We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hudsons Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hudsons Restaurant
69 Chester Road, Middlewich CW10 9EU, England
01606 834125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in Middlewich
Price range: $55 - $78
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pull up at Middlewich’s Sandhurst Hotel, home of Hudson’s Restaurant, and you could be mistaken for thinking you’ve been invited to a middle class dinner party. With little signage, no neon lights and the very pleasant facade of an Edwardian family home, this is a million miles from your average hotel or restaurant. Inside the homely feel continues with plush carpeting and curtains, Chesterfield sofas in the bar and not-too-ostentatious chandeliers overhead. Only the Edwardian costumed waiting staff give the game away. The menu continues the ruse, true British ingredients make up hearty meals, but the dishes have something of an edge over your average suburban dinner party.
Plumley
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Went to Hudsons last night on a travelzoo voucher. Excellent value. The service was impeccable lovely tables in a nice old fashioned setting. We had the five course sharing platter of Roast Belly Pork which was lovely except the vegetables could have been nicer they were all hard The desserts of Creme Brule and crumble were fantastic

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    9
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Travel zoo deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went to Hudsons @ the Sandhurst on a Travel Zoo deal.
What an amazing place and you are treated like one of the family. We had a sharing platter, which was nicely cooked and lots of it ( you will never leave hungry )
The owner was in Edwardian costume. Our waiter for the evening was also in Edwardian attire and was the perfect gentleman, serving each course perfectly and bowing before leaving our table.
If you can get to Hudsons then you are in for a treat.
10/10 for service, good food, cleanliness and of course sheer quirkiness!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely Evening - will return again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a lovely evening - great setting and excellent food. A hidden gem in Cheshire. The staff were very friendly and the owner most attentive. We'd recommend Hudsons Restaurant to anyone but especially if you want to experience really good food in an unusual setting

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Supberb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I visited this place on Saturday evening on a travel zoo voucher. What a fantastic place!! From the moment you walk through the door it was like we'd been transported back in time. The service and food were exemplary & we will definitely be dining there again. We thoroughly recommend you dine at Hudsons.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Simplye something special!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

When I find something this special, I feel inclined to keep it to myself! :) We took the Travelzoo offer and feel sorry that we haven't made a visit here before now, given that we are local and it has been here for 7 years!! What a find... lovely welcome, excellent menu, stunning food and the atmosphere was warm and enjoyable. Linen tablecloths, candelabra and silverware, together with mop capped waitresses just add to the ambience. Not a spare seat this Saturday and given the quality of the food, I'm not surprised. The whole 'Edwardian' theme is charming, the staff playing their part, you are transported to a time when dining was a real social event. Can't wait to book our next visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudsons Restaurant also viewed

Middlewich, Cheshire
 
Middlewich, Cheshire
Middlewich, Cheshire
 

Been to Hudsons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudsons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.