We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Hopley House.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hopley House to your Saves list
Hopley House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Wimboldsley, Middlewich CW10 0LN, England (Formerly The Harvest Store)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Middlewich B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Hopley House.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed at Hopley house for 2 nights when attending a mtb race meeting nearby. The owners are incredibly hospitable and help in every way possible! I'm always nervous when travelling with my bike, but the owners were very kind and let me lock up my bike in one of their big ex-chicken sheds. Nothing was too much trouble.

Breakfast was cooked at whatever time you needed it and the fried breakfast was incredible (quite possibly the biggest sausage I have ever eaten!). There is also juices, cereals, tea, coffee and yoghurt if you're not a cooked breakfast fan.

I stayed in one of the small upstairs single rooms, and it was very comfortable. The skylights in the room were nice for peering up at the sky at night whilst I was dropping off to sleep, and I had 2 very good nights sleep. It was quiet and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was good.

If I'm back up near Middlewich again, I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
13
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here as it was only 10 miles/20 minutes from Jodrell Bank, where we going to for a concert. The room and bathroom were spotless, the facilities as good as you can expect from a B&B (I mean that in a good way) and the staff very friendly. Breakfast is cooked to order, with a full English available or cereals and yogurt.

The B&B itself is in a separate building to the family home so it's not *too* homely, where you're worried about making too much noise.

Great value for money.

Room Tip: Room 1 has an ensuite. Room 2 has a separate bathroom but it's just for your own use so not real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

exceptional B&B with seperate building from the owners house - the owner was very helpful when we were very late checking in due to work delays. Nice bedrooms but bathroom fittings esp shower might benefit from updating. We couldn't connect to the WiFi - possibly weak signal in our room. Really good breakfast, and served a bit later by request. Couldn't really fault it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Lovely welcome, spotlessly clean bedroom and bathroom and a freshly cooked breakfast. What more could you ask from a B&B. First Class.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed here as a stopover on a cycle ride. Rooms were v clean and comfy. Owners very nice and happy to run us down to the local pub for evening meal. Breakfast excellant , cooked to order and really set us up for the day. Bikes securely locked away. Rooms were a little cold to start (untill heating came on) but we should have just said something and I have no doubt that they would have adjusted it for us. I got the impression nothig would have been too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed for one night, breaking my journey down the M6 (10 minutes or so away), and was astonished at the quality of the place considering the price I paid. My room was spotless, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the shower-room extremely well fitted out. But the absolute highlight had to be the breakfast. WOW! Compared to the tepid buffet you get at the chains, the fresh-out-of-the-pan fry up that you get here is just wonderful. Honestly, it's was probably the best breakfast I've ever had, just fantastic. The family who run the place are very friendly, I hope I'll be able to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Yep agree with all the other reviews very good value for money and nice breakfast in the morning

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hopley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopley House

Address: Wimboldsley, Middlewich CW10 0LN, England (Formerly The Harvest Store)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Middlewich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Middlewich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hopley House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cheshire, this 200 year old barn conversion has been lovingly restored into bed and breakfast accommodation. Hearty cooked breakfasts are served from 7am to 8.30Am Monday to Friday and as requested at weekend, serving fresh local produce. We now have a Sliver Award for our Visit Britain 3 star B&B. Hopley House has rapidly gained a reputation for its service, quality produce and a welcoming, relaxed atmosphere. We have 7 rooms on the first floor and 4 rooms on the ground floor, each with its own bathroom, a flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and tea/coffee making facilities. We are just 2 miles south of Middlewich and 8 miles north of Nantwich on the A530 with plenty of parking space. In Cheshire we have Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, Jodrell Bank, Stately Homes and lots of other things to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hopley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hopley House Middlewich, Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.