We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High hopes fading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dusty Miller

The Dusty Miller
Cholmondeley Road | Wrenbury, Nantwich CW5 8HG, England
(01270) 780537
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 94 Restaurants in Nantwich
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“High hopes fading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

As a local I had high hopes for this excellent canal side pub.We have eaten here a number of times and had both good and bad experiences.Our latest visit combined both in that my wife`s meal was excellent and mine much less so.We took advantage of a travelzoo offer two courses for two plus a glass of fizz for £29.I am sorry to say that the same offer at the Yew Tree Bunbury gave us a vastly superior experience.My Mussels were at best OK and the Steak which cost £3 extra was only average and served with chips which had been cooked in either poor oil or oil which was not hot enough, either way they were very greasy!My wife`s smoked salmon starter and duck main were very good.
I really don`t want to be negative but you have to tell it how it is!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    55
    28
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I went here in September last year and was very impressed with the pub itself. It looks like it had been recently refurbished and had a good balcony and seating right on the canal.
This would be a particularly great place to go in the summer.

The food was just above average - I ordered the Pork Medallions (actually just a couple of pork chops), which were ok but no better than how I would have cooked them.

The interior, exterior and location suggests it would be more fine dining than pub grub, so it fell just a little short. If the food went up a notch, this place would be superb.

Overall a lovely pub in a great location, serving decent pub grub.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food in very pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We (4 of us) ate there early on a Sunday evening, having had a recommendation from a friend. The pub itself is situated about 10 miles outside nantwich,next to a canal and I'm sure if the weathers nice, it would be a great place to sit and enjoy a drink and a meal, we sat inside and it has a very nice homely feel, with sofas and an open fire, we had 4 different mains and I can honestly say that all the food looked good and tasted good. The service was crisp but it was very very quiet so I can't state what it would be like full up. 4 meals and 8 drinks came to about £75 all in all a good value pleasurable experience, better than your average pub . Its also dog friendly if that's important to you..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pay a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just passing whilst on a walk and dropped in for a drink and some food, nicely modernised pub that is a great eating place, selection of real ales and good range of food on the menu

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Better than a pub meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We visited the Dusty Miller on the recommendation of a friend. It was a quiet weeknight. The food was lovely but it's not pub prices. The drinks weren't on the cheap side either.

We'd definitely go back but for a treat rather than a weeknight pub dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dusty Miller also viewed

Nantwich, Cheshire
Nantwich, Cheshire
 

Been to The Dusty Miller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dusty Miller, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.