We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party Night” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Waverley Hotel

The Waverley Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Waverley Hotel to your Saves list
The Waverley Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Pedley St, Crewe CW2 7AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Party Night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Went with a party for our Christmas party night on December 15th 2012, and the food was terrible, nothing seemed cooked properley, our Christmas pudding came out seved to us stone cold, told the waitress who really was not that bothered, she took them all back into kitchen to heat up and when we were then given them back the sauce that was on the pudding tasted disgusting, as if it was off, none of us could eat it, again when we told the waitress, not interested attitude I felt was given.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    40
    25
    14
    17
See reviews for
14
43
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Booked this hotel as so near to Crewe railway station, and the most sweet, comfortable hotel it was. Staff were so friendly when i arrived. Didnt eat there as was out to the Southport Air show with family, but looking at the menu it looked lovely especially sunday lunch, but sadly i left in morning sunday.Was in the annexe part through the garden, had a few stairs, but was a nice little room, clean, bed so comfortable, and had toilet and washbasin, shower was downstairs along the corridor...Next time i will eat there, just was a bit busy this weekend.out and about. I will definetely be returning. I dont know where people say decor is old fashioned, it is not, it is a sweet little hotel with lovely features....well impressed.....

Room Tip: I had room 8 which was in the annexe part through the small garden, about 15 metal stairs to get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

the staff are so friendly and helpful.There is nothing that ,s too much trouble.food is brill,especially breakfast.plenty to choose from.including full english.but you can pick from the breakfast menu.will defo go back.

Room Tip: we were allowed to look into all rooms that the cleaner was in.not see a problem with any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgina e, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your review on the Waverley Hotel, we hope to see you again sometime
kind regards
Mrs G L Elder
Manageress
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

found the hotel to be clean and comfy. warm welcome at reception on arrival. Breakfast very tasty. People have said the decor is tired I felt that it was more that the building is an old one and the decor is oldfashioned to reflect the style of the building. Bed comfy and mine was a single room but i still got a double bed pushed up to a wall so room to stretch out

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgina e, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hello, thank you for your review on the waverley hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arisaig, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Hotel clean if basic, staff friendly. Avoid room 19 as it is impossible for more than one person to sleep in the double bed. The mattress actually tipped my husband onto the floor which is where he decided it was more comfortable to spend the night.

Room Tip: Avoid being put in room 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgina e, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Hello, thank you for your review on the Waverley Hotel. I have looked into the matter of the bed in Room 19, and we have ordered a new bed. Thank you for informing us of this problem .

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Its not a 4star hotel, but then it doesn't pretend to be one. Stayed here a few times, as been working away and for what you pay, i thought its well worth it. The food isnt amazing by any standard, but then again u dont expect fine dining for how much you spend on the room, but the staff are very friendly, and helpful and always on hand to have laugh n joke, and make you feel welcome.
Room was clean, and had a good sleep, bar and dining area again clean enough for me and had no problems or complaints :-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgina e, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind and honest review, thank you for acknowledging that we are a budget hotel, with budget prices, we hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Most impressed. Room was comfortable, shower worked well and food was fine. Staff helpful and friendly. This is not the Ritz, but for a stopover at about half the price of nearest Premier Inn, I was very pleased indeed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgina e, Manager at The Waverley Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Many thanks for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waverley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waverley Hotel

Address: 9 Pedley St, Crewe CW2 7AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waverley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waverley Hotel is a 22 bedroom family run hotel just 3 minutes walk from Crewe Railway Station and a short drive from J16 on the M6 motorway, making it an ideal choice to travel anywhere. Our friendly attentive Staff will ensure that your stay with us is comfortable and enjoyable, in a relaxed charming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Waverley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Crewe
The Waverley Hotel Crewe, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waverley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.