We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Magical Wedding Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandhurst

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Sandhurst to your Saves list
The Sandhurst
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9EU , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middlewich
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Our Magical Wedding Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We would like to express our thanks to Rowena , Neil and all the staff for making our wedding day so special . We were looking for a venue that was unique and personal for the day and we would recommend anyone considering wedding venues to consider this one .
The food on the day was exceptional , we had an opportunity to choose a bespoke menu for the day , and the service we got was outstanding from first contact through to an excellent breakfast the following day .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    23
    15
    18
    13
See reviews for
28
79
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Unusual stay at the Sandhurst. I think she was the Landlady we saw when we arrived, she did not introduce herself, I had an accident and wasn't very mobile, she took a huff when my husband asked could we stay on one of the lower floors as there was no lift, she made a comment about guests being booked into rooms in order of ailments. This is a bed and breakfast stay nothing special really other than it has old antique furniture, the lady seemed dis-organised and stressed, she was in the kitchen, then the hall seemed to be everywhere really. Could do with a visit from Gordon Ramsey, to put her in order to delegate to her staff instead of thinking she can do it all herself. The staff who worked for her were very pleasant approachable, and very friendly they all seemed relaxed, especially the young girl who showed us to our room. Room was clean, bed very old fashioned but I suppose that is the style of this B&B. Would not stay again but it was an experience.

Room Tip: Bedrooms in the front are noisy and no privacy as it is on a main road, had to close the curtains in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When we entered the hotel, we knew it was going to be a bit special. The foyer 'dressed' with Edwardian props was just a taster of our four night stay at the Sandhurst. Our room was very comfortable and the en suite facilities were excellent. Saturday night dinner continued the Edwardian theme with our host wearing a beatiful dress that wouldn't have been out of place at Downton Abbey. All of the staff were dressed in costume of the era and the waitresses impressed us with their impeccable style and even a courtesy. Our meals were of the highest qualty, our compliments to the chef and his team for excellence. Breakfast, while not in theme, was served efficiently in the main dining room and was up to the same standard as our meal the night before. Overall we would recommend The Sandhurst to any visitor to Cheshire.

Room Tip: Apparenty the rooms at the front of the building can suffer with traffic noise. Ours overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just had two nights at this hotel and found it to be both friendly and welcoming.It has an excellent choice for breakfast and also the evening meal is either al a carte or set menu all of which are delicious.The hotel is themed in the Edwardian age and at dinner all staff including the owner are wearing Edwardian clothes. All in all it is a lovely place to stay and if we are in the area again we have no hesitation in staying again .
Many thanks for a lovely couple of days Roy and Charlotte jones

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had an excellent stay in this beautiful Edwardian building. Very friendly service and immaculate rooms with great attention to detail. Our stay for one night was extremely comfortable and breakfast the next morning was delicious and served with a smile. We thought it was exceptional value for money and will definitely be revisiting it when in the area. A great stay which we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This small family run hotel has an Edwardian theme. Our room had a dressing table made from an old washstand, and the toilet roll holder was an old washing dolly. Service was excellent - with waiting staff dressed in period costume. The restaurant gets booked up especially at weekends so you need to book early if you want to eat there; you may even get lucky and here the owner Rowena singing on the Karaoke!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the back - the A54 is very busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Small Victorian style hotel, the staff are very helpful and friendly, excellent full English breakfast included in the price, the rooms are exceptionally clean and spacious and tastefully decorated. There is a small bar and a large garden, excellent value

Room Tip: Top floor is in the eaves of the hotel so don't forget to 'duck'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sandhurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandhurst

Address: 69 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9EU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Middlewich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandhurst 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Sandhurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel Middlewich
The Sandhurst Middlewich, Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandhurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.