We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a Toby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanney Oaks Harvester

Stanney Oaks Harvester
Stanney Lane, Ellesmere Port CH2 4HT, England
0151 356 4930
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: British, Grill, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: At Harvester Stanney Oaks Harvester in Little Stanney food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Little Stanney, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Wolverham, Whitby and Stoak, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Better than a Toby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Comfortable. Extensive menu, easy to follow. Excellent salad bar and the food our group had was of a good standard and freshly prepared. Reasonable charges for food and drink. Good for a meal on a day out but not a "foodie" destination. Very pleasant staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    28
    32
    12
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cold food, cold pub, poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited this harvester for a quick meal after a long day at Chester zoo
The pub was very cold . The food for 5 of us took 55 minutes to arrive then we had to send 2 meals back as they were cold I asked to speak to the manager but he was unavalible so the waitress offered me 20% staff discount for the 2 hour poor experience . The pub wasn't busy either ,
The next night we visited the rake across the road and was a far better meal

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at Stanney Oaks Harvester, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi,
We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent visit, and you may like to contact us by email at harvester.reviews@gmail.com so that we can address these issues directly.
Thank you
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
“Dissapointing standard of service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We visited Stanney Oak Harvester as a family of 5. We are great fan of the brand, having visited our local branch in York on several occasions without a bad word to say. We came to Runcorn for a long weekend and needless to say that eating at this Harvester was a no brainer. So we arrive at around half past 7 and are told we have to wait 40 minutes for a table of 5 to be available but after 25 minutes we were shown to our table and we ordered immediatley. An hour past before the waiter came over to say 'i'll go see where your meals are.' 5 minutes later the meals arrived, all of which were served on cold, poorly cleaned plates which felt gritty and had muck on the top. In addition to this, two of the meals were cold and one (fish and chips) was burnt. We made a waitress aware of this and see went to the kitchen and mentioned this. She took one of the cold meals back and told us that a new one would be provided soon. She also provided us with a bowl of peas and a bowl of chips (both bowls were cold) for the other meals that were cold. Another meal was brought out to replace the cold meal which had been taken away, this was now warm but was still served on a cold, gritty plate. We decided not to complain further because by this time the others had finished their meals. Once we received the bill we found that we had been charged for a sauce that was meant to be with the cold meal but was not received when the fresher version was brought to us.

Obviously, as repetitive users of this company we anticipated a better standard of product and this is the only branch weve ever complained in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester_Restaurant, Public Relations Manager at Stanney Oaks Harvester, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi
We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing visit to our Harvester Restaurant. May we ask you to contact us at harvester.reviews@gmail.com in order that we can address more fully the points you make in your feedback.
Thank you
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Good for taking family and children for a mean - slightly expensive but its fine. Like all places bar prices are high - parking good and easy to get to this vent. Will visit again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We decided to take our granddaughter and her son for lunch,we decided on the Harvester as we thought they would have a play area,they didn't,t.It is not the sort of place we would normally eat as we don,t like "frozen"food.The menu was limited especially for veggies,I had nachos and the salad which was too cold to enjoy,can,t agree that there was a good choice,very limited.my husband had gammon,he said he Had never had tough gammon before,it was served with frozen chips and peas.My granddaughter did enjoy her pasta and her sons fish fingers looked like fresh fish with a crispy batter,he didn't,t eat his frozen chips.The service was good and pleasant and the place clean and spacious.I did not order sweets or coffees as I did not want to be further disappointed.So if you like good food I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanney Oaks Harvester also viewed

Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 

Been to Stanney Oaks Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanney Oaks Harvester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.