We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Spice, I Like Rice, No Mice :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holdi spice lounge

Holdi spice lounge
331 Chester Road, Ellesmere Port CH66 3RF, England
0151 348 1512
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Spice, I Like Rice, No Mice :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Had the naga naga and a madras. Although early morning of events today proved sore and painful, the curry was excellent. Naan bread and beers also good, drink the Bangla lager - it tastes better than it sounds. Make sure to go on a Saturday as Saturday=curry night. Experience may differ on non-curry night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    22
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Sutton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Harry Redknapp-esque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

It's proper top draw here, never had a bad meal. Food is always Scotty Parker like. Staff are great as well.

I'm now just filling characters so I can submit this review.

Sorted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I went to the Holdi last weekend with my family. The restaurant was buzzing, very busy with a great atmosphere. Staff were very attentive and service was surprisingly quick given how many people were in the restaurant. The staff were very helpful recommending side dishes to complement our mains and arranging for a smaller sized meal for my young nephew. There eight of us, all of our meals were delicious. I will definitely be going back!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“New Year with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband, myself and another couple visited on New Year's Eve for the special £27.50 5 course meal. It was busy with a nice atmosphere and quick service but we felt that the meal deal was a bit of a swizz- even at only £27.50 for new year. The choice was good from the normal menu( anything but seafood - fair enough).The five courses consisted of poppadum's, starter ,main course, rice and a glass of bubbly. Yes rice as a course. But we have visited before and will again because we like the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have been eating her with Family since the restaurant opened and I simply cannot understand the reviews were people say that the staff are unfriendly. Along with the superb foods the one reason we eat here is because the staff are so friendly. Had a perfect New Year Eve meal here - restaurant was heavingbut food was quick, hot & as always superb.....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holdi spice lounge also viewed

Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 

Been to Holdi spice lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holdi spice lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.