We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Badger Inn

The Badger Inn
Cross Lane | Church Minshull, Nantwich CW5 6DY, England
01270 522 348
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 94 Restaurants in Nantwich
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A lovely three course Sunday lunch for £15.95. Good Choice of starter, main and dessert. Beef was offered pink/rare or well cooked, mine was rare; tasty and tender. Lamb and chicken also selected, same quality.
The restaurant was clean, light and airy. Staff were helpful and pleasant.
Whole event very enjoyable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    75
    12
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

The location is pretty rural but the building has a really modernised but still cosy feel about it. The food is spectacular. Wine is amazing. I will definitely return!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've been before for Sunday Lunch which was excellent, so decided to go back for Lunch one weekday.

Just didn't come up to our expectations........the young lady "memorised" our order but that meant that we ended up missing a side order, we pointed it out and were told it was just coming, but clearly had been forgotten - everything else was either going to be cold or eaten when we received them, altho they did knock them off the bill for the disappointment. The only other thing is this issue of serving food on wooden boards. Both my Hubbies fish and chips and my steak came on one with clearly visible knife marks from previous users. Not sure......don't like it but it doesn't feel right.

Eton mess was a huge disappointment. Ice cream and white chocolate sticks and flakes.....no!!

The lovely hot big fat chips are the best in Cheshire IMO, the decor is beautiful and the surrounding views pleasant whilst having your meal. But we just came away not really wanting to rush back, altho I am sure we will go sometime.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A really lovely experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have only recently discovered The Badger and we are very pleased that we have! We have visited twice in the past month and have been delighted by the service, the menu and the surroundings. The Badger has been very tastefully refurbished and the setting alongside the church is really picturesque.

The menu had changed between visits, but we all enjoyed our meals on both occasions. The staff are extremely pleasant and the service is excellent. The food was delicious too!

We will definitely be returning and have recommended it to several people.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Staying in the area for a few days and came across this fab pub by chance. Had a lovely meal there, friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. Good food and drink at a reasonable price. Worth a visit for sure!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Badger Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Badger Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Badger Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.