We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Wilmslow Road, Handforth SK9 3LG, England (Formerly Pinewood Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Business Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hello i stopped here on business last Wednesday.

Hotel rooms are clean, spacious but a little dated.

Hotel staff are all really friendly.

Food was nice and fresh.

Efficient check in, you also get one nights complimentary gym pass at World Fitness which was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Scott_Pinewood, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback regards to your overall experience at BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow.

I will certainly communicate your kind comments to my team who will be thrilled to have received such wonderful feedback.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


John Scott
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    106
    40
    11
    7
See reviews for
66
123
11
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The family decided to have a stress free Christmas where we could all enjoy being waited on so we chose the Pinewood. We are so happy we did, with pre drinks in the relaxed but festive bar, before we were shown to our table by the lovely staff. The 5 course Christmas meal was exceptional and worth every penny. A lovely restaurant with great service where nothing was too much for the staff. The decor was also great and very festive. An overall fantastic Christmas day thanks to the pinewood and the fantastic staff. Will definately be doing the same next year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Brilliant afternoon, just like it was the previous year. The staff are helpful & friendly & nothing is too much trouble (amazing considering they are giving up their Christmas to make other people's enjoyable!). The food as always was absolutely delicious, of course the added bonus is not having to wade through a mountain of washing up at the end of the day. There were lots of large groups of people there but the quality of the food still remained exceptional. I would encourage anybody considering having their next Christmas away from the stresses of their own kitchen to book a table at this welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

What a treat for me and my family to have Christmas dinner at The Pinewood this year. The food was absolutely delicious and it was such a pleasure to let someone else take the strain of preparing a turkey with all the trimmings!

The mood was fun and festive and the staff really pulled together, particularly our friendly waitress (young blonde girl, didn't catch her name). She and all the staff were pleasant and courteous and seemed to be really getting into the Christmas spirit. :)

I have never stayed at The Pinewood but can confirm that it is a good place for a great meal, and they seem well able to cope with large numbers of diners. Me and my family look forward to eating there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We attended our sailing club annual ball at The Pinewood - the food was lovely and it was a great venue. Lots of free parking and very welcoming and helpful staff. The room was lovely with a view over the garden and we had a very good night's sleep. We were on the last minute for breakfast, but nothing was too much trouble and we were made very welcome; once again the food was great - a proper full English and lots of choice. There had been a mix up the evening before with somebody taking my partner's jacket by mistake, but the hotel staff were incredibly helpful in assisting us to sort this out. All in all it was a 10/10 experience - thanks very much for helping to make it a really great occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Upon arrival, there was plenty of parking and I was warmly welcomed by Kirsty, the receptionist. I was speedily checked into my room, which was spacious and warm. My accommodation was clean and smelled fresh. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in a double room which we booked on laterooms.com at a very reasonable £59 for two people. I wasn't expecting too much for the price but found a really great hotel which I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

The reception area is smart and welcoming, our room was compact but very clean and comfortable with a nice view of the garden. Breakfast was fabulous, with a good selection of hot and cold food. Overall service was excellent.

The journey into central manchester was tedious simply due to the volume of traffic but if you're not in a hurry this is a great, budget option which is far better value for money that the array of so called 'budget' hotels on offer closer to the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow

Address: 180 Wilmslow Road, Handforth SK9 3LG, England (Formerly Pinewood Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Handforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Handforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are staying for business or pleasure, our well appointed and stylishly furnished bedrooms will more than satisfy your requirements. With comfortable beds and fluffy duvets, Freeview TV and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel we have everything you need for a great stay. A choice of room types, dining options and impressive gardens completes the picture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pinewood On Wilmslow Hotel Handforth
Menzies Pinewood Manchester
Hotel Menzies Pinewood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pinewood on Wilmslow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.