We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crewe Heritage Centre

Crewe Heritage Centre
Vernon Way, Crewe, England
+44 1270 212130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Crewe
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Crewe Heritage Centre, built to commemorate 150 years of the town of Crewe, was opened in 1987 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. Based in a truly unique location, right in the heart of the Grand Junction Railway. Our site is connected to the mainline railway network with the result that we have frequent visiting main line steam and Diesel locomotives present on site in addition to our own collection of rolling stock. We also have three spectacular Miniature Railway's, offering 3.5", 5" and 7.25" gauges. We offer the facility of hiring the site out and have worked with rail industry and non-rail industry partners in the past. If you are interested in hiring the Site or the Exhibition Hall, please Contact Us.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Visited the heritage centre in Crewe many times very informative a visit advanced passenger train is a must.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
March, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A very interesting place staffed by volunteers with a wealth of things to see. I thoroughly enjoyed my trip through our nostalgic railway era and I am no train buff.. Brilliant, well done to all connected with it...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Me and my family visited the Crewe Heritage Centre last weekend, and were met by an incredibly polite member of staff at the ticket office. All the staff had a smile on their faces all day and interacted with all the visitors.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“railway day out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A great place to take the grandchildren. They all enjoyed the whole trip, especially the ride on the minature train. A pity the site is only open at weekends but it is staffed by volunteers who obviously have day time jobs. There also a lot retired people there but they spend their time in maintaining the trains, rolling stock and the museum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Closed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

What a disappointment! Arrived mid week in July to discover the site is no longer open daily but only weekends and Bank Holidays. A man from the adjacent workshops says up to a dozen people arrive each week and have to be turned away. Also told that opening times are on the recently established Friends website and now find they are. The website also states the centre is a 10 minute walk from Crewe station whereas it is actually almost a mile along a very busy road with the final access also used by TESCO delivery trucks, not at all pedestrian-friendly. Walking time around 18 minutes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam H, Social Network Administator at Crewe Heritage Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We apologise that you have visited us whilst we are closed but we also currently have a working engineering facility on site which operate during the week making it impossible to open to public with our prior notice. We are open every weekend between April - September.
Many Apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crewe Heritage Centre also viewed

 

Been to Crewe Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crewe Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.