We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place where dogs are accepted” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorings

The Moorings
Anderton Marina | Anderton, Northwich, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 77 Restaurants in Northwich
Cuisines: British
Description: Restaurant on Trent & Mersey canal at Anderton marina, nr Anderton Boat Lift, Northwich, Cheshire.
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant on Trent & Mersey canal at Anderton marina, nr Anderton Boat Lift, Northwich, Cheshire.
England
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A Place where dogs are accepted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had two lunches here recently, using the outside seating area as we had a small dog with us. On our first visit we had hot sandwiches, which were very nice indeed. We made a point of coming back for a second meal the next day, again in the garden overlooking the marina. This time we opted for a two course meal, which at £10.75 each was good value. The Brie starter and stuffed plaice I had were delicious and there were no complaints from the other half over a bowl of soup and a lasagna with salad and chips!
If you have a dog with you this makes a good alternative from the boat lift cafe, where, nice though the snacks are, dogs are not allowed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Have been here with friends several times. The best thing is the friendly service. Food average but nicely presented. Surroundings dated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwich
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Again, no complaints. The food is freshly prepared, beautifully presented, the service quiet and friendly. Having discovered this restaurant only recently, we keep returning and are never disappointed. Yes, it's quiet but that's the beauty of it. Well recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Mothers Day lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Took my mum here on mothers day, it was very busy but I am not surprised. The quality of food was great and at an exceptionally reasonable price. Mum had the traditional roast beef with all the trimmings and I had cod (for a change) it was lovely. Even though the staff were run off their feet, nothing was too much trouble. We will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What went wrong”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Having visited the moorings after reading the great reviews I'm left wondering what went wrong or was I at the wrong place..great atmosphere ? There's more on the moon..awful swing music (personal taste I know) ..it looked like a twee tee room with garden chairs and for such a popular place ,it was empty on a Friday nite ? My wife had the steak with was ample I had the cod which left me on and in the toilet the following day repeatedly.wont be in a rush to return until I'm of a pensionable age.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorings also viewed

Northwich, Cheshire
 
Northwich, Cheshire
Northwich, Cheshire
 

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moorings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.