We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ginger

Blue Ginger
51 Wheelock Street, Middlewich, England
01606 737579
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 18 Restaurants in Middlewich
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Middlewich
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We go here quite often and I have say the service is excellent. Always pleased to see you and they can't do enough to make sure everything is delivered with a smile. The menu is very comprehensive and cooked fresh to a very high quality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Every time....the food is top quality...!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Can't believe there is not more reviews about this place,,,,the staff are great...the place could be improved in décor...(..Own taste)...but the food....I have had Indian meals....in many, many places...and the food in here, is up there with any that I have had before.....Great Food...!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Good curry, fair price and buzzy atmosphere and a complimentary drink at the end of our meal was a nice touch

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“In a crowded market a Curry house that actually offers something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

There is certainly no shortage of Indian Restaurants around us in the North West of England. We have our favourites of course but, sometimes on a Friday we try and find somewhere new to try out. With a lot of the restaurants we try it is hard to understand how they remain in business. Maybe they rely on the young male weekend drinker who perhaps is not too fussy in the time after the pubs chuck out. The Blue Ginger is the opposite of that type of establishment. I found them on the internet while looking for a new restaurant to visit with the family. A slight annoyance was that their web site did not have a menu. Perhaps they guess that most people already know what they will order and therefore one is not required?
We arrived as a family on a Friday evening. There was plenty of free parking on the street where the restaurant is located so we could almost park outside. We stated on a table in the window after we ordered the staff thought it might be better to move to a bigger table in order to cope with all the food. We have a growing 12 year old who needs to eat twice the recommended daily intake for an adult male at each meal. We had the ubiquitous popodoms with chutney tray to start. From the start there was something a little different about this restaurant. The chutneys were on the normal theme but each has a little twist making it a new experience. So I ordered the Tandoori mixed grill with a garlic and chilli naan. Our 2 year old had his staple of Bombay potatoes with Pillau rice and honey bread (That's a Peshwari naan to everyone else). Our number 1 son and constant grazer also had the mixed grill, rice, naan bread, chickpea dish............. Add to that one chicken tika Massala and we were off. Once of the problems with Indian food is that you can have a sort of out of focus approximation if you do not spend time on the freshness of your spices or over cook everything. The flavours in each dish at this restaurant tasted freshly prepared and extremely aromatic and tasty. The Chilli naan was a really well cooked bread you could see and taste the fresh chilli but the bread was not doughy in the slightest. The meat was good quality. The staff were professional, attentive and were interested to chat but not too much so as they did not intrude on our meal. Our 2 year old likes to see his food being cooked so he was shown the kitchen which was very exciting for him. The Chef asked if he liked anything on the menu and he cheekily laughed and said “No” having just eaten everything on his plate and most of the "red" chicken he could steal from anyone else.
So in summary the second best curry house we have found so far in Cheshire in almost 10 years of living "up north". The staff actually make you feel that you are a valuable customer from the second you walk in. This is certainly worth a visit if you fancy a change from your normal Indian restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ginger also viewed

 
Middlewich, Cheshire
Middlewich, Cheshire
 

Been to Blue Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.