We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby chic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Save Saved
You added Hallmark Hotel Manchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stanley Road, Handforth SK9 3LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Handforth
bradford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Shabby chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights on arrival at the hotel it looked nice its in a great location opposite a 2 for £10 pub in quite a rural location ,the bar and restaurant very nice but a bit expensive ,the room is a nice size and very stylish big tv and a big bed .The problem with the hotel is it looks very chic but has all been done shabbly eg doors dont fit windows are old and the back of the hotel looks awful ,but despite this we had a good time and would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, September 24, 2009
Thank you for you kind comments regarding the hotel. I was pleased you enjoyed your visit with us.The hotel did undergo a complete 5 million pound refurbishment in the last 12 months which we felt was done to a high standard. As we are an evnviormentally aware company we took best advice from our design company who advised the door frames and windows did not require replacing, I am sorry if you felt this affected the quality of your stay, and it will be something we will bear in mind for future works in the hotel. I hope we will welcome you back in the future.
Linda Gregory - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    189
    122
    59
    37
See reviews for
71
250
23
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

I held my wedding at this hotel in early August and it was amazing.

From helping me plan the wedding with the co-ordinator Beverley to organising a special menu for all my dietary needs, all the staff could not of been more helpful.

On the actual wedding day everything ran smoothly as i was given a dedicated manager to oversee everything. The food served for the wedding breakfast and the evening buffet was outstanding and many of my guests commenting on this. The children's meals were enough for an adult and were thrown in free of charge !

We booked out over 30 rooms and nobody had any complaints to make. The rooms are newly refurbished and very stylish.

Overall the hotel could not have done more to make it a special day.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, September 3, 2009
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent wedding celebration with us. I was delighted we assisted you in having a day to remember! Your comments have been passed to Beverly and the remainder of the team and a big thank you given to them all. One of Hallmark hotels main objectives is to provide a high level of customer care and the comments you have kindly provided has clearly proved we are being succesful with this. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibford Gower, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Stayed at The Hallmark on 15th August as a family function was taking place there. The hotel looked fabulous since the refurbishment, we stayed there when it was The Belfry and to say the hotel was hideous and dated was an understatement!
Check-in was pretty painless, although she didn't tell us what time breakfast was or where it would be served.
Our room was ok, very modern with a flat-screen TV. It was not very big though and we were a little disappointed after viewing the hotel on the net. The bathroom was tiny, and quite dark so it was difficult to put make-up on. There was also no shaver point anywhere in the room. Another member of our party called reception to ask for a two-point adaptor which they do not have.
It wasn't a particularly hot day but the room was very hot. There is no air-conditioning, at night we had 2 choices, sleep with the window closed and not be able to breathe or sleep with the window open and listen in the planes coming over all night. We chose the latter and were awoken constantly.
The barman in the function room was very good, although they only had Diet Coke and if we wanted full-fat Coke we had to wait until Wednesday! The girl on the late night bar could have made our experience a little better if she had at least attempted to crack a smile.
Breakfast was appalling. As usual it was buffet style, the lady in charge of seating was hideously over-efficient and rude. She couldn't even be bothered to show us to our table, just pointed in the direction she wanted us to go. She brought tea over and I had to go and search for milk and sugar. After a few minutes I asked her where it was. 'Is there none on the table?' Would I have been asking if there was. There were no scrambled eggs, no fried eggs and only one rasher of bacon when we arrived at the buffet, no yougurts, hardly any fruit and no bread for toast. The food that was there was luke-warm. When bread was brought out they only brought 1 loaf, nowhere near enough for the 8 people in the queue. When more hot food was eventually brought out guests had waited for so long that they were returning to tables with huge plates of scrambled eggs and bacon and 8 slices of toast dishing them out to others on their tables. I have had better breakfast at budget hotels.
Quite a disappointing stay, safe to say we will only be staying again if there is a family function there, I definitely wouldn't go out of my way to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Stayed over for a wedding and wasn't disappointed. Only downside was room - 428 was v warm despite window open and no radiators on. Was sunny but room was surprisingly hot. Decor nice and fresh still and breakfast v good

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We stayed there on the 7th August for one night prior to our flight to Spain early morning on the 8th Aug. We arrived there at about 3pm to a lovely summers day and a beautiful setting. We put our luggage in our room, the window was open at this point so we did not notice the heat at this point as it was a bit windy and cool. We went to the spa, which was quite dated and in need of a deep clean, with three members of staff at the front desk chatting and just giving towels out? We had an enjoyable meal, however the service was quite slow. We returned to our room for an early night as we had a 4am start to find that we had to close our window to block out the noise from the wedding reception in the room directly blow and outside the room. This blocked out some of the noise, but it was still quite noisy, and then the room became stifling due to no air conditioning, we later found out that none of the rooms have air conditioning so stayed there as our daughter was asleep and could not be bothered going to the fuss of moving rooms. On the plus side the decor of the hotel and restaurant was very nice, if a little too contemporary.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffs
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

NOISE NOISE NOISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Both nights had a wedding on and our room 310 overlooked the wedding ground and reception area. The disco was on until 1am and with warm weather all the doors were open and the noise was horrific, most guests used the garden and were very noisy. To be honest it would have been quieter staying on the runway at the airport a few miles up the road. I would never stay at this hotel, when paying £166 for a relaxing break and coming home feeling very tired!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

We stayed for a weekend early August. The first room we were shown too was so hot we couldn't breathe so we asked to be moved. We were moved to a ground floor room and no-one bothered to tell us that it was a room close to the area where wedding receptions were held and we would be blasted by music until one am both mornings and then the DJ would be loading his van right outside our window. We could have moved but because of the hot rooms decided to sit it out. Needless to say the hotel manager was unrepentant and we got a measly 25% discount on one nights stay. So I would say stay away!! If you are passing nearby go to the restaurant for the evening meal. The food was fab! Th spa is totally inaccessible and the treatments very basic.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hallmark Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Address: Stanley Road, Handforth SK9 3LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Handforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Handforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Manchester 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Manchester has recently completed a £5 million refurbishment programme. The hotel is now a very well presented boutique style venue offering modern accommodation and contemporary public areas including a stylish lounge bar & Brasserie serving good food at reasonable prices. There is a functional health club & spa which is free of charge to residents, complimentary internet access for all and plentiful free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Handforth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Hotel Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.