We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have liked to stay longer.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Primrose Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nantwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Primrose Cottage B&B
Save
You added Primrose Cottage B&B to your Saves list
Wades Green | Church Minshull, Nantwich CW5 6DX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Nantwich B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would have liked to stay longer.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

VERY good value for money. Excellent service, nothing a bother. Warm, welcoming, friendly and relaxed proprietors. Felt like home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
30
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
WORCESTER UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Have stayed at Primrose Cottage on many occations and count myself fortunate I found it.
Set in lovely rolling green countryside Ruth and Steve ,theowners, couldn`t be more friendly and helpfull.The breakfasts are always excellent and meticulously prepared.The rooms are thoughtfully furnished and spotlessly clean with fresh flowers too.I really can`t see how they could make it any better.If you are looking for a relaxed memorable stay in cheshire you won`t better Primrose cottage of that i`m sure !
M ROBERTS

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

After 2 weeks of vacation in Greece, our last 3 nights were at Primrose Cottage, which we had found by chance via the internet. The reviews were so positive that we felt very comfortable with our decision and looked forward to our stay with much anticipation.

Those reviews, as well as our own, cannot do true justice to the unbelievable hospitality and graciousness of Primrose's proprietors, Steven & Ruth. They were so friendly and helpful and made us feel very much at home. It was very relaxing and the best night's sleep we experienced during our whole vacation.

The room we booked was The Country Room which was impeccably and tastefully decorated with fresh flowers and a welcome tray of teas, coffees and biscuits that were replenished each day. Additionally, there was a wide variety of books and DVDs in the common area at our disposal.

Upon our check-in, we had informed Steven that we were not big eaters and would probably not partake in breakfast. However, upon awaking the next morning to the most incredible aroma of fresh bacon, all that went out the window and we defy anyone to pass up the most amazing breakfast, which included wonderful after-breakfast chats with our hosts.

Unfortunately our last day at Primrose was unexpectedly cut short by a pesky volcano with a name that no one can pronounce. As we were scheduled on flights the next morning and had to get to London, we found ourselves in a Mission Critical situation. While we were on the internet looking for transport to London, Ruth and Steven once again put themselves at our disposal, which included assisting us with finding transport and a hotel in London and inviting my parents, who live nearby, in for tea while we scrambled for reservations. They truly went above and beyond and for that we were most grateful and appreciative.

During our short stay, we did nothing but continually shake our heads in amazement at this beautiful cottage and its wonderful owners. We would highly recommend that anyone planning a visit to the Nantwich area to not miss a wonderful experience in staying at Primrose Cottage. In our doing so, we not only enjoyed our stay at the most charming B&B but also found 2 new wonderful friends in Steven and Ruth. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed 2 nights with Ruth and Steven at their beautiful home. We had a wonderful stay in the Primrose bedroom which was lovely, the bed was comfortable and the hospitality tray a real delight with lots of choice of teas etc and a lovely biscuit barrel. Breakfast was heavenly with the freshest eggs ever and cooked just the way you like them and presented beautifully. The choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yoghurts was also amazing spoilt for choice. I even indulged in Steven's homemade fruit loaf which he made espcially and it was divine. Once you have had their breakfast there is no need for lunch. I loved that Ruth and Steven joined you in the dining room after ou have eaten for a catch up, great to get tips on where to go and how to get there. We also met the lovely greyhounds who are so well behaved.

I would recommend this B&B to everyone, whatever the need, so much better than a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We were attending a wedding at Rookery Hall and Primrose Cottage was listed among the recommended places to stay. Steven and Ruth could not have been more helpful and we would echo all the positives that have been expressed. If we are in this part of Cheshire in the future we would definitely go back, and would certainly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

Primrose Cottage is ideally situated for regular visits to our family who live in Winsford. We always receive such a friendly welcome from Steve and Ruth and we breath a sigh of relief everytime we pull onto their drive. 'Our' room is so pretty and welcoming with special little touches like fresh flowers, biscuits and chocolates. They always make sure that the heating is on when the weather is cold even though we know Steve doesn't feel the cold! The bed linen is always beautifully laundered and the bed is really comfortable. The bathroom facilities are excellent too, again with little extra's for our comfort. Breakfast is a delight and scrambled eggs and smoked salmon come as a norm when asked for, which I did as a joke the first time, We are sent on our way with goodies for the trip after enjoying their company and good conversation after breakfast when they join us to catch up with the gossip. Lovely people with a winning formua, long may they continue!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

What a wonderful place to stay in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. Steven and Ruth are perfect hosts and strive hard to ensure that every guest goes away happy and well satisfied. The whole cottage is spotlessly clean and the bedrooms are well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, goodies and fresh flowers. Lucky guests may get to taste Steven's wonderful fruit cake or banana loaf. The breakfasts are fabulous. One only has to study the guest book to see how many guests return again and again. It's like heaven with laughter!

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Primrose Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Cottage B&B

Address: Wades Green | Church Minshull, Nantwich CW5 6DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Nantwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Nantwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Primrose Cottage B&B is located in the pretty village of Church Minshull in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. Boutique bed and breakfast accommodation with extensive breakfast choice & 3 beautiful rooms (2 double & one twin). Relax in our heated conservatory with free wifi throughout the Cottage. Refreshment facilities, hairdryer, TV/DVD player & radio in all rooms.Close to Oulton Park, South View Equestrian Centre,Rookery Hall, Alvaston Hall & Tatton Park.A WARM WELCOME GUARANTEED. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Primrose Cottage B&B Nantwich, Cheshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primrose Cottage B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.