We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visitors from down Under” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Lion

The Black Lion
29 Welsh Row, Nantwich CW5 5ED, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 81 Restaurants in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Visitors from down Under”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My two cousins from Australia and my wife and I ate here last week. The service was great the food perfect, with one small error that was quickly rectified with full apologies.
The ambience was great with Character and historic charm. Good British beers to chose from and a wonderful fire place. Live music on Tuesday evenings and some weekends. Not pretentious but friendly, safe and welcoming.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwich
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Excellent food, service, atmosphere and my dog was allowed in the beer garden. Best chips and homemade food for miles around and absolutely lovely staff. Beautiful pub in town centre location, would recommend to anyone!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerpen
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“As pubs should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a nice pub with friendly service, well kept beer and a great atmosphere. Haven't tried the food yet but what went past looked pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best in Nantwich - a unique venue.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We visited on the off chance on a chilly evening on the way back from a shopping trip in Chester... The open fire was lit - a perfect welcome and the bar staff were really friendly - fantastic service. Added bonus was a young man playing acoustic guitar and singing - what more could you ask for whilst enjoying a pint of real ale. My wife thoroughly enjoyed her large gin and tonic as well!! A unique venue - I would say one of the best in Nantwich and we live locally. Work colleagues comment on the quality of the food - we have yet to try, maybe on our next visit....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We were ignored at the bar”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The beer and food and pub itself may be good but we were left with a very poor impression of service when we visited recently. The bar man spent 10 minutes on the 'phone arranging the rosta while we waited like lemons in full view of him. We just left in the end and went to the Vine nearby where we had a very friendly welcome and where we will go in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darren S, Owner at The Black Lion, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear "ronshe"

I was very concerned to hear about your unfortunate experience during your recent visit to my pub.
I would like the opportunity to apologise to you in person and would be grateful if you could email me at: "info@blacklion-nantwich.co.uk" so that i might try and rectify the situation.

Kind Regards

Darren Snell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Lion also viewed

 
Nantwich, Cheshire
 

Been to The Black Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.