We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandhurst Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sandhurst Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sandhurst Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9EU , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Middlewich
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A delightful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

When we entered the hotel, we knew it was going to be a bit special. The foyer 'dressed' with Edwardian props was just a taster of our four night stay at the Sandhurst. Our room was very comfortable and the en suite facilities were excellent. Saturday night dinner continued the Edwardian theme with our host wearing a beatiful dress that wouldn't have been out of place at Downton Abbey. All of the staff were dressed in costume of the era and the waitresses impressed us with their impeccable style and even a courtesy. Our meals were of the highest qualty, our compliments to the chef and his team for excellence. Breakfast, while not in theme, was served efficiently in the main dining room and was up to the same standard as our meal the night before. Overall we would recommend The Sandhurst to any visitor to Cheshire.

Room Tip: Apparenty the rooms at the front of the building can suffer with traffic noise. Ours overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    21
    14
    13
    8
See reviews for
23
70
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just had two nights at this hotel and found it to be both friendly and welcoming.It has an excellent choice for breakfast and also the evening meal is either al a carte or set menu all of which are delicious.The hotel is themed in the Edwardian age and at dinner all staff including the owner are wearing Edwardian clothes. All in all it is a lovely place to stay and if we are in the area again we have no hesitation in staying again .
Many thanks for a lovely couple of days Roy and Charlotte jones

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had an excellent stay in this beautiful Edwardian building. Very friendly service and immaculate rooms with great attention to detail. Our stay for one night was extremely comfortable and breakfast the next morning was delicious and served with a smile. We thought it was exceptional value for money and will definitely be revisiting it when in the area. A great stay which we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This small family run hotel has an Edwardian theme. Our room had a dressing table made from an old washstand, and the toilet roll holder was an old washing dolly. Service was excellent - with waiting staff dressed in period costume. The restaurant gets booked up especially at weekends so you need to book early if you want to eat there; you may even get lucky and here the owner Rowena singing on the Karaoke!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the back - the A54 is very busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Small Victorian style hotel, the staff are very helpful and friendly, excellent full English breakfast included in the price, the rooms are exceptionally clean and spacious and tastefully decorated. There is a small bar and a large garden, excellent value

Room Tip: Top floor is in the eaves of the hotel so don't forget to 'duck'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were treated to an evening here by my daughter and enjoyed every aspect of it.
We arrived 30 mins early and it was open but no sign of anybody, we killed the time by having a drink in a hotel down the road. When we returned at our designated time we got a friendly greeting and made to feel comfortable in our surroundings immediately.
There was a set menu in place for the evening with good selection of courses and everything we cooked to perfection to my taste buds. Wine list was compact but populated by reasonable wines at reasonable prices. The waiting on staff were very pleasant and unobtrusively attentive, full marks to the them. We couldn't stay over as hotel was fully booked which must reflect its popularity. A nice touch was the entertainment laid on by way of an accomplished performance by a singer from the area. Only negative was I thought £7 for a pint of bitter and a bottle of soda water was a tad high as we had paid £4 for the same round in the previous hotel but for that I'd have given it a full rating. I wouldn't let that stop me going back as they have a comprehensive entertainment schedule through out the year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our 4 night stay at this hotel. Only had to ask for something once (water with breakfast) and it was there every day. No lime? They went out and bought some. The place is thoughtfully furnished and decorated and the service is absolutely excellent in a down to earth, friendly way. Food is pretty good too. We were allocated room 1 which is a very good size and is at the front of the property. It did mean, however, that it was quite noisy if we had the window open. My only criticism is that the bed was very, very creaky and, as a restless sleeper, a bit of a nightmare. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are likely to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sandhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandhurst Hotel

Address: 69 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9EU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Middlewich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sandhurst Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Sandhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel Middlewich
The Sandhurst Hotel Middlewich, Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandhurst Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.