We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful start to our holiday” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Save Saved
You added Hallmark Hotel Manchester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Manchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stanley Road, Handforth SK9 3LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Handforth
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awful start to our holiday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday 29th June as we had an early morning flight from Manchester airport. We booked this hotel with Thomson park and fly arrangement. BIG MISTAKE!!!! The one and only reason we spent extra money on a hotel the night before our holiday was to get a sleep - we would've had more chance getting a sleep on the runway at the airport. This was clearly booked as a park and fly months prior to our stay yet still our room was above a party night arranged by the hotel 'double decade' which blasted out music until 1am in the morning - we had to be up at 2.30am for the airport - complete waste of money and we were so exhausted and irritated it really was a horrible start to our holiday. I did complain at the time, but was told no other room was available and I expressed my utter disbelief at putting an 'early morning flight family' in a room above a party night??? - unbelievable! I will fly from Manchester in the future but will avoid this hotel at all costs - others we met stayed at Bewleys Manchester Airport and had a very comfortable, restful sleep before the flight - just be aware!!

Room Tip: If you are booking this hotel as you have an early morning flight pleas check they do not have a par...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your reveiw. It was disapointing to read you did not enjoyr your stay with us as you were disturbed by other guests. I do offer my sincere aplogies that this was the case. We do our up most to allocate rooms away from function rooms if not attending an in house event however on occasion this will not always be possiable according to room type.

Once again my apologies your were disturbed

Kind Regards

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    235
    189
    122
    59
    37
See reviews for
71
250
23
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I booked this trip with Thomas Cook for 1 night which included airport parking at terminal 2. I paid £154 for this including evening meal. It was easy to find and on arrival we discovered that the parking included us driving to the airport rather than taxis at 6am. This is not the hotels fault but please check what you book as it is not clear at all. The receptionist explained it to us and helped by printing off my booking confirmation. It was a hot night so I was keen to go to the pool. The spa is the reason I booked this hotel. What a disappointment the facilities were. The gym looked huge and well equipped but the changing rooms for the pool were disgusting. They were dirty and old fashioned. I walked out of the toilet as there was wet loo roll all over the floor and seemed dirty. The pool is a good size and there was an outside area open. We were surrounded by women on spa days who were enjoying chilling in the sun. I looked to go outside and noticed the outside was covered in leaves and muck with no foot wash so all the dirt could be brought into the pool as nobody put footwear on, so we quickly changed our minds about going out. We had a quick swim then left and i didnt even get changed in the changing rooms they were so dirty. We then sat in the beautiful gardens for a drink which was lovely. The room itself was an ok size but the window was dirty and disgusting. We were at the back of the hotel so there was no noise from the birthday party ongoing but i asume for this reason the windows arent cleaned either. We pre paid for our meal. The restaurant was lovely but needs to be cut off from the function room. Children were running around constantly screaming causing a constant annoyance to the couples eating in the rstaurant. The service was excellent and the food amazing. The food made this hotel for me, because I found everything else disappointing, We had steak which was fab and really enjoyed our meal, it would have been perfect if the children at the birthday party had been controlled. The receptionist gave up her fan for us to take to the room, but it wasnt very beneficial. Overall i wouldnt rush to book this hotel again unless it has a refurb. It has the potential to be a great hotel but needs a good clean and update.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reveiw. It was great to read you enjoyed most elements of your stay and I do apologise for areas that you did not enjoy. I have taken your comments on board and will discuss with the relevant members of the team .

Kind Regards

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed on sat 20th jul for a couples luxury spa break. Spa facilities were filthy and staff were miserable. Our room on the fourth floor was roasting and we had no air con and there wasn't any fans available despite the barman having 2 blowing on him in lounge!! No mini bar so couldn't even grab a drink to cool down! Room and bathroom was so small!!
Our so called peaceful break away from our young children was cut short as we were kept awake by the unbelievably noisy wedding party that they hadn't told us about that were shouting till 3.30am. The room was so hot we couldn't get comfortable as only had 2 tiny windows to open which didn't do anything. In the end we checked out at 3.40am and drove back home to Birmingham to our own home so we could cool down and get a little sleep!! Wasted trip and definitely a waste of money. Travel lodge around the corner from home next time for £19 with air con and better rooms!!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME ON THIS MODERN FAWLTY TOWERS HOTEL!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,
My sincere apologies you did not enjoy your stay with us. It was a particularly hot evening that you stayed with the UK experiencing a heat wave and I am sorry that you found the heat uncomfortable.
It was unfortunate you were disturbed by other guests, however on occasion this is out of our control had we been made aware however we would have spoken to the other guests .
I do have to disagree with your other comments and do feel they are out of context, the rooms are a standard size bedroom with in the UK 4 star market and mini bars are not standard content in the majority of hotels. I do not feel the facilities are unclean . I do hope readers will take note of the numerous complimentary reviews posted on the hotel.

thank you


Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

looks nicer inside, the rooms are spaciousand clean- bar food was reasonable and tasty- spa treatements good with very pleasant staff but pool and gym and changing rooms could do with upgrade- some noise from airport heard so that might disturb light sleepers

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review . It was great to read you enjoyed your Spa break with us and thank you for your kind compliments which will be shared with the staff.

i do hope we will welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the future .

thank you

Linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last night and waiting for out taxi to the airport now. Lovely staff, really comfy beds, great value, although could do with an update. Certainly didn't spoil our stay !
Receptionist was lovely, beds so comfy despite having an excited nine year old she slept like a log! Would recommend !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your comments . It was great to read you enjoyed should a comfortable stay with us prior to your holiday . Thank you for your kind compliments which will be shared with the staff.

i do hope we will welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the future .

thank you

Linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel located in Stockport

Expensive for an out of town airport (although probably located to catch airport traffic)

Rooms, leisure centre and in particular the lifts could do with upgrading - if staying here you must try both lifts

Breakfast ok

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments .
I do feel if guests review current market pricing for 4 star hotels in this area however, they will see we offer a selection of excellent value packages for all markets and would have to disagree that the hotel is expensive.
The lifts in the hotel are part of the main original build, and although are old are regularly serviced and maintained, and really do not have any impact on guests stay. I do apologize if they affected yours.



thank you

Linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went with a few girls from work for my hen party - it was Marvellous - The hotel was spotless bedrooms great staff were exceptional.Spa treatments were wonderful. Both evening dinner and breakfast was lovely. No complaints whatsoever. Certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaGregory, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Manchester, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such an amazing review ! it was great to read you enjoyed your spa break weekend with us and thank you for such fantastic comments .

I do hope we will welcome you back to the hotel at some time in the near future .

Kind regards,


linda

Linda Gregory
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hallmark Hotel Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Manchester

Address: Stanley Road, Handforth SK9 3LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Handforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Handforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Manchester 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Manchester has recently completed a £5 million refurbishment programme. The hotel is now a very well presented boutique style venue offering modern accommodation and contemporary public areas including a stylish lounge bar & Brasserie serving good food at reasonable prices. There is a functional health club & spa which is free of charge to residents, complimentary internet access for all and plentiful free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Handforth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hallmark Hotel Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.