We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spa hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Rd | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE CHAMPAGNE CREAM TEA
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Nantwich
bromsgrove
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely spa hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend break and after a recommendation from my brother . A lovely hotel with nice big rooms and comfy bed. The food is lovely. Breakfast is buffet as well as menu and was all fresh . Dinner was very nice And the standard high. If I was being critical my only complaint after 4 nights was the menu didn't change and it got a bit boring. Also on Sunday the service went downhill . The spa was a bit dissapointing and the receptionist a little unhelpful. Nether less we still relaxed and enjoyed it. The area is beautiful and chester is well worth a visit nearby.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for visiting and reviewing our hotel.

We were delighted to read that you came on a recommendation, please thank you brother for this!!

It was great to read that you enjoyed the experience and that the food and service was of a very high standard indeed, thanks for the feedback on the menu compilation we will look at this in detail.

Sorry you thought our jewel of a spa was underwhelming and that a team member was less than extremely attentive which is our aspiration.

We hope to see you again in the future,

Kindest regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    710
    216
    91
    39
    13
See reviews for
149
608
10
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

stayed for 2 nights from the 6th to the 8th july for my wifes 40th birthday.the food was superb as was the room ,staff were very helpful and friendly .lovely massive room and the spa was fantastic.this is a fantastic hotel well worth a visit.

Room Tip: i recommend the aynsley suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback.

We were all delighted to read that you had such a lovely stay with us and that you enjoyed everything that Rookery has to offer especially its people who are a real credit to the hotel.

40th Anniversaries are special indeed and we feel very honoured to have been chosen for the celebration of this occasion.

Great food, helpful team, lovely rooms and a fantastic spa are what we are trying to achieve so we are all thrilled we achieved it for your break.

Please come and see us again very soon

Kind regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

stayed overnight friday 6th july after attending a wedding reception.room was amazing, very big,clean,kings size bed, and a tv in bathroom. the breakfast the next day was very good, a large selection of hot and cold food so something for everyone and the staff were very polite and helpful
my only complaint was the price of drinks, nearly £7 for a pint of beer and small bottle of tonic water and nearly £7 for a whisky and coke. a lot of guests took there own spirits in. apart from this i would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for this review after your short stay with us.

Wedding receptions are very important to us all at Rookery so we are delighted you enjoyed the event and all the hospitality that came with it. Breakfast is also a very important meal at the hotel and something we take a great pride in delivering to a very high standard indeed.

The pricing of the drinks is very competitive in our market place and we hope the total experience , ambience and service made it exceptional value for money.

We hope to see you again, maybe on a leisure break?

Kind regards and thank you again for your recommendations,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed over for a wedding - very good venue. Staff, service and room were excellent.
Breakfast was disappointing - service minimal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hello,

Thanks for your review,

We are delighted you enjoyed your break with us and sorry you did not enjoy so much the buffet breakfast style that was organised by the bride and groom on your behalf. our normal full service breakfast is served in the main restaurant and not the wedding venue.

We hope it has not put you off a leisure break with us in the future,

best wishes,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

i arranged private dining for our celebration, for 17 family and friends. what a fantastic night we had! The dining room was elegant, table ,cutlery and linen beautiful, views fantastic, food by chef Mark, world class, and the service led by Earle second to none. The room we stayed in was comfortable and spacious with excellent linens, towels and pillows. All of our guests were also impressed. I would definitely arrange another celebratory occassion at this hotel.

Room Tip: a room at the back of the hotel for views over the cheshire countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback , we are all really proud to receive such wonderful words.

Private parties and celebrations are special events so we were honoured that you chose Rookery for your 25th anniversary with your family and friends.

The modern rooms are very special indeed and many do have great views of the grounds and gardens.

Your recommendations are valuable indeed to us as it is these that set us apart and helps build a lovely picture.

We hope to see you and your party again in the future as your patronage is valuable to us all,

Thank You very much,

Kindest regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United kingdom cheshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed at Rookery hall as a break from our very busy schedule. Our room was not ready when we arrived at 2,30ish which was a bit of a surprise but reception did their best to sort out the problem. We had been advised that our package included afternoon tea but actually included cream tea which we felt was a little misleading and this was not made clear on making the reservation, check in or when we sat down in the restaurant. It was only because we asked about it. The room we had was in the old building and a little dark and the bathroom very tired and in much need of some work with broken shower handle and some very obvious repairs. This is not quite the standrad we expect in a 4 star hotel where attention to detail we feel is important. We eat in the restuarant and the food well deserved of its accolades but it felt like sitting in a library with no real atmosphere. The menu was a little confusing with supplements indicated for various choices and we would have benefited from an explanation of this when we sat down as we didn't understand what it meant. The wine list, which we noted had also won a number of awards was a bit pricey and a better choice at the lower end would have helped as expensive wine is just wasted on us I am afraid. Breakfast was very good and of excellent quality and choice and we applaud the use of local produce and suppliers througout the menus. Overall the staff were very helpful, the food very good and the place has some great potential.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your feedback following a stay at Rookery.

We were delighted to read that overall you had a super stay with us and that you thought the food was good and our great team helpful.

Rooms are available from 1500 which allows our outgoing guests a little extra time to enjoy the facilities on departure day, something that has proved very popular since its inception. The cream tea offered as part of the recent special booking promotion has gone down extremely well ,we were sorry to read that you were expecting afternoon tea included.

We are glad you also enjoyed our extensive wine list from around the world and that you found dinner and breakfast to your liking.

Best wishes

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I was travelling with my mother and was so delighted that the room was spacious and the twin bedded room really was twin bedded and not two beds pushed together to make a double!

The restaurant was in a beautiful room, and the food fabulous. We were on a package, and I liked the way we could choose from the menu and have any of the dishes on offer - with a small excess for certain meals.

We sat in the bar area before and after our meal, and this was another lovely room and very relaxing.

The staff were excellent and attentive.

Very nice spa area.

The only disappointment was the breakfast. Perhaps because my expectations were raised because you order from a menu, and experience has shown that this usually means the food is freshly cooked and well presented. This really didn't seem to be the case. The full English looked dried up and tasted like it had been sitting around keeping warm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your really positive and constructive review.

Your feedback on the bedroom was great to read and also that you enjoyed the dining experience in our two rosette restaurant and the bar service.

The team at Rookery work hard in achieving attentive natural service so your comment on them was also lovely to read.

I was surprised that you found breakfast somewhat disappointing as this meal is one we really normally excel at and so please accept my apologies that you felt it was below our norm.

The spa , I do agree is very special indeed!

Very Best Wishes

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Main Rd | Worleston, Nantwich CW5 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
++STOP PRESS++ Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa has been awarded FOUR RED STARS AT the annual AA AWARDS.The hotel has also been awarded Hotel Restaurant of the Year 2011/12 and now 2013 at the Nantwich Food Festival but also hot off the press the hotel has just also won the Excellance in Customer Care award 2013 with the South Cheshire Chamber of Commerce. Built in 1816 , Rookery Hall Hotel and Spa is a four AA red star Grade II listed property situated close to Nantwich, Cheshire. The hotel is part of Hand Picked Hotels and is set in 38 acres of private grounds offering 70 well-appointed bedrooms and a 2 AA Rosette fine dining restaurant. Rookery Hall offers well-appointed bedrooms with 39 executive and double deluxe bedrooms with features such as air conditioning, multi experience rain showers , televisions in bathrooms, larger bedroom spaces many with wonderful views over the Cheshire planes. The Spa, awarded the prestigious maximum five bubbles by the Good Spa Guide and winner of 'Residential Spa of the Year' at the 2013 Professional Beauty Awards and nominated again for the 2014 award, is set adjacent to the main hotel and offers a variety of luxurious treatments. The Spa offers seven treatment rooms,manicure and pedicure suite, Rasul mud therapy chamber, waterwall sensory relaxation room, glass roofed 17 metre indoor swimming pool, fully-equipped gym, fitness studio offering over 35 classes per week and a modern Cafe Bar. Rookery Hall's spa is recognised as one of the top residential spas in the country and offers a full range of spa treatments by expert therapists using the Elemis product house.Rookery Hall is the recipient of numerous prestigious awards and is the current holder of Hotel of the Year within the Hand Picked Hotels collection of 20 properties.Conveniently located 15 minutes away from the M6, Rookery Hall is within easy reach of Chester and Manchester and the medieval town of Nantwich, just 5 minutes away. Crewe station which connects via high-speed train to London and Manchester is also just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hall Hotel And Spa
Rookery Hall Hotel Nantwich
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa Nantwich, Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.