cap

Blue Cap
Chester Road | Sandiway, Northwich CW8 2DN, England
01606 883006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 77 Restaurants in Northwich
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Lake District, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Good quality food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We visited as we were staying at the Premier Inn next door so it seemed silly to drive somewhere else. We were not disappointed and found both the food and service excellent. It could easily have been a disaster as we visited on Friday evening when there were at least 2 sizable office Christmas parties and the place was otherwise pretty well full but they had obviously taken this into account and ensured there were sufficient staff on duty (which makes a pleasant change from some pubs who try to get away with as few staff as possible). OK it's not a gastro-pub but it does offer good food at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    63
    27
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My Mother and I like to visit the Blue Cap for a lunchtime treat as it is quite near my house. Everytime we have visited it has been the same - good service, friendly staff, interesting menu and good food. The bonus is I use my Tesco reward vouchers as it is a Chef and Brewer establishment. I have written at length of my disappointing visit to the other Chef and Brewer locally i.e. Ring o Bells Daresbury but although perhaps the location of this particular pub knocks spots off the Blue Cap (being on a main road) it certainly can't match it in any other way. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Visited this pub as we stayed at the premier in next door. Quite busy with people eating when we arrived, about 830 on a friday night, but food arrived fairly quickly.
I had steak and ale pie at £8.99, was ok, steak was very sloppy, not in a tender way but in an over cooked gooey kind of way. Pie was large and came with nice vegetables and mashed potato. My partner had guinea fowl of a special menu at £13.29. Was stated on the menu as breast, but what arrived looked more like a leg of some sort, had a few bones in it. But seeing as we hadn't tried this before, we didnt know if it was supposed to be like that.

Decided to order puddings, these were priced at £4.99, and there was a special for £9.99 for a collection of 3 puddings. So we ordered this. It arrived on a nice long piece of special wood, very nicely presented and all tasted good. They put the wrong ice cream on one, so we had 3 puddings and then they brough us a big bowl of extra ice cream as a replacement, which was nice.

First waiter we had was really friendly, but halfway through they swapped which was abit annoying as we liked the first one better!

Nice atmosphere, cosy but not too dark, and looked really welcoming.
Quite expensive for a pub but food was nice enough and we would visit again if in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“pretty ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Its a bargain basemet establishment Chef and Brewer I think!
its boil in the bag/ deep fry 2 can dine for £9.99 type of place.
Plenty room quality varies from Bad to ordinary.
I dont expect a lot for the price and this place delivers that!
Parkings OK!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flookburgh, Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

we went here on two occasions while staying at the premier inn next door. The food is excellent - My rcommendation would be the cheese garlic flatbread starter and i wnt for the pie platter which was awesome and came with a huge heap of the creamiest mased potatoes. We will certainly call here on route to oulton park circuit in the future, could't fault it, service great staff couldnt be more polite and helpful. Have had cheaper but price reflected the high quality and portion size so you cant complain at that!!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Cap also viewed

 

Been to Blue Cap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Cap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.