We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Mersey Street | Centre Island, Ellesmere Port CH65 2AL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

It was a great base for visiting Cheshire Oaks. We had the offer with 10% off there and that was very good. We also had the evening meal included in the price, which was a carvery. Great value for money. It is lovely sitting in the restaurant by the water. It is so relaxing. This is our 2nd time here as we enjoyed it so much. We will go again. One of the days we will try the swimming pool, which looks very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    218
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
172
155
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

I visited with my daughter for the shop till you drop weekend..From the moment we arrived we were treated so friendly and efficiently by any member of staff we came into contact with, The accomodation was very clean and spacious. Food was top class. The weekend was a great success,and we will definately be back later in the year.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

I went with my mum for a polish mother’s day and her birthday. We had a great time at the hotel with a bottle of wine and card waiting for her on arrival. Room was (just) ready when we arrived before midday and we were immediately allowed to check it.
Swimming pool and gym was quite good, except showers... only hot water?! very hot I mean. There was no hair shampoo so we had to ran back to the room, but we managed and for using Reward Points it was a perfect value anyway.
Not very easy to find place (it looks like we missed the turn), but nice view and location, close to the outlet, £12.50 taxi to Chester and 20 min drive to Liverpool. A good 15 min walk to the train station and another 5 to the bus stop, but we managed... to our surprise visiting... polish shop on the way.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Thank you for making our stay pleasurable and we will stay there again, once in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed on a Sunday so the hotel was not busy, we got a room with 2 double beds as requested. We were disapointed as we chose this hotel because it was the closest to Cheshire Oaks and had a pool, but when we arrived the pool was closed which was very disapointing, the receptionist did offer to let us use the pool the next day after check out presuming it was sorted by then but we did not have time. Given the fact this was one of the main reasons we could of stayed somewhere cheaper. it wasnt the nicest Holiday Inn I have stayed in, the bedroom and bathroom were clean, although the bedding had a tear in. That said the staff were very friendly and I felt that I could of asked anything and it would not of been any trouble. Breakfast was lovely, buffet breakfast with some items for order, our waitress Denise looked after us well and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keelby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights. Good location for Cheshire Oaks, Chester, Blue Planet Aquarium. Good sized room, very comfortable bed and really quiet location so got the best sleep in ages! Even had a choice of pillows! Friendly staff, good breakfast with plenty of choice which was replenished regularly. We used the gym facilities and there is a pool (although we didn't use it). Overall really good value at £148 for 2 nights B&B.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

I was one of a group of 4 girls staying at the hotel due to its proximity to Ellesmere Port outlet shopping village. The twin bedrooms were huge, with 2 queensized beds in each. The hotel was spotlessly clean, with good leisure facilities (gym and swimming pool). It was less than £5 by taxi to get to Ellesmere Port outlet, and around £10 to get to Chester.
The staff were particularly friendly, and went out of their way to make us welcome.
We paid less than £100 per room, which included a wonderful cooked breakfast, and a carvery meal in the evening (3 course meal).
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alness, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stayed one night at this hotel during the easter bank holiday weekend, in order to break up a journey to north wales.Overall experience was good, nice friendly checkin after long drive from scotland, family room was spacious and clean, hotel is in a lovely location, kids were fascinated with the narrow boats and wildfowl next to the hotel.
The only negative experience with our stay was the hotel restaurant, we were going to eat out but were tempted to book by the free kids meal deal, the adult menu was from a carvary selection so we thought this would be fine, unfortunately my main meal was very poor, meat was just gristle and food had obviously sat out to long, wife and kids meals were average, for the cost of the meal we definetely did not get value for money, mentioned this to the staff on check-out and they said they had received lots of complaints on the food, just to add that breakfast was excellent, no complaints.
So I would recommend this hotel for a stay but I would try and eat out locally than use the hotel restaurant, the retail park 2 miles away of the motorway has lots of places to eat out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahame_Carrington, Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, May 26, 2010
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay after your departure from the hotel.

We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and standrad hence are always very pleased to receive constructive feedback from our guests to ensure that our high standards are retained.

Thank you once again for your comments, i will ensure to pass you comments on to the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Address: Lower Mersey Street | Centre Island, Ellesmere Port CH65 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, whether for leisure weekends in the Chester area or that business trip or conference to the North West. The hotel is delightfully situated on the tranquil and attractive Wirral peninsula near the historic river Mersey waterfront, adjacent to the award winning National Boat Museum, with immediate access to both historic City of Chester or across the River Mersey to Liverpool. Liverpool John Lennon Airport is only 30 minutes away, Manchester International Airport only 40 minutes away and with a P&O fast ferry service to Ireland available in Liverpool, the hotel is the most central position to explore the whole of the North West of England. All 83 luxuriously air conditioned bedrooms with HSIA connections have splendid views of the surrounding locks and canal waterways. Our Leisure club includes indoor swimming pool, sauna, sun shower and gymnasium. The hotel is near to Royal Liverpool Golf Cub, Chester Race Course, Blue Planet Aquarium, Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet Village & Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Hotel Ellesmere Port
Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port
Ellesmere Port Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Ellesmere Port

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.