We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food just ignore the miserable staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wickstead Arms

Wickstead Arms
7 Mill Street | Nantwich, Nantwich, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 96 Restaurants in Nantwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good food just ignore the miserable staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good Local Pub Food. The only fault is that the landlord and some of the male Staff have an attitude problem.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good honest food very reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love it in the Wickie - the food is great, good choice of well kept beers and friendly staff. We often go in early doors when we've finished work. Meals are served in the lounge/dining area and there is a very lively bar which is mostly patronised by locals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Back in the day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Visited Nantwich on a saturday lunch time with some friends. We were really surprised how busy the town was. There's certainly no credit crunch in leafy Nantwich Cheshire.

Our friends were keen to try some highly recommended Tea Rooms. However after trying three different establishments with no luck we settled on the Wickstead arms pub. We managed to get the last table as this pub was also doing some very brisk trade.

It's very traditional, somewhat dated, but had a really welcoming feel to it. It was a step back in time with a proper separate bar for the pool players/TV football watchers and the Lounge totally devouted to dining.

We only had the hot roast beef sandwiches which were really tasty but there looked to be plenty of hearty food being consumed. Well priced, unpretentious and a nice trip down memory lane.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

The food is lovely homecooked food big portions at good value for money. Can get busy, the atmosphere nice and friendly. The staff are friendly and helpful, the menu is a good mixture of main meals and snacks.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent home cooked food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Brilliant home cooked food in a friendly local pub, with a huge variety of meals and snacks all at very good prices. We eat in here alot and standards consistently high and always busy. Staff are friendly, and Sunday roasts are amazing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wickstead Arms also viewed

Nantwich, Cheshire
Nantwich, Cheshire
 
Nantwich, Cheshire
 

Been to Wickstead Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wickstead Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.