We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandhurst Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sandhurst Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sandhurst Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9EU , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Middlewich
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here for a week on business and had a good time. Cosy rooms, friendly staff, pleasant ambience in the restaurant. The hotel proprietors went all those extra miles to ensure that my stay was hassle free. Thanks Steve, Neil and Rowena for making my stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    21
    14
    13
    8
See reviews for
23
70
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here just one night attending a family party at a nearby supposedly grander pile. Chosen on previous reviews instead of stopping at the grand pile and not disappointed. The Edwardian period theme throughout and friendly family welcome makes this establishment stand out from the bland chain hotels round about. Good sized bedroom very clean with period decor and furniture and modern bathroom with themed props. Bed pan in the cupboard if you want the full experience but we used the loo. Warm and cosy throughout and fantastic Edwardian dining room for a substantial breakfast. Attractive garden on the Edwardian theme on view from the dining room. Missed having dinner here as we were elsewhere but I bet it is as good as the rest. Great value and strongly recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had our wedding ceremony and reception here on 19.10.13. From the 1st visit to view the venue, we knew that this was going to be the place. We were greeted by Rowena the owner, and had our chat in the cosy bar area with the roaring fire. Rowena was extremely helpful & what attracted us further was how she wanted to listen to what we wanted on our day. There were no typical packages to choose from & that’s what we loved. Anyway, after being shown round this Edwardian Hotel & Restaurant, full of warmth & character & friendly staff, all in Edwardian costume, it was a no brainer. Especially for the kind of wedding we were planning, small & intimate (if you can call 30 in the day, and an extra 30 in the evening as small!) - it was perfect. We even got to choose the menu on the day, and we opted for a multiple choice so that our guests could choose.
So, this leads us to the food – WOW!! The food was absolutely delicious. (We had eaten here previously on a Sunday (the Sunday roasts – very recommended!), so we knew our guests were in for a treat. It not only made our day when the guests complimented the food – but it was a pleasure for us to report back to Rowena the very same day just to tell her how much our guests enjoyed their 3 course meals. One guest had asked for the gravy recipe!! But apparently its top secret!
To put it in a nutshell, from the 1st moment of meeting Rowena & her husband Steve, we knew we were going to be looked after from start to finish. I in particular, being the naturally ‘anxious & worried Bride to Be’, felt calm & relaxed after each conversation with her as she was so re-assuring & caring. And this was proved on the day.
The bedroom we were allocated was the very large front room containing a four poster bed, TV, tea & coffee facilities & a huge bathroom with bath & shower. We were shown the other rooms, all in Edwardian character and each room was different. They were lovely. We were made a full English the following morning, tea, coffee, fresh juice – was delicious.
We would most definitely recommend The Sandhurst Hotel for a number of reasons. Definitely for a wedding venue for that personal touch, to be looked after from start to finish, for the quality of the food & for a day that you and your guests are going to remember for a very long time. And just to simply to call in for a meal to experience the quality, the portions & the atmosphere. We are yet to experience one of their regular themed nights but we have no doubt it’ll be disappointing at all. Overall, The Sandhurst Hotel & its staff, threw us an amazing wedding day that we’ll never ever forget – and isn’t that how it’s supposed to be? We can’t wait to call back in for a drink just to see the friendly faces. Thank you Rowena, Steve and all the team at The Sandhurst Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Murder mystery wedding. I came up from Cambridgeshire for my cousin matts wedding with an Edwardian murder mystery theme. Skeptical I was but the owner greeted us with open arms into her beautiful home for the lovely wedding ceremony. She was very complementary of all our outfits but please do have a sense of humour and do not take yourself too seriously!! Great garden for wedding pictures and lighting inside for high tea and speeches was great. Murder mystery was FANTASTIC!! Real actors brought a an authentic feel. Over all you feel like you are in someone's home (you are) relax into it and smile. Staff were lovely. Northern charm. Thank you ladies. Will be seeing you soon! Sarah :) xxx

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I found this restaurant on google and then on tripadvisor, after reading several reviews I thought this restaurant would be ok for us to meet our friends who live in Tamworth, we live in North Wales so this is fairly in the middle. I looked at the Sunday lunch menu which looked ok it was priced at, £9.95p. I emailed a link to Hudsons to our friends and they said yes we should give it a try.
I emailed the hotel to make a booking in August for Sunday lunch for 4 people on Sept 15th. At 1pm. My email was replied accepting our booking.
We duly arrived at the hotel at 12 noon our friends about 10 past thinking that we could have a drink and a catch up before going in for lunch our. So far so good. Drinks duly ordered and served about 5 minutes later in came a lady in a frock which suited the aura of the establishment, ooh you are early, I was in my bath....she said, we looked at each other a little aghast. She then walked over to a Chesterfield settee where her hanbag had been left over night picked it up with her mobile phone which was being charged saying that these should have been picked up earlier! After telling us she had been on holiday to Cyprus and that she does all the ordering of the wines etc. and payng the wages while she is away (do we need to know this) she said,I will go and get you the menus, out she went and returned with four copies of the menu telling us two men that the soup of the day was Mushroom handing us each a copy. She then went over to the Chesterfield where our two ladies were deep in conversation... She was hovering over them, then when one of our ladies finaly looked up she said the soup is Mushroom and gave them a menu each. Out she went. Well we were aghast at her manner, more so when our friend looked at the menu and said, I thought it was £9.95p its got £11.95p on this menu, my wife said yes it says £9.95 on the board outside too. By now we were not very happy, when the lady came back in the bar to see if we were ready to order it was only 12.20 table not booked till 1.00 I asked if she could give us a while, she said well I have a large party of 10 coming in at 1.00pm. We then mentioned the price difference to the one that was on the web site when I made the booking and also on the board outside. She said oh yes the price of the beef has gone up, we said that when we booked and also on the board outside it clearly stated £9.95p. Yes but things have gone up its £11.95p. But if you want it for £9.95 I can put less on the plate or you can pay £11.95 and have a plate full or you do not have to stay here. We asked her to give us a while to make a decision. I knew my wife would not enjoy eating here now after her attitude. Our friend said that it's the principle we booked at one price now its increased by 20%. We called the lady in and said could we pay for the drinks we have decided to go elsewhere. She looked a little surprised but said that was our perogative. We paid the bar bill and left never to return...

Room Tip: Watch out for the lady of the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesandhursthotel, Owner at The Sandhurst Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Our Restaurant opens at 12 o'clock on Sundays and the table reservation was for 1pm along with a large party booked for the same time as a send off for a young gentlement going off to Afghanistan. The reviewer arrived at 11.30am despite the reservation being for 1pm but we still opened our doors and welcomed them in. We pride ourselves on being open and friendly and very family orientated and conversation flowed freely on arrival.

We acknowledge an error was made regarding the pricing and for this we apologise and the issue has been rectified.

There are always two sides to every story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We would like to express our thanks to Rowena , Neil and all the staff for making our wedding day so special . We were looking for a venue that was unique and personal for the day and we would recommend anyone considering wedding venues to consider this one .
The food on the day was exceptional , we had an opportunity to choose a bespoke menu for the day , and the service we got was outstanding from first contact through to an excellent breakfast the following day .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Unusual stay at the Sandhurst. I think she was the Landlady we saw when we arrived, she did not introduce herself, I had an accident and wasn't very mobile, she took a huff when my husband asked could we stay on one of the lower floors as there was no lift, she made a comment about guests being booked into rooms in order of ailments. This is a bed and breakfast stay nothing special really other than it has old antique furniture, the lady seemed dis-organised and stressed, she was in the kitchen, then the hall seemed to be everywhere really. Could do with a visit from Gordon Ramsey, to put her in order to delegate to her staff instead of thinking she can do it all herself. The staff who worked for her were very pleasant approachable, and very friendly they all seemed relaxed, especially the young girl who showed us to our room. Room was clean, bed very old fashioned but I suppose that is the style of this B&B. Would not stay again but it was an experience.

Room Tip: Bedrooms in the front are noisy and no privacy as it is on a main road, had to close the curtains in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sandhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandhurst Hotel

Address: 69 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9EU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Middlewich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandhurst Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Sandhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel Middlewich
The Sandhurst Hotel Middlewich, Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandhurst Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.