We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“socialising” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dilshad

Dilshad
140 Wilmslow Road, Handforth, England
01625 535888
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Handforth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“socialising”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

good food well presented attentive staff pleasant staff good atmosphere I would recommend a visit ..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    14
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“BEST INDIAN EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This place gets better & better. My wife and i come most Saturdays and have never had a bad meal ever. They are bunch of very nice guys and serve the best Indian food around. Mike is the nicest waiter ever and they all make such a fuss of my daughter. Can't recommend the Dilshad enough, there nothing too much trouble for them and the Menu is only a suggestion as they will make you anything. Keep up the very high standards boys.

John Cavanagh Dec 2013 10/10

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The best Indian this side of Bombay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The resraurant is clean and welcoming. The staff are polite, attentive but not pushy. The prices are good (especially on a Tuesday - £9.95 for 4 courses - you MUST book). The food - what can I say. Absolutely superb. They don't try to be too "contemporary" - the downfall of many a restaurant. The tastes I experienced the first time I visited the Dilshad took me back to the days when Rusholme's curry mile was the place to visit (sadly, no longer). The papadoms were WARM and crisp; the onion chutney did NOT come out of a jar. The starters were a meal in themselves. The mains were a sheer delight and still are. I drive a 50 mile round trip to visit the Dilshad. Worth every mile.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmslow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful , very reasonable too. Go there !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Honestly this is the best I have been to. Their takeaways save my life after a busy shift at the hospital . Excellent , old fashioned courtesy . Delicious and plentiful food . Vindaloo recommended , spicy but not mental hot . Tandoori Chicken lovely .

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have visited this restaurant several times over the last 5 years. Every time has been pleasant, with great food. I would go so far as to say it is the best Indian food in the area, where there are several such restaurants. The staff are friendly, it is very clean, and the food is of a very high standard.

The toilets are small, but clean. There is parking outside. And, there is a £10 deal on a Tuesday that is hard to beat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dilshad also viewed

Handforth, Cheshire
 

Been to Dilshad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dilshad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.