We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Mersey Street | Centre Island, Ellesmere Port CH65 2AL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This Holiday Inn is situated in a historic maritime environment on the water close to the National Waterways Museum. I can only imagine this place in the summer, with thriving boat life and activities.

The hotel itself was nice, modern and nice. We were greeted by a smiling professional staff, and immediately felt welcome and expected. That is a rear quality I can really appreciate! WiFi was free, but breakfast was not. However, if you order breakfast in the evening, it is offered at a reduced rate. Kids eat free.

We did not eat dinner at the hotel, but I looked at their menu, and it had a good variety of food. Judging from the crowd, it must have been a popular place. Breakfast was buffet style, but the food was presented well and the quality was good. The staff was attentive and kept my coffee mug full and our table clean. The view could have kept me there for hours, watching the canal barges entering the locks outside. Great!

I really liked this place and its historic location. I am sure I could easily spend days here without walking more than five minutes away from the hotel. Only minutes away by car is the Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet and the Blue Planet Aquarium. It is close to both Manchester and Chester. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    217
    57
    13
    8
See reviews for
169
155
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Usual friendly staff as at most Holiday Inns, this hotel, although in an industrial area is in a great location surrounded by reclaimed docklands with narrow boats and some serious lock gates.
Have stayed here many times and it's always good value if you book it early.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A little disappointed with our the second visit as the room didn't quite hit the normal high Holiday Inn standard. We just had an overnight stay. We just had an overnight stay. Nevertheless this hotel is well located for a host of attractions and is itself in a small tranquil haven considering the surrounding industry.
Being able to look out over the canal basin and the locks is a tremendous feature.
Service from reception was quick and courteous and they had everything at their fingertips.
The reception area was very inviting and food is available in the bar or in the restaurant. Both menus looked appetising.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just returned from another very comfortable three nights at the Holiday Inn.
Again, we were made to feel very welcome and thanks to Clare, a disabled parking space was reserved for us and there was a fridge in the room (something that we had not previously had but need to store medication).
Although reception was very busy, the receptionist recognised us and made us feel very welcome. We didn't have to ask for help to our room and everything was, as usual, excellent.
Lovely cooked breakfast and staff throughout the hotel simply cannot do enough for you.
Only problem was when the heating went down in our room, it effected the whole corridor but the duty manager, who tried to re set it himself, was quick in supplying a heater.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: As a disabled guest we always have room 111 which not only has a lovely wet room, but also a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is set in a canal basin and is accessed by driving over a swing bridge. This gives it a nice situation and there are boats close by as there is a Boat Museum next door!

All the staff were very friendly and the room was comfortable. We had a good night’s sleep.

We had the evening meal fixed menu which was very pleasant and good value for money.

Parking adjacent to the hotel fills quickly, but there is an overflow car park on the other side of the swing bridge.

We would stay here again without hesitation when in the area (even though the cards took a bashing at Cheshire Oaks!).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

When the decision was made,pretty late,to have a party for my 60th Birthday options were a bit limited given the short notice but in the end the choice was the Holiday Inn in Ellesmere Port,one of those places you've known for so long,so near but just have used very little.
Great choice,all the staff I dealt with were so friendly & helpful,the party was brilliant with superb food on the buffet.
We had decided to stay the night there as well,we had room 320,nice big room,spotless,well equipped & so quiet & followed by an excellent breakfast buffet,would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone,sadly as it is so close unless we are there for another function it is unlikely we will be staying there again anytime soon,real shame,it is in a superb location & is really very nice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes77, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear snaefell052

Many thanks for your review on the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port. I am gald that the 60th birthday party went well and you had a lovely stay with us.

We do pride oursleves on the quality and service that our staff provide, and I do hope we can help you with any other events in the furture

Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a surprise setting amongst the industry of the area. The canal basin is wonderful with so much heritage and history on display. The hotel have good rooms, relaxing lounge area and adequate parking. The let down was the restaurant......we were presented with 2 menus, Table de Hote and Al a Carte, both flimsy photo copies. The selection of food was dissappointing....I wanted a salad and non available! I ordered a mushroon and courget gratin, this was served in a seperate dish and placed on the plate, it had been pre prepared and then microwaved - how dissapointing! It was too hot to eat and a sent it back.....I was duly served another and the staff hoped it was cooler. The point I am making with his story is this restaurant has the makings of a fine eatery overlooking the water of the basin, It's a shame they have got this so wrong, the staff are lovely....but my reccomendation is to eat elswhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes77, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Paul B

Many thanks for you review about the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port. I am pleased that you found our bedrooms to your liking and found our lounge area relaxing.

From your review we have changed our menu presentation and content of the menu, we should not have been handing out paper copies and this has been changed.

Many Thanks
Paul Borg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks

Address: Lower Mersey Street | Centre Island, Ellesmere Port CH65 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Ellesmere Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port/Cheshire Oaks, whether for leisure weekends in the Chester area or that business trip or conference to the North West. The hotel is delightfully situated on the tranquil and attractive Wirral peninsula near the historic river Mersey waterfront, adjacent to the award winning National Boat Museum, with immediate access to both historic City of Chester or across the River Mersey to Liverpool. Liverpool John Lennon Airport is only 30 minutes away, Manchester International Airport only 40 minutes away and with a P&O fast ferry service to Ireland available in Liverpool, the hotel is the most central position to explore the whole of the North West of England. All 83 luxuriously air conditioned bedrooms with HSIA connections have splendid views of the surrounding locks and canal waterways. Our Leisure club includes indoor swimming pool, sauna, sun shower and gymnasium. The hotel is near to Royal Liverpool Golf Cub, Chester Race Course, Blue Planet Aquarium, Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet Village & Chester Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Hotel Ellesmere Port
Holiday Inn Ellesmere Port
Ellesmere Port Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks Ellesmere Port

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.