We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Rd | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Olney, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having tried a few other hotels in the Hand Picked group, I decided to book a weekend at Rookery Hall as a treat for my wife and myself.

From the warm welcome we received when we arrived, right the way through to when we left after breakfast on the Sunday, we loved every moment of our Rookery Hall experience
Aside from the wonderful building and great views, our room was superbly comfortable, the food was great and the staff all made us feel so welcome that we really did not want to leave!

We have no hesitation at all in recommending Rookery Hall and look forward to coming back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your kind comments. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and will be sure to pass your feedback to the team who will be thrilled with your comments. I must also agree with your comments about the views of the Cheshire countryside which truly is spectacular.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    249
    107
    43
    16
See reviews for
164
681
13
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have just returned from Rookery Hall Hotel where my Husband and myself stayed for two nights. We wanted to go somewhere to relax for a couple of nights and Rookery ticked the boxes. The setting for the hotel is in very picturesque countryside and although the weather was a little unkind during our stay you can see it is in an ideal location. We booked an Executive Deluxe room and it was very spacious and clean, the housekeeping staff do a tremendous job. The bed was comfortable and you even have a pillow menu to select pillows of your choice! All the staff were friendly, professional and welcoming. The food in the dining room was very good, served efficiently and with a smile.

All in all we had a wonderful 2 days - thank you Rookery Hall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. I was delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. I do hope that you will take the opportunity to stay with again in the very near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very impressive hotel but not clear where to park and how to get to reception. The reception staff where very friendly and helpful once we found it. The grounds are excellent, we were here for a wedding and it was a lovely day, so having the photographs taken outside was a bonus. The directions to the ceremony room were not clear and therefore some off us ended up wondering around aimlessly. The room was decorated beautifully for the reception, food good. However, some of the waiting on staff are very young and don't really know how to serve people properly - especially when pouring champagne. The bedrooms were excellent and spotless, had everything in you needed and more, ie a TV in the bathroom! The breakfast the next day was excellent. We really enjoyed our stay at Rookery Hall but the only thing that let it down was the bar prices. You expect to pay a little extra in a hotel, but these prices were extortionate - £10.50 for a glass of wine, £30 for a bottle of house wine and nothing special at that! I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We value our guest comments and they assist us in improving our standards and quality of service which we provide. I was delighted to read your feedback about the team and the quality of the food and accommodation.

We continually review our standards in order ensure that high standards are maintained at all times.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very disappointed with my recent stay at Rookery Hall.

First impressions are good as you drive up to the hotel (all lit up at night) but then things go rapidly downhill. The general decor is tired and needs updating (dirt on skirting boards, carpets that are threadbare, lifts out of fawlty Towers etc), the staff are trying their best but are all young and lack (in my opinion) experienced leadership, rooms are ok but nothing special (my room had a plethora of light switches which did nothing and a bath where it was impossible to get anything other than hot water out of the tap, not to mention a number of curly hairs in the bathroom which weren't mine!!!!), food was average but expensive and all in all I wouldn't part with my own money to stay here.

Extremely disappointing!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for registering your recent review on Trip Advisor.

It is disappointing to read a report such as this. We did not at the time or have not since received any complaint from a guest of a similar nature or in a similar vein and I remain perplexed that a guest who was 'unhappy' with so many things did not bring it to our attention either at that time or at a later date. We are always receptive to feedback about our product and service and we work tirelessly to make continuous improvements. To do this we always listen to honest and constructive comments from our guests and visitors even when it is uncomfortable to do so and I remain disappointed that you did not make these comments to us directly.

Once again thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies that on this occasion your experience had a negative impact on the overall enjoyment of your stay with us.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight following our nieces wedding which was also held at this venue. What can I say, stunning venue but we were blessed with the weather so could go outside, it would have been very cramped if we'd had to stay indoors. Rooms were just great, warm spacious and comfortable, best pillows I've ever slept on!!! Lovely fluffy towels, plenty of them and warm from the cosy bathroom radiator. Food was gorgeous, both at the wedding breakfast and Sunday morning breakfast, plentiful, varied and hot. Tea and coffee in abundance. Much has been mentioned about bar prices. We found the cost of beer and spirits very reasonable, but wine by the glass was pricey.

Spa was lovely, my grandson loved the pool.

Overall a fantastic weekend, thank you

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your review.

It was great to learn that you really enjoyed the whole experience, and you felt you received value for money. I shall be sure to pass all of your glowing comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

excellent food and superb service, even more amazing as it was part of a DB and B package


As an added bonus the room upgrade was very much appreciated as was the choice at breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you found the hotel to be very good. We continue to strive towards improving our standards and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Me and my friend went to a family Wedding reception here, the is beautiful and well maintained building and gardens. On arrival we weren't sure where to actually park and which block to go in, there didn't seem to be any information signs or directions for reception etc. We parked by the spa and walked following a line of people/guests. So we entered a door and found the function room and asked a member of staff where the Reception was, he just pointed to go to another block. So we asked another lady staff member and she took us to the Hotel Reception-6 of us all dressed in wedding attire not looking like hotel guests at 2pm! then we were abruptly and rudely told the wedding party was in another block again pointing in a direction. When we eventually found the wedding party drinks were laid out and staff were just stood around not being informative or offering drinks etc. I found the whole lay out of the wedding quite disorganized and staff very unhelpful and not customer focused, no smiles or eye contact. Drinks were expensive. The function room was set up really nice, food fine, food service was good but again no interaction with staff!
The evening disco/party was not as good as a lot of guests had to stand up all night as there wasn't enough chairs, food was served slow and gaps in between.
We had a peek at some of the guests rooms and found them very nice.
Over hall the venue is nice and picturesque its the direction boards that need to be more informative, the staff need training up on customer care.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwyn J, Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Rookery Hall.

All feedback is really important to us and whilst we will bask in the glow of positive reviews, we add just as much importance to comments letting us know we did not do well. I am sorry that your experience fell short of your expectations. Please be assured that your comments have been listened to and will be acted upon. I am confident that if you choose to stay with us again you will have a much more enjoyable stay.

Regards,

Gwyn Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Main Rd | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa was awarded 4 AA red stars in 2013 and retained these in 2014.The hotel was also awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2011/12 and 13 at the Nantwich Food Festival but also won the Excellance in Customer Care award 2013 with the South Cheshire Chamber of Commerce. Built in 1816 , Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star Grade II listed property situated close to Nantwich, Cheshire. The hotel is part of Hand Picked Hotels and is set in 38 acres of private grounds offering 70 well-appointed bedrooms and a 2 AA Rosette fine dining restaurant. Rookery Hall offers well-appointed bedrooms with 39 executive and double deluxe bedrooms with features such as air conditioning, multi experience rain showers , televisions in bathrooms, larger bedroom spaces many with wonderful views over the Cheshire planes. The Spa, awarded the prestigious maximum five bubbles by the Good Spa Guide and winner of 'Residential Spa of the Year' at the 2013 Professional Beauty Awards and nominated again for the 2014 award, is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments. The Spa offers seven treatment rooms,manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio offering over 35 classes per week and a modern Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house.Rookery Hall is the recipient of numerous prestigious awards and is the current holder of Hotel of the Year within the Hand Picked Hotels collection of 20 properties.Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.