We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crewe Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crewe Hall to your Saves list
Crewe Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a very short overnight stay at this hotel, after a long car journey, we checked in, the girls were looking forward to a swim, (16yrs and two 12Yrs) as it was after 6pm, swimming was not available to the younger girls, reception checked at the gym (receptionist very helpful). Such a shame, rooms were in the main building, brilliant, my only gripe like other reviewers, we booked restaurant, not told that the Brasserie was closed for a renovation, we ate in the function suite, food good, service slow, (two very large tables were being served).

Staff were lovely,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Fiona C,
Thank you for your review.
Whilst pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay I am sorry if our Brasserie refurbishment inconvenienced you in anyway. We are continually seeking investment to improve the service and facilities at Crewe Hall and whilst we intend for any refurbishment works to have a minimal impact on our guests we are not in a position where we can close the hotel.
I do hope you will stay with us in the future and experience our newly refurbished Brasserie which is scheduled to open on 21st August.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    348
    118
    57
    26
See reviews for
159
503
22
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is spectacular as you approach it down the long drive and you are not disappointed when you finally get there. One slight problem (for me) is that you have to up up steps to get to the front door which, with a dodgy knee, was not too easy. There certainly didn't seem to be another approach. However, this is a minor issue and we were soon shown to our room which appeared to be down a labyrinth of corridors in the new part of the hotel which is very modern.

The room was large, clean and with all the usual things one expects and there were certainly no complaints. We had booked dinner in the restaurant which turned out to be in the large and rather soul less function suite as the main restaurant is being refurbished. I do think that there should have been some mention of this when booking. There was loud disco music playing in the restaurant which didn't do anything for the atmosphere either - nothing against loud disco music but there is a time and a place! The food, however, was excellent as were the staff.

Breakfast was a disappointment: standard buffet hotel food - not very hot despite the flames leaping beneath the containers. I had to attend a meeting in Crewe and my wife visited the spa. The treatment she had was very good but the pool was being used for swimming lessons and there is nowhere in the spa where you can relax and have a coffee.

All in all good, but we hope it might be better next time if the restaurant is functioning again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear JandJ333,
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that several areas marred your stay. Your comments will be shared with the team in due course. I do hope that you will consider returning to Crewe Hall in the future and experience our newly refurbished Brasserie which will be open on 21st August.
Best regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Lauren Millington was our waitress and was everything you need for an excellent experience in the restaurant
Friendly and helpful made us feel like nothing was too much trouble from serving drinks to menu choices
A hugely enjoyable evening

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear SHill25,
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your dinner at Crewe Hall and that Lauren looked after you superbly. We are very proud of our team at Crewe Hall and the service they offer our guests. Lauren will be rewarded via our internal reward scheme for doing such a great job.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend escape at Crewe Hall. We spent 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast in a room in the newer part of the hotel. The room was clean, spacious and had good facilities.
Dinner on the first night was excellent, only shame was that the brasserie was closed for refurbishment. The meal and service was really good nonetheless. We found all staff very friendly and helpful, particularly our waitress Milly and the barman Nik. Both helped make our stay an enjoyable and memorable experience.
On the Saturday we had booked into the spa for treatments. The Spa itself is excellent and staff helpful and friendly. My wife, who has had many Spa experiences, enthused about her treatment and the knowledgeable way she was handled by Amber. It was by far the best Spa experience she has enjoyed.
We also made good use of the splendid swimming pool and gym facilities. Everywhere we went we were met with smiles and friendliness.
On the Saturday evening we had another good meal, there was one small problem encountered but the staff and management dealt with it swiftly and satisfactorily so this did not detract from our overall enjoyment of the weekend.
All in all a lovely place made all the better by the wonderful staff. We would certainly return for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear macphei,
Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased that our team looked after you so well and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back to Crewe Hall soon.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I booked a midweek break at Crewe Hall, staying on Thursday and Friday last week. I have stayed at the hotel three times previously and consider it a top-rate venue. Let me firstly say that the hotel was also lovely on this occasion, but badly let down by its facilities and management.

Upon my arrival at the hotel on Thursday, I became aware that the Brasserie was closed for refurbishment and that the main restaurant / bar facilities had moved to the Continental Suite. This should not have been a huge problem, but turned out to be very irritating. The Continental Suite is a reasonable function room, but a terrible bar / restaurant. The bar was very poorly stocked and, upon our arrival, we were advised that there was no fruit to put in a Pimms. Not really what you want to hear on a late summer evening! In fairness, the bar staff managed to scavage a little bit of fruit from the restaurant.

The food was reasonable, but the service in the suite was very poor. Had it not been for the extremely helpful and friendly Lauren, we would probably have left the hotel to find a restaurant in Crewe. Lauren was able to sort problems, when other staff and the restaurant manager seemed uninterested.

The curse of the Continental Suite struck again on Friday lunchtime, when we were presented with the most limited and uninteresting lunch menu (why the obsession with two or three courses?) imaginable. After a little negotiation, we managed to obtain a photocopy of the room service menu, which had a much wider selection.

On Friday afternoon, after spending a lovely hour relaxing in the hotel's spa, we tried to buy a coffee. We were told that this was impossible in the Continental Suite, but that we might fare better in the Sheridan Lounge (at the other end of the hotel). When we got to the Sheridan Lounge, we were told by an extremely rude waitress that they were far too busy with afternoon tea, and that we should go back to the Continental Suite! Eventually, however, the reception staff intervened and we managed to order a coffee on the front terrace - it was a shame that it took fifteen minutes to arrive.

I completely understand that the Brasserie needed to be refurbished, but this should have been pointed out at the time of my booking. While it didn't ruin my trip, it was an inconvenience that guests shouldn't have to endure during a relaxing break.

Another minor criticism was breakfast on Saturday morning. While I appreciate that the breakfast facilities were de-camped from the Brasserie, the breakfast was stone cold and not at all appetising.

Generally, I had another lovely stay at Crewe Hall, but it was a shame that it was such a struggle to enjoy the most basic of hotel facilities.

Room Tip: The junior suite was stunning. It is well worth staying in the old hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Martin M,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay was memorable for all the wrong reasons and I have contacted you individually to discuss this.
I do hope you will consider staying at Crewe Hall in the future.
Best regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I were married at Crewe Hall on 27th July.
All 45 attendees were very pleased with the event and said it was one of the best weddings they had ever attended. Customer service was excellent by all people assigned to our special day (Lucy, Samantha, Nils and their entire team). Planning was done professionally before and during the event. The entire Crewe Hall is a spectacular 'oldy worldy' venue for a wedding both for the Wedding Ceremony and the Wedding Breakfast in the evening. Food was spectacular (that's one reason we chose Crewe Hall) and done to a very high standard with many personal touches throughout. Finally, the rooms were excellent and presented at a very high standard (both in the older section of Crewe Hall as well as the newer section).
We would recommend Crewe Hall to anyone lookig for a special place for a special event.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear roman m,
Congratulations on your recent wedding. I'm delighted that our team helped make your special occasion truly memorable and that all your guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We pride ourselves on our customer service and it is most rewarding to read comments that refer to our team. I hope we have the pleasure of helping you celebrate a special occasion in the future.
Kind regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel looks fabulous as you approach and you feel you are in for a special treat as you walk up the steps and into the reception area right there in the magnificent hall of this fascinating building.

Then you are directed to the modern wing where most of the bedrooms are and you could be in any modern hotel anywhere in the world. You no longer feel special. You no longer feel you are staying in an historic and attractive location. You have a good room, with generous proportions and all modern amenities so nothing to complain about. But you do feel cheated!
Even the restaurant and bar is in the modern wing. In fact, other than check in, we had no reason to set foot in the main building again.

Dinner and breakfast were both OK but nothing memorable and in a modern, featureless room.

One other thing. Be careful how and when you book your room. I added an extra night to the 2 already booked and paid a completely different amount per night. I would have been happy with the price if we had been staying in the main building but it was expensive for a glorified Travelodge!

Room Tip: If you are staying because you are attracted by the look of the place ask for a room in the main bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CreweHallOps, Manager at Crewe Hall, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear M0llyGT,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that on this occasion we were unable to accommodate you in the original hall. Whilst we have 28 bedrooms in the original building, the vast majority of our rooms are located within our extension. We do encourage all our guests to explore the original building to get the Crewe Hall experience and I do hope, whilst not staying in the original building, you did explore and enjoy finding out more about Crewe Hall. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Martin Heap
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crewe Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crewe Hall

Address: Weston Road, Crewe CW1 6UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Crewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crewe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crewe Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb 17th century hotel located in Crewe in Cheshire. This Grade I listed building has been attracting refined guests since the 17th century, including our current monarch Queen Elizabeth II. This hotel is a fine mix of historic Jacobean and sharp 21st century architecture. The magnificent history oozes throughout the hotel from exquisite marble fireplaces to stained glass windows. Yet the contemporary edge of Crewe Hall can be found throughout the hotel from the revolving bar in the brasserie to the state-of-the-art leisure club. The hotel has 117 spacious, comfortable bedrooms, some are located in the historic old building but majority can be found in the new contemporary wing. Just minutes from the M6 motorway, Crewe Hall is only 24 miles from Chester’s sights and shops and close to Liverpool and Manchester.Crewe Hall is home to a modern conference and events centre. It is very impressive with both it's facilities and service that we offer you. Modern facilities, free Wi-Fi, extensive grounds and a meetings package that gives you total piece of mind, whether you’re brainstorming with the team or delivering an important message, Crewe Hall makes meetings easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crewe Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crewe Hall Hotel Crewe
Hall Hotel Crewe
Crewe Hall England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crewe Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.