We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money - expected better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Planet Aquarium

Blue Planet Aquarium
Longlooms Road | Cheshire Oaks, Ellesmere Port CH65 9LF, England
0151 357 880
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Britain's Best Aquarium! Come and see Europe's largest collections of sharks through our amazing 71 metre underwater tunnel. You can even swim with them! (Pre-booking necessary - call for details. With over 100 exhibits and 1000's of animals from around the world, there's something for the whole family at Blue Planet Aquarium.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor value for money - expected better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Took my daughter for a birthday treat. Very disappointed. Not much better than other aquarium based attractions. Initially the pricing strategy is strange based on the height of your children. 92cm and under get in free. Thankfully bought tickets online and they didn't check the height of my 101cm tall 3 year old. The various displays, shark tunnel etc are ok but nothing special; nothing we haven't seen before. Saw everything in 45 minutes and went back round for another look. On the second circuit we got a talk on the sharks, stingrays etc and display of two divers feeding the fish. This saved my review from being 'poor'. Wish I'd saved the money and gone elsewhere. Won't be going back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    165
    180
    185
    138
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Expensive, not good value for money. My main issue was with the conditions the fish and animals were kept in, it seemed cruel. In particular the ducks (in a small dark enclosure with no natural light) and baby otters seemed unhappy. Some of the enclosures looked way too small. Would not recommend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tired looking and expensive entry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We took our 2 daughters aged 7 and 8. It was expensive to get in and we walked around twice in 2 hours. We looked at everything and spent time watching the fish and sharks. We loved the otters outside. We stumbled across these thinking it was the way out.

The displays look old and scratched so you couldn't even read some of them.

I hate the fact they have slot machines, video games, toy grabbing rip off machines all over. Thought this was supposed to be an aquarium and not an amusement arcade!

This place is good for a couple of hours but not enough to see. If I had to chose between here and The Deep at Hull, the Deep wins hands down.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Lancashire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good - But not worth the money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Visited on a cold wet Wednesday in October half term holidays with 3 grandchildren. The children enjoyed the "hands on" with the Ray's and the tunnel where the sharks etc. swim over you. There was not as much to see as we expected, perhaps the insects and reptiles could be added to?

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good but too small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

the aquarium was very interesting and had lots of fish and things to look at however it was smaller than i expected so we didnt spend that long there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Planet Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Blue Planet Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Planet Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Planet Aquarium to your Saves list