We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brewers Fayre Woodpecker

Brewers Fayre Woodpecker
London Road, Northwich CW9 8EG, England
01606 45524
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 82 Restaurants in Northwich
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beyond awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited last night at 6pm. Asked for a table for 7 and were left to find something ourselves which meant us walking around amongst diners trying to figure out where we could put tables together. Eventually we were offered help and a woman helped put the tables together. It took 20minutes to place our order with unbelievably slow service. Our starter arrived and 10 minutes later our other starter. The food was ok, nothing special but after all the waiting we didn't mind. We sat with empty plates for a good 10minutes before they were cleaned away. The worst part of the experience was during the mains, half the food came and was again adequate but really nothing special. We waited on 2 lasagnes for 20minutes by which point the other mains were stonecold. No apology, refund, explanation or offer to warm the other food was offered. We tried to buy more drinks but again the service at the bar was so slow we gave up.
Absolutely dreadful experience, the pub wasn't even busy! Sorry to say avoid.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    17
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I were staying in the adjoining Premier Inn and had a meal there on Sat night. Even though the restaurant was very busy the manageress reserved us a table. She was very helpful and all the other staff who dealt with us were most pleasant.
The breakfast on the following morning was excellent, the cooked breakfast was made for you and hadn't been sitting around on a hot plate
We shall certainly visit again when in the area

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mobberley
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Food is really great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Have been here many,many times and without exception have had fantastic meals. This was also true last Wednesday, could not fault the meal - BUT - for the first time we had to wait for almost an hour for our first course (without any explanation) and then about 25 mins for our dessert. We arrived at about 5pm and it was about 7.20pm when we left. Normally this would not have been a problem, but we were expected at a relative's house and had to phone to alert them to our non-arrival. As I said, this was so unusual as the service is normally good, there were plenty of waiting-on staff but it seems the kitchen could have done with some help. Just hoping this is a one-off as we love going to this Brewers Fayre above all others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Was taken here for lunch, not my usual choice of eatery, but was pleasantly surprised, good quality food and excellent service in pleasant surroundings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This restaurant is great value for money and has a good service, always visit the Woodpecker from work at lunch as they do a 2 for £10.00 deal which has an excellent choice and range of meals. Pleasant comforting food and the apple pie is to die for. Love it when someone suggests going for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewers Fayre Woodpecker also viewed

Northwich, Cheshire
 
Northwich, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Brewers Fayre Woodpecker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewers Fayre Woodpecker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.