We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money around ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cronkinsons Farm

Cronkinsons Farm
Pear Tree Field, Nantwich CW5 7GZ, England
01270 619765
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 94 Restaurants in Nantwich
Price range: $10 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best value for money around ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Am a frequent visitor here and have to say its excellent value for money.

It has to be put into perspective....the 2 for 1 meals means u can get a nice steak for £6....thats a couple of quid more then a mcdonald meal!

Ok its not a £20 quality steak but I've paid that for lesser quality and its 100s of levels above mcdonalds.

Staff r always nice and friendly aswell.

In short it has to be reviewed in the £6 meal category so u get an incredible quality steak for that price

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    15
    23
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pub with lots of choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived served straight away with drinks and food,we had sat in a nice spot near open door warm night,half way through our food some very wild kids whose parents did not control! Sat behind us landlady shut the door but kids kept opening and running past us opening it non stop,nothing said by us she comes over and moves us to a better spot and apologises gives us a sweet token,excellent customer service,we really enjoyed the rest of the evening. Well done we will be going back again. Worth a try if you like a nice meal,just one criticism all our steaks were not as we like a little over done. Thanks for a good time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bistro prices for microwaved meals.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Went as a party of 9 adults and four children for a birthday. Food was pretty awful. One redeeming feature - the so-called 2 for 1 deal. Otherwise £12.75 for very average fish and chips (this was the one from the specials board, meaning haddock - the one on the main menu for £11 or so is Indonesian river fish, we were told). Nearly £11 for chicken in unidentifiable congealed sauce with two dried up boiled potatoes and a few peas and carrots flung around the plate.
Staff were inattentive and pretty unfriendly.
Vegetables were dry and unappetising.
Presentation dire.
Pasta dish dry and lukewarm.
Don't know about further down the table.
Sauces served in plastic takeaway tubs, and a couple were handed over by the waitress. At least put them in a bowl? With or without plastic tub bit?
At least two of the orders were wrong, including the birthday boy's.
Also, don't usually get lots of bones in fish and chips, but I did (and the skin was left on one side, which is a personal dislike but not the end if the world).
Have been before and knew not to expect great things so this was not a one-off disappointment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 199 cities Reviews in 199 cities
457 helpful votes 457 helpful votes
“Wide choice of food & drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Myself and two friends visited on a Friday evening.

I recommend going as an even numbered group to take advantage of the offer on main course meals.

Pros:
-Free parking
-Free WiFi - no registration or password required.
-Waitress service
-Table & chair seating. High chairs for toddlers. Outdoor seating available.
-Tasteful decor.
-Background music.
-TV - showing football during my visit.
-Food options include a range of starters, grills, mexican, burgers, classics, pies, sharers, sides, quick bites, sandwiches, melts, jacket potatoes, Sunday lunch, Extensive Specials Board. Desserts. Children's ('Little Monster') menu.
-When two people each order a main course from a specific section of the menu or Specials Board they give the lower priced meal free of charge.
-Swap your new, mashed or jacket potatoes with chips, or the other way around.
-Drink options include red wines, white wines, rose wines, champagne, beers, ciders, cask ales, soft drinks. Free table water on request.
-Children's playground.
-Toilets

Cons:
-50p extra for pineapple ring.
-Men's toilet cubicle wouldn't lock.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“CRONKINSONS fARM”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went for a meal last week not having been for some time. Greeted enthusiastically by a member of staff at the door and told which areas available to sit in.
Waitress came to the table soon after and took our drinks order. When the drinks came to the table we then ordered food.

Slightly disappointed in the menu although it was 2 for 1 on main meals. I had a chicken pie but there was not much chicken in it with a minute amount of vegetables and potatoes. I was disappointed to say the least.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cronkinsons Farm also viewed

 
Nantwich, Cheshire
Nantwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Cronkinsons Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cronkinsons Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.