We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pays your Money. Get what you pay more!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com IHG
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Mersey Street | Centre Island, Ellesmere Port CH65 2AL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Kent-
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pays your Money. Get what you pay more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

A nice tidy clean hotel both from the inside and out.
The reception staff where very friendly and accommodating.
We ate in the restaurant for both evening meal and breakfast, both meals were a good standard and tasty. Good value for money.
Rooms were clean new and tidy, noise level was low and bed was very comfortable.

Used the pool and leisure facilities, all good but a little tired in gents changing room with a pretty dirty shower room and changing area.
Again staff were helpful and friendly.

Parking was quite sufficient but not too roomy, get in early if you need to park a large vehicle.

Room Tip: Always go for a top floor room if you want a quite night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    162
    40
    9
    6
See reviews for
124
118
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stay at the Holiday Inn at Ellesmere Port on a regular basis for business and can thoroughly recommend it. I've tried many hotels in the area and this is the best by far. The staff are always very helpful; always happy to offer advice on local restaurants if you want a particular cuisine. The restaurant is perfectly decent if the menu is a little limited. My gammon steak last week was cooked perfectly. Special mention for the breakfast which is always hot, fresh and very tasty. (Two types of sausage is a nice touch.) The breakfast servers are in a league of their own for customer service and frienliness. The fans from the kitchen can be a little noisy in the summer with the windows open on floor 1 but that's about the only problem. Just wish i could rememebr my trunks one time tyo try out the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for level 3. Room 310 is by the lift but is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Booked for two nights. Unfortunately the hotel was extremdly busy with two wedding functions. Little things like, no knives on our table and no one to go find a knive for us to eat our meal with took thde shine off what should and could have been a great stay. The food was disappointing and bar prices very exspensive. £4.50 a pint in thr North East is close to a record. The beds are really soft, great if you like soft beds. Location is reallt stunning but needs additional sinage to find it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel Sat 14th Sept 2013 as he was going to the races and I was to join him later.
The hotel was fantastic, room great, bed large and very comfortable and for me, I loved the comfy leather chair at the desk with a mirror above, women need to sit whilst doing their hair, not stand by the long mirror outside the bathroom door like at the Holiday Inn 'Express'.
The staff were very friendly and professional especially Staci on reception, Gill, Duty Manager and Fran in the dining room. A credit to the hotel.
We did have a problem with a noisy room (107 - directly above the hotels extractor fans!) which yes did cause a sleepless night but we spoke to the hotel manager and has since been dealt with.
I have given it full marks as the hotel and staff deserve it. Next time we visit, and we will, it will be in a different room.

Room Tip: BEWARE... Rooms 105, 107 and 109 are directly above noisy hotel extractor fans!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The service here is great and the hotel is in good condition. I have stayed here many times and have found the service and quality to be very consistent.

The pool is good, but, there are swimming lessons that start around 10am on Sunday mornings so they take up 50% of the pool. Get in there early!

A great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipoh
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Arriving after a 20 hour flight from Malaysia, the hotel was a surprising welcome to our UK holiday. There were plenty of parking spaces available and the location was not too hard to find. The reception was polite and prompt. We had our room in just a few minutes, a big welcome due to the jet lag. We had a room with a sofa bed for the kids and it was well above our expectations. The room was spacious enough, with comfy pillows and a quite surrounding, just perfect for our rest.

Breakfast was typically british and the view is second to none. You can sip you coffee while looking past canal boats along the waterway. Overall, having paid 70 pounds for the B&B for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids, it was great value and close enough for a spot of shopping in Chesire Oaks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Found on Trip Adviser glad we did. Last minute night away were pleased with our choise. From the welcome on arrival the staff were so helpful and friendly. The room was clean with a modern TV bed and sofa very comfortable. The gym and pool free to guests was great
Breakfast was buffet very tasty sausages and bacon excellent. The views from the hotel of the canal were picturesque
Excellent stay will be back.

.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Hotel Ellesmere Port
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Hotel
Holiday Inn Ellesmere
Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port
Ellesmere Port Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Ellesmere Port
Address: Lower Mersey Street | Centre Island, Ellesmere Port CH65 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Ellesmere Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, whether for leisure weekends in the Chester area or that business trip or conference to the North West. The hotel is delightfully situated on the tranquil and attractive Wirral peninsula near the historic river Mersey waterfront, adjacent to the award winning National Boat Museum, with immediate access to both historic City of Chester or across the River Mersey to Liverpool. Liverpool John Lennon Airport is only 30 minutes away, Manchester International Airport only 40 minutes away and with a P&O fast ferry service to Ireland available in Liverpool, the hotel is the most central position to explore the whole of the North West of England. All 83 luxuriously air conditioned bedrooms with HSIA connections have splendid views of the surrounding locks and canal waterways. Our Leisure club includes indoor swimming pool, sauna, sun shower and gymnasium. The hotel is near to Royal Liverpool Golf Cub, Chester Race Course, Blue Planet Aquarium, Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet Village & Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.